It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
About new print books in the Social Research Collection
The Social Research Collection includes works that address social and individual problems from a variety of disciplines including psychology, education, social welfare, and public policy. While many of the works in the collection are shelved in the Social Research Library in Haviland Hall, some may be shelved in other campus libraries. The respective library will be noted in the catalog record.
Items not shelved in the Social Research Library may be paged from other libraries. Information on paging books is here.
The library receives many more books than are featured on this page. A complete list of new books in the collection received in the previous 90 days may be found here.
Selected new print books, May 2017
Muslim Cool : race, religion, and hip hop in the United States by Su'ad Abdul KhabeerInterviews with young, black Muslims in Chicago explore the complexity of those with identities formed at the crossroads of Islam and hip hop This groundbreaking study of race, religion and popular culture in the 21st century United States focuses on a new concept, "Muslim Cool." Muslim Cool is a way of being an American Muslim--displayed in ideas, dress, social activism in the 'hood, and in complex relationships to state power. Constructed through hip hop and the performance of Blackness, Muslim Cool is a way of engaging with the Black American experience by both Black and non-Black young Muslims that challenges racist norms in the U.S. as well as dominant ethnic and religious structures within American Muslim communities. Drawing on over two years of ethnographic research, Su'ad Abdul Khabeer illuminates the ways in which young and multiethnic U.S. Muslims draw on Blackness to construct their identities as Muslims. This is a form of critical Muslim self-making that builds on interconnections and intersections, rather than divisions between "Black" and "Muslim." Thus, by countering the notion that Blackness and the Muslim experience are fundamentally different, Muslim Cool poses a critical challenge to dominant ideas that Muslims are "foreign" to the United States and puts Blackness at the center of the study of American Islam. Yet Muslim Cool also demonstrates that connections to Blackness made through hip hop are critical and contested--critical because they push back against the pervasive phenomenon of anti-Blackness and contested because questions of race, class, gender, and nationality continue to complicate self-making in the United States.
Call Number: E185.625 .K524 2016
Publication Date: 2016-12-06
High-Need Schools : changing the dialogue by Devin ThornburgThis book covers issues that pertain to high-need schools but the authors challenge the distinctions made in the research and reason that the issues are relevant to all schools. From the rise of accountability in the 1960s to now, high-need schools have been dealing with curriculum, program initiatives, and responding to diverse populations, typically without the resources necessary to implement change. In this book we discuss important issues that have to be tackled if we as educators will succeed in meeting the needs of the next generation. From education laws, use of technology, leadership, diversity and multicultural issues, teaching in high-need schools, curriculum and teaching student with special needs, the book explores both problems and solutions, changing the dialogue from one of blame and stasis to one of action and hope.
Call Number: LB2806 .H55 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-02
Cultural and Critical Explorations in Community Psychology : the inner city intern by Heather MacDonaldThis book engages the practice of community-based psychology through a critical lens in order in order to demonstrate that clinical practice and psychological assessment in particular, require more affirmative psychopolitical agency in the face of racial injustice within the urban environment. Macdonald includes examples of clinical case analyses, vignettes and ethnographic descriptions while also drawing upon a cross-fertilization of theoretical ideas and disciplines. An oft neglected element of community psychology is the practice of community informed psychological assessment, especially within the inner city environments. This book uniquely suggests ideas for how clinical practice, in relationship to issues such as race and cultural memory can serve as a substantial vehicle for social justice against the backdrop of a prejudiced criminal justice system and mental health delivery system.
