Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

Evaluating Scientific Evidence in Medicine IB 119: Articles

Core Article Databases for IB 119

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index to articles, journals and other publications in multi-languages; full-text is available.

BIOSIS Previews
Citations for articles, conference papers, and books on biological and biomedical topics. Includes literature reviews and peer review.
Coverage:1926 - present

CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health
Covers biomedicine, nutrition and food safety, public health, and toxicology.
Coverage:1910 - present.

Cochrane Library
Evidence-based effects, economic evaluations, systematic reviews and technology assessment for health care. (Guide: Cochrane Library Search Manual). Most content peer reviewed.
Coverage: 1946 - present.

Embase
Use Advanced Search to limit to systematic reviews. Primary biomedical resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. (Guide: Embase). Includes peer review.
Coverage: 1946 - present.

Faculty of 1000
Highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences and medicine, based on the recommendations of a faculty of selected leading researchers.

Google Scholar
Searches scholarly literature across many disciplines. A list of the journals and other sources included in Google Scholar has not been made publicly available. (Guide: Google Scholar)

Natural Medicines (fomerly Natural Standard)
A research collaboration that synthesizes data on complimentary and alternative medical therapies.  Monographs are evidence based, consensus-based, peer-reviewed full-text summaries of current research and contain additional references.
Coverage: dates vary.

PubMed
Articles in biology and biomedicine. Includes Systematic Reviews search limit, and peer review. (Guide: HTML | PDF).
Covers: 1946 - present

PubMed Central (PMC)
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. Covers: dates vary | Full text

Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.


Web of Science*
Multidisciplinary. Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, search footnotes and  citations. Coverage:1900 - present

To Find Articles

Start with the databases for articles, technical reports, conference papers, government documents and more. * - core databases.

Search article databases to find articles from journals and magazines, papers presented at conferences, and other sources.

To access full text, use the UC-eLinks button. (What's this?)

Links to more resources: Databases for Life Sciences Research.

Connecting from off-campus: proxy server setup instructions.