Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Black Panther Party and Black Power Movement: Newspapers

Online newspapers

Commemorator Newspaper Collection 1991-2012
The Commemorator newspaper was a newspaper printed in South Berkeley from 1990-2013 by the Commemoration Committee for the Black Panther Party.

Sixties Underground newspapers 

Black Panther Black Community News Service Collection

The Black Panther Black Community News Service Collection consists of 420 newspapers published by the Black Panther Party between 1967-1980. Each issue was between 16-28 pages and featured a range of articles and op-eds on the activities of the party, black power, police brutality, communism, and party leadership.

This collection is located at the African American Museum and Library.

African American Newspapers

African American historical and current newspapers are also available electronically through subscription databases from UC Berkeley.  More are available through general U.S. current and historical newspaper databases.

 

 

The Library's Newspaper & Microforms Room holds a number of primary source African American newspapers from throughout the U.S. Papers on microfilm are shelved in title order by state.  Currently received print titles are shelved by title.  Some titles are also available in the Bancroft Library. See selected titles in the UC Berkeley collection below.  Click on newspaper titles below to link to its OskiCat record.

The California Voice (Oakland, 1920-1998) Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1 (separate issues)

Flatlands (Oakland, 1966-67) Location:  News/Micro MICROFILM 78777, Bancroft BANC NMP 6764:2:3

The Oakland Post (1963- )Location: News/Micro NEWSPRINT-1

The Black Panther Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1 and MICROFILM 77553 reel 5, 16, 42, 72, etc.

The Sacramento Observer (Sacramento, 1962- ) Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1 

The Sun-Reporter (San Francisco, 1943- )Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1

The Peninsula Bulletin (East Palo Alto, 1967-1979) Location:  News/Micro NEWSFILM-1

Los Angeles Tribune (Los Angeles, 1941-1960) Location:  library only has selected issues, mainly from 1947-1952 in News/Micro NEWSFILM-1

The California Eagle (Los Angeles, 1897-1966) Location:  library has 1913-1930, 1944-53 in News/Micro NEWSFILM-1

Atlanta Daily World (Atlanta, GA 1932-  ) Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1, library lack some issues

Baltimore Afro American (Baltimore, MD 1915-1987) Location: NRLF, library lacks some issues, issues for 1892-1898 in 19th U.S. Newspapers database.

Journal and Guide (Norfolk, VA 1901-1975) Location: NRLF, library lack some issues.

The Michigan Chronicle (Detroit, MI 1936- )Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1 (1943-1974)

Pittsburgh Courier (Pittsburgh, PA, 1923-1950, 1951-2002) Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1, library lacks some issues

Richmond Afro American (Richmond, VA, 1938-68) Location: NRLF, Library lacks same issues

The Stanford Library has one of the largest collection of newspapers in print and mircofilm in the United States.  They are available for on-site viewing by UCB afilliated persons.The Center for Research Libraries lends newspapers on microfilm to UCB patrons.  Many titles are listed on the Melvyl Catalog where you can request film by sent to UCB for use.