Call Number: BF39.9 .M33 2016
Publication Date: 2016-11-12
Out of Harm's Way : creating an effective child welfare system by Richard GellesDespite many well-intentioned efforts to create, revise, reform, and establish an effective child welfare system in the United States, the system continues to fail to ensure the safety and well-being of maltreated children. Out of Harm's Way explores the following four critical aspects of thesystem and presents a specific change in each that would lead to lasting improvements.- Deciding who is the client. Child welfare systems attempt to balance the needs of the child and those of the parents, often failing both. Clearly answering this question is the most important, yet unaddressed, issue facing the child welfare system.- Decisions. The key task for a caseworker is not to provide services but to make decisions regarding child abuse and neglect, case goals, and placement; however, practitioners have only the crudest tools at their disposal when making what are literally life and death decisions.- The Perverse Incentive. Billions of dollars are spent each year to place and maintain children in out-of-home care. Foster care is meant to be short-term, yet the existing federal funding serves as a perverse incentive to keep children in out-of-home placements.- Aging out. More than 20,000 youth age out of the foster care system each year, and yet what the system calls "emancipation" could more accurately be viewed as child neglect. After having spent months, years, or longer moving from placement to placement, aging-out youth are suddenly thrust intohomelessness, unemployment, welfare, and oppressive disadvantage.The chapters in this book offer a blueprint for reform that eschews the tired cycle of a tragedy followed by outrage and calls for more money, staff, training, and lawsuits that provide, at best, fleeting relief as a new complacency slowly sets in until the cycle repeats. If we want, instead, to trysomething else, the changes that Gelles outlines in this book are affordable, scalable, and proven.
Call Number: HV741 .G45 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Reservation Politics : historical trauma, economic development, and intratribal conflict by Raymond I. OrrFor American Indians, tribal politics are paramount. They determine the standards for tribal enrollment, guide negotiations with outside governments, and help set collective economic and cultural goals. But how, asks Raymond I. Orr, has history shaped the American Indian political experience? By exploring how different tribes' politics and internal conflicts have evolved over time, Reservation Politics offers rare insight into the role of historical experience in the political lives of American Indians. To trace variations in political conflict within tribes today to their different historical experiences, Orr conducted an ethnographic analysis of three federally recognized tribes: the Isleta Pueblo in New Mexico, the Citizen Potawatomi in Oklahoma, and the Rosebud Sioux in South Dakota. His extensive interviews and research reveal that at the center of tribal politics are intratribal factions with widely different worldviews. These factions make conflicting claims about the purpose, experience, and identity of their tribe. Reservation Politics points to two types of historical experience relevant to the construction of tribes' political and economic worldviews: historical trauma, such as ethnic cleansing or geographic removal, and the incorporation of Indian communities into the market economy. In Orr's case studies, differences in experience and interpretation gave rise to complex worldviews that in turn have shaped the beliefs and behavior at play in Indian politics. By engaging a topic often avoided in political science and American Indian studies, Reservation Politics allows us to see complex historical processes at work in contemporary American Indian life. Orr's findings are essential to understanding why tribal governments make the choices they do.
Call Number: E98.T77 O77 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-03
Enhancing Behavioral Health in Hispanic Populations : reducing disparities through integrated behavioral and primary care by Lorraine T. Benuto (Editor); William O'Donohue (Editor)This timely volume examines the potential of integrated care in providing effective, accessible behavioral healthcare for Latino clients. The integrated care model is discussed in practical terms, with guidelines for the addressing the needs of Latinos in a coordinated, patient-focused setting. Specific points of attention include common behavioral and medical/mental health conditions (e.g., depression, chronic pain, tobacco use), special considerations in working with Puerto Rican and Cuban clients, and recommendations for working with children. These important issues are considered against the backdrop of opportunities and challenges inherent in integrated care and its implementation, in addition to the relevance of evidence-based interventions for this large and diverse population. Among the topics covered: Latino trends and health policy: from walking on eggshells to commitment Integrated health care for Latino immigrants and refugees: what do they need? Using a translator in integrated care settings Enhancing and improving treatment engagement with Hispanic patients Integrated depression care among Latinos Chronic disease management and integrated care among Hispanic populations Health psychologists, social workers, family physicians, and clinical psychologists will find Enhancing Behavioral Health in Latino Populations an important resource for their professional development, as well as part of the ongoing movement toward reduced disparities and more inclusive and culturally attuned care.
