Skip to Main Content

Dissertations & Theses: Home

Finding Dissertations & Theses

The majority of dissertations in the UC Berkeley Libraries are from UC Berkeley. The libraries have a nearly complete collection of Berkeley doctoral dissertations and a large number of Berkeley master's theses.

UC Berkeley

Online:

UC Berkeley PhD Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)   
UCB access only 
1861-present 

Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California, with full text of most doctoral dissertations from UC Berkeley from 1996 forward. Dissertations published prior to 2009 may not include information about the department from which the degree was granted. 

UC Berkeley Master's Theses

UC Berkeley Digital Collections 
2011-present

Selected UC Berkeley master's theses freely available online. For theses published prior to 2020, check UC Library Search for print availability (see "At the Library" below). 

At the Library:

Dissertations: From 2012 onwards dissertations are only available online.

Master's theses: From 2020 onwards theses are only available online. 

To locate older dissertations, master's theses, and master's projects in print, search UC Library Search by keyword, title or author. For publications prior to 2009 you may also include a specific UC Berkeley department in your search: 
berkeley dissertations <department name>

Examples: 
berkeley dissertations electrical engineering computer sciences 
berkeley dissertations mechanical engineering

 

University of California - all campuses

Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)   
UCB access only 
1861-present 

Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California.

Worldwide

WorldCatDissertations   
UCB access only 

Covers all dissertations and theses cataloged in WorldCat, a catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. UC Berkeley faculty, staff, and students may use the interlibrary loan request form for dissertations found in WorldCatDissertations. 

Worldwide - Open Access

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)

An index of over 3.5 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.