CNDL is a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Digitized archive of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. [1718-1876]
Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876, is a fully searchable collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Most newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Danish-, French-, and Spanish-language titles are included. Essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.
The journal Cine Cubano (1960-2019) is a vital resource with 200+ issues offering unparalleled access to 6 decades of Cuban revolutionary & Latin American cinema theory, filmmaking approaches, & reviews. Scanned at ICAIC in Havana
The journal Cine Cubano is an essential resource for studying the rich history of both Cuban revolutionary cinema and Latin American cinema at large. It is now made available online for the first time. The more than two hundred issues (1960–2019) offer students and researchers unparalleled access to six decades of cutting-edge film theory, novel approaches to film making, and scores of film reviews. Scanned at the ICAIC film institute in Havana, Cuba, the present collection includes all 205 issues of the journal that have ever been published in print.
The collection chronicles Cuban cinema's development from the Silent Era to 1959, with unpublished materials like Cinema magazine's full 1935-1965 run.
"The collection documents Cuban cinema's development from the Silent Era to the 1959 Revolution, offering unpublished photos, clippings, lobby cards, and the complete 1935-1965 run of Cinema magazine. It highlights Cuba's struggle to establish a film industry during the Republican Era despite efforts by ""dreamers.""
The Agramonte-Castillo collection provides biographical information on filmmakers. Cinema magazine, founded in 1935 by Enrique Perdices, was pivotal in promoting a national cinema. Its 1,424 issues trace the industry's ups and downs week-by-week, with Perdices championing government support through his editorials.
"
El Caribe (“The Caribbean”) is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic’s most influential and longest-running newspapers. [1956-2011]
"Founded in 1948 under the repressive Trujillo regime (1930-1961), the newspaper has borne witness to decades of political uncertainty, economic development, and social change. Except for brief interruptions in publication for a month in 1962 and seven months in 1965, El Caribe has been a constant chronicle of national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region."
The Chronicling America API provides access to information about historic U.S. newspapers and millions of digitized newspaper pages and their OCR data is available for bulk download. See the full list of digitized newspaper titles (1836-1922) for more information.
This database includes fully searchable newspapers and periodicals from Spain and Latin America, spanning the 17th to 20th centuries.
The collection of digitized newspapers and periodicals represent variety of presses including policy, satirical, scientific, religious, illustrated, sports, artistic, and literary.
Hemeroteca provides digital archive provides access to nineteenth and twentieth century newspapers housed at the National Library in Brazil, such as "Correio Braziliense," "Gazeta do Rio de Janeiro," "Diário Carioca," and "Correio da Manhã"
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection, with a preliminary release of 135,000 pages from 477 titles, will ultimately include approximately 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929).
The collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period and provides rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era, including coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.
Digitized historical collection of Latin American newspapers. [late 19th C. - early 20th C.]
This growing archive of Latin American newspapers contains more than 150,000 pages of content. New content is being added regularly and will eventually contain more than 1.5 million pages. Included in the collection are: Comercio from Peru; El Dictamen, Mexican Herald and Excelsior from Mexico; Prensa and Razon from Argentina; and more. For more Latin American newspapers, search the newly released Latin American Newspapers Series 2. Both series are part of the World News Archive project from Readex/Newsbank.
Digitized historical collection of Latin American newspapers (not included in Series 1).
This archive of Latin American newspapers contains thousands of pages of content. Included in the collection are: Critica from Argentina; Diario de la Marina from Cuba; Universal from Caracas, Venezuela; and more. For more Latin American newspapers, see Latin American Newspapers Series 2. Both series are part of the World News Archive project from Readex/Newsbank.
Digitized historical collection of Latin and South American newspapers. [1800 - 1922]
This archive of Latin and South American newspapers contains thousands of pages of content. Included in the collection are: Critica from Argentina; Universal from Caracas, Venezuela; and more.
Founded in 1919, El Mundo was a respected, conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico and was widely considered a key source for news until it ceased in 1990.
Founded in 1951, Prensa Libre is a leading newspaper published in Guatemala City and distributed nationwide.
Prensa Libre has covered critical moments in Guatemalan and Latin American history, including political upheaval, assassinations, and coups; peace treaties and elections; natural disasters; economic and technological developments; Guatemalans on the international stage; Garífuna and Pueblos Originarios communities, immigratiion and much more.
Content sourced from a variety of newspapers reflecting numerous viewpoints on Latin American and Caribbean affairs, U.S. involvement and intervention in those affairs, and both U.S. and world opinion related to those events.
A digitized version of the Library of Congress's extensive list of US and Foreign newspapers that are available in microfilm format. Library holdings are also included, but as this publication has not been updated since 1983, that information cannot be relied upon. Check WorldCat for current holdings information.