Call Number: RA448.5.H57 E54 2016
Publication Date: 2016-11-08
Selected new print books, May 2017
Demons in the Consulting Room : echoes of genocide, slavery, and extreme trauma in psychoanalytic practice by Adrienne HarrisDemons in the Consulting Room: Echoes of Genocide, Slavery and Extreme Trauma in Psychoanalytic Practiceisthe second of two volumes addressing the overwhelming, often unmetabolizable feelings related to mourning, both on an individual and mass scale. Authors in this volume explore the potency of ghosts, ghostliness and the darker, often grotesque aspects of these phenomena. While ghosts can be spectral presences that we feel protective of, demons haunt in a particularly virulent way, distorting experience, our sense of reality and our character. Bringing together a collection of clinical and theoretical papers, emons in the Consulting Room, reveals how the most extreme types of trauma can continue to have effects across generations, and how these effects manifest in the consulting room. Essays in this volume consider traumas that have affected multiple generations of people, such as the Holocaust, experiences in the gulags, and the experience of slavery. Authors here consider the clinical challenges of working with the demonic force in severe childhood abuse and the effects of serious and prolonged physical injury and illness. Inevitably, there is in such difficult clinical work, the combined effects of hauntings in the analysts and in patients and often in the surrounding culture. In this book, distinguished psychoanalysts explore the myriad forms of ghosts and the demonic, which interfere and disrupt the endlessly difficult psychic work of mourning. It will be of interest to psychotherapists and psychoanalysts, as well as social workers, family therapists, psychologists, and psychiatrists. emons in the Consulting Room ill appeal to those specializing in bereavement and trauma and, on a broader level, to sociologists and historians interested in understanding means of coping with loss and grief on both an individual and larger scale basis.
Call Number: BF175.5.P75 D46 2017
Publication Date: 2016-08-18
In the Wake : on Blackness and being by Christina SharpeIn this original and trenchant work, Christina Sharpe interrogates literary, visual, cinematic, and quotidian representations of Black life that comprise what she calls the "orthography of the wake." Activating multiple registers of "wake"--the path behind a ship, keeping watch with the dead, coming to consciousness--Sharpe illustrates how Black lives are swept up and animated by the afterlives of slavery, and she delineates what survives despite such insistent violence and negation. Initiating and describing a theory and method of reading the metaphors and materiality of "the wake," "the ship," "the hold," and "the weather," Sharpe shows how the sign of the slave ship marks and haunts contemporary Black life in the diaspora and how the specter of the hold produces conditions of containment, regulation, and punishment, but also something in excess of them. In the weather, Sharpe situates anti-Blackness and white supremacy as the total climate that produces premature Black death as normative. Formulating the wake and "wake work" as sites of artistic production, resistance, consciousness, and possibility for living in diaspora, In the Wake offers a way forward.
Call Number: E185.625 .S53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-11-14
Abandoned Families : social isolation in the twenty-first century by Kristin S. SeefeldtEducation, employment, and home ownership have long been considered stepping stones to the middle class. But in Abandoned Families, social policy expert Kristin Seefeldt shows how many working families have access only to a separate but unequal set of poor-quality jobs, low-performing schools, and declining housing markets which offer few chances for upward mobility. Through in-depth interviews over a six-year period with women in Detroit, Seefeldt charts the increasing social isolation of many low-income workers, particularly African Americans, and analyzes how economic and residential segregation keep them from achieving the American Dream of upward mobility. Seefeldt explores the economic and political obstacles that have altered the pathways for opportunity. She finds that while many low-income individuals work, enroll in higher education, and attempt to use social safety net benefits in times of crisis, they primarily have access to subpar institutions, which often hamper their efforts to get ahead. Many of these workers hold unstable, low-paying service sector jobs that provide few paths for advancement and exacerbate their social isolation. Those who pursue higher education to gain qualifications for better paying jobs often enroll in for-profit schools and online programs that push them into debt but rarely lead to secure employment or even a degree. And while home ownership was once the best way to establish wealth, Seefeldt finds that in declining cities like Detroit, it can saddle low-income owners with underwater mortgages in depopulated neighborhoods. Finally, she shows that the 1996 federal welfare reform and other retrenchments in the social safety net have made it more difficult for struggling families to access public benefits that could alleviate their economic hardships. When benefits are difficult to access, families often take on debt as a way of managing. Taken together, these factors contribute to what Seefeldt calls the "social abandonment" of vulnerable families. Abandoned Families is a timely, on-the-ground assessment of hardship in contemporary America. Seefeldt exposes the shortcomings of the institutions that once fostered upward mobility and shows how sweeping policy measures--including new labor protections, expansion of the social safety net, increased regulation of for-profit colleges, and reparations--could help lift up those who have fallen behind.
