A major resource for searching contemporary Chinese laws, regulations, judicial cases and legal news since 1949. Search results display in English and Chinese side by side.
It contains about 4000 political and legal documents from the PRC, a small but growing number of documents have translations. The Glossary of Translated Terms is a useful feature.
Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads that illuminate history.
It contains a number of periodicals and newspapers in English published before 1949. Searching by English phrases will retrieve articles/reports in English. A good resource for laws and political issues before 1949.
It contains observations of political and legal issues by British diplomatic officers in China during 1919-1980, recorded in official documents released by the British government.
These formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history. Historical events covered include the Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis, Japanese war, the seeds of communist victory, the Communist revolution, the Great Leap Forward, and the Cultural Revolution.
A good supplementary resource for cultural and political issues between Late Qing and Minguo time period.
Types of material include addresses and speeches, annual reports, catalogues, examinations, guides, lecture notes, letters, magazine articles, and minutes. Themes covered by the collection include the arts, the Chinese diaspora (including the Chinese in California), education, the foreign presence in China, foreign relations and diplomacy, governance, international conflict, language and literature, leisure, missionaries, opium, rebellion and revolution, science and medicine, trade, and travel and exploration.
Browse and search PRC laws, regulations and judicial interpretation. Local regulations are included. Database created by the National People's Congress.
The Gazette of the National People's Congress focuses on legislative issues and contains laws, draft laws and legislative decisions. This e-series covers 1994-2020 issues. Earlier issues are available in print format, call number: East Asian KNQ2514.A13 C46.
State Council Gazette focuses on policies and regulations in PRC. Complete run from 1954 to 2021. It can be browsed and searched from this official central government website. 1954-1999 issues are also listed separately. Table of Contents available in English.
A large collection of documents and publications of Chinese Communist Party since its establishment in 1921. In Chinese only.
Includes historical documents such as the Party's Constitutions over the years and party internal files; documents from the Communist Party's National Congress since 1921, including reports, name lists, pictures, news reports and commentaries, audio/video files and other research materials, totaling over 3 million characters; publications of legendary leaders including Mao Zedong, Zhou Enlai, Liu Shaoqi, Zhu De, Ren Bishi, Deng Xiaoping, and Chen Yun; daily activities of current party elites since 1989; historical events in the Party history since 1921; and Who's Who in the Communist Party over the years.
A good resource for searching documents and reports concerning major political movements in China before 1970s. In Chinese only.
The database is made up of Communist Party documents, speeches of Mao Zedong and other leaders, important newspaper and magazine articles, documents of the Red Guards, and more. The materials are indexed in both English and Chinese; however, the entire body of literature is only available in Chinese.
A collection of oral history on the historical events from Late Qing to 1980s.
The database contains about 26,800 series and more than 900,000 articles. The principle of guiding the publishing of these historical materials was “Three in-person”: experienced in person, saw in person, and heard in person (亲历, 亲见,亲闻). It is full-text searchable.
中国司法档案数据库江津卷 contains judicial cases before 1949 from one county。 It is a rare and good resource for tracing transition of legal system from Minguo to PRC. Cases can be browsed by category. In Chinese only.
These judicial files are sorted into a number of categories, including debt, tenancy, theft, trade dispute, family disturbance, marriage, damage, robbery, homicide, injury, corruption, violation of tax laws, forgery, drug using, fraud, other criminal cases and other civil cases.
A useful list of research literature of criminal justice system in PRC. (This work is made publicly available by the City University of New York (CUNY))
It is a resource of biographical information on more than 5000 Chinese leaders in government, politics, the military, education, business, and the media.
Select country "China" to search in order to get more accurate results.
Information from thousands of foreign media sources, including political speeches, television and radio broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, and more, offering an extensive collection of military, political, scientific and technical reports from countries around the world, translated into English. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Coverage is global with the exception of the FBIS Annexes (a supplementary publication created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit analysts and policy makers from April 1974 through September 1996) and Western European regional broadcasts.
近代报纸数据库 includes 100 newspapers published between 1911-1949.
This archival collection was based on the holdings from the National Library of China, adding titles from other provincial and city libraries. In addition to major national newspapers such as Revolution Daily and New China Daily, the database also contains major local newspapers including North China Daily, Hankou People’s Daily, Western Capital Daily and Xinjiang Daily.
A journal database of more than 7,000 journals published in China.
The library's subscription covers literature/ history/ philosophy; politics/ military affairs/ law; education & social sciences; and economics & management.
Chinese law : context and transformation: Revised and expanded edition by 
Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Communist Party by 