Library Guides: Legal Studies 172AC, Decolonizing UC Berkeley: Other Types of Library Resources

Primary Sources

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new window
Brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America's heritage, to the efforts and data of science. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new window
Access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California including the 10 UC campuses.
A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.
Calisphere This link opens in a new window
Digitized images including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of the University of California campuses, cultural heritage organizations in California, and UC-created websites and collections.

eBooks in HathiTrust

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.

View
Public domain and open access books in HathiTrust can be viewed by anyone. Books still protected by copyright are only available to search, and are not available for full view.

Download
UCB patrons can download the full text of HathiTrust eBooks that are in the public domain (generally pre-1922) or open access.

Select the link to Download whole book (PDF) on the left.
Select the Login link and choose University of California, Berkeley as your partner institution. You can then log in with your CalNet ID and password.
Select the Download whole book (PDF) again, after you're logged in, to begin the download.

Print
To print, you must first download either a single page or the whole book as a PDF and then print from your PDF reader.

Finding Congressional materials

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text access for publications of the United States Congress such as hearings, committee reports and prints, CRS reports, as well as executive branch documents. (Congressional Publications) [dates vary]
One stop shopping for all U.S. congressional publications. Provides indexing and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including the full-text of published Congressional Hearings (1824-present; unpublished hearings until 1979), Committee Prints (1817-present), Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports (1916-present), Congressional Record and its predecessor titles (1789-present), U.S. Congressional Serial Set and Maps (1789-present), Executive Branch Documents (1789-1932), Presidential Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations (1789-present), and Legislative Histories (1969-Present; earlier legislative histories are available via ProQuest's Legislative Insight).

UC Berkeley Library - Oral History Center

UC Berkeley Library - Oral History Center: Projects

including oral histories on UCB History

Streaming Media

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service which provides access to more than 26,000 films, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Campus Map with basic info about each building

Map of the Campus - building info

Secondary menu