Call Number: HQ536 .S3989 2016
Publication Date: 2016-12-25
Migrant Deaths in the Arizona Desert : la vida no vale nada by Raquel Rubio-GoldsmithMigrant Deaths in the Arizona Desert addresses the tragic results of government policies on immigration. The contributors consist of a multidisciplinary group who are dedicated to the thousands of men, women, and children who have lost their lives while crossing the desert in search of a better life. Each chapter in this important new volume seeks answers to migrant deaths, speaking to the complexity of this tragedy via a range of community and scholarly approaches. The activists, artists, and scholars included in this volume confront migrant deaths and disappearances in the U.S.-Mexico borderlands as they reflect on the startling realities of death, migration, and public policy. Chapters touch on immigration and how it is studied, community responses to crisis, government policy, definitions of citizenship, and the role of the arts and human expression in response to state violence. Collectively the contributions throw a spotlight on the multivocal, transdisciplinary efforts to address the historical silence surrounding this human tragedy. Despite numerous changes in the migration processes and growing attention to the problem, many people who attempt border crossings continue to disappear and die. This book offers a timely exploration of the ways that residents, scholars, activists, and artists are responding to this humanitarian crisis on their doorstep.
Call Number: JV6475 .M52 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-25
Oliver Sacks: the last interview and other conversations by RC339.52.S23 A36 2016Oliver Sack, 'the poet laureate of medicine' (New York Times) illuminated the mysteries of the brain for a wide audience in a series of richly acclaimed books, including Awakenings (Picador, 2012) and The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat (Picador, 2015), and articles in The New Yorker. In this collection of interviews, Sacks is at his most candid and disarming, rich with insights about his life and work. Any reader of Oliver Sacks will find in this book an entirely new way of looking at a brilliant writer.
Call Number: HQ77.9 .P5155 2017
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Political and Humanitarian Responses to Syrian Displacement by Sarah Deardorff MillerThis book examines Syrian displacement since the start of the 2011 conflict. It considers how neighboring refugee-hosting states - namely Jordan, Turkey and Lebanon - have responded to Syrian refugees, as well as how the international humanitarian community has assisted and protected refugees and internally displaced persons (IDPs). Miller examines Syrian displacement as it relates to EU and US policies, and relates Syrian displacement to broader themes and debates on the international refugee regime and humanitarian intervention. The book argues that displacement is not a mere symptom or byproduct of the conflict in Syria, but a key variable that must be addressed with any peace plan or strategy for ending the conflict and rebuilding Syria. Responses to displacement should therefore not just be thought of in a humanitarian context, but also as a political, security and economic issue. Drawing on media reports, research briefs, scholarly books and articles, NGO reports and UN research to contextualize and critically analyze the blur of headlines and rhetoric on Syria, the book seeks to shed light on the political and humanitarian responses to displacement. It seeks to inform policymakers, practitioners and scholars about the current Syrian displacement situation, helping to make sense of the complex web of literature on Syrian refugees and IDPs.
Call Number: HV640.5.S97 D43 2017
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Selected new print books, May 2017
Check OskiCat for other newly published books. You can suggest items that the Library should consider purchasing by using the Purchase Recommendation form.
Blaming Mothers : American law and the risks to children's health by Linda C. C. FentimanA gripping explanation of the biases that lead to the blaming of pregnant women and mothers. Are mothers truly a danger to their children's health? In 2004, a mentally disabled young woman in Utah was charged by prosecutors with murder after she declined to have a Caesarian section and subsequently delivered a stillborn child. In 2010, a pregnant woman who attempted suicide when the baby's father abandoned her was charged with murder and attempted feticide after the daughter she delivered prematurely died. These are just two of the many cases that portray mothers as the major source of health risk for their children. The American legal system is deeply shaped by unconscious risk perception that distorts core legal principles to punish mothers who "fail to protect" their children. In Blaming Mothers, Professor Fentiman explores how mothers became legal targets. She explains the psychological processes we use to confront tragic events and the unconscious race, class, and gender biases that affect our perceptions and influence the decisions of prosecutors, judges, and jurors. Fentiman examines legal actions taken against pregnant women in the name of "fetal protection" including court ordered C-sections and maintaining brain-dead pregnant women on life support to gestate a fetus, as well as charges brought against mothers who fail to protect their children from an abusive male partner. She considers the claims of physicians and policymakers that refusing to breastfeed is risky to children's health. And she explores the legal treatment of lead-poisoned children, in which landlords and lead paint manufacturers are not held responsible for exposing children to high levels of lead, while mothers are blamed for their children's injuries. Blaming Mothers is a powerful call to reexamine who - and what - we consider risky to children's health. Fentiman offers an important framework for evaluating childhood risk that, rather than scapegoating mothers, provides concrete solutions that promote the health of all of America's children.
Call Number: KF9323 .F46 2016
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Race and Colorism in Education by Carla MonroeAs one of the first scholarly books to focus on colorism in education, this volume considers how connections between race and color may influence school-based experiences. Chapter authors question how variations in skin tone, as well as related features such as hair texture and eye color, complicate perspectives on race and they demonstrate how colorism is a form of discrimination that affects educational stakeholders, especially students, families, and professionals, across P-16 institutions. This volume provides an outline of colorism's contemporary relevance within the United States and shares considerations for international dimensions that are linked to immigration, refugee populations, and Canada. By situating colorism in an educational context, this book offers suggestions for how educators may engage and confront this form of discrimination.
Call Number: LC212 .R34 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-10
Rhetoric of Femininity : female body image, media, and gender role stress/conflict by Donnalyn PompperRhetoric of Femininity: Female Body Image, Media, and Gender Role Stress/Conflict offers critical and social identity intersectionalities approach to interpretations of femininity among three generations of women for a rhetorical examination of how femininity is made to mean by media and popular culture. Amplified are voices of women across multiple age, ethnic, and sexual orientation groups who shared in focus groups and interviews their perceptions of femininity and feminine ideals. Femininity is explored using theories from communication and mass media, psychology, sociology, and feminist and gender studies. Donnalyn Pompper explores femininities as shaped by cultural rituals and industries, at home and at work in organizations, on sporting fields and arenas, and in politics.
Call Number: BF175.5.F45 P66 2016
Publication Date: 2016-12-20
Memory Unbound : tracing the dynamics of memory studies by Lucy BondThough still a relatively young field, memory studies has undergone significant transformations since it first coalesced as an area of inquiry. Increasingly, scholars understand memory to be a fluid, dynamic, unbound phenomenon-a process rather than a reified object. Embodying just such an elastic approach, this state-of-the-field collection systematically explores the transcultural, transgenerational, transmedial, and transdisciplinary dimensions of memory-four key dynamics that have sometimes been studied in isolation but never in such an integrated manner. Memory Unbound places leading researchers in conversation with emerging voices in the field to recast our understanding of memory's distinctive variability.
Call Number: HM1033 .M456 2017
Publication Date: 2016-11-30
Disability and World Religions : an introduction by Darla Y. SchummReligion plays a critical role in determining how disability is understood and how persons with disabilities are treated. Examining the world’s religions through the lens of disability studies not only peers deeply into the character of a particular religion, but also teaches something brand new about what it means to respond to people living with physical and mental differences. Disability and World Religions introduces readers to the rich diversity of the world’s religions—Buddhism, Judaism, Islam, Christianity, Hinduism, Confucianism, Daoism, and Native American traditions. Each chapter introduces a specific religious tradition in a manner that offers innovative approaches to familiar themes in contemporary debates about religion and disability, including personhood, autonomy, community, ability, transcendence, morality, practice, the interpretation of texts, and conditioned claims regarding the normal human body or mind. By portraying varied and complex perspectives on the intersection of religion and disability, this volume demonstrates that religious teachings and practices across the globe help establish cultural constructions of normalcy. The volume also interrogates the constructive role religion plays in determining expectations for human physical and mental behavior and in establishing standards for measuring conventional health and well-being. Disability and World Religions thus offers a respectful exploration of global faith traditions and cultivates creative ways to respond to the fields of both religious and disability studies.
Call Number: BL65.B63 D573 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
Trans : gender and race in an age of unsettled identities by Rogers BrubakerIn the summer of 2015, shortly after Caitlyn Jenner came out as transgender, the NAACP official and political activist Rachel Dolezal was "outed" by her parents as white, touching off a heated debate in the media about the fluidity of gender and race. If Jenner could legitimately identify as a woman, could Dolezal legitimately identify as black? Taking the controversial pairing of "transgender" and "transracial" as his starting point, Rogers Brubaker shows how gender and race, long understood as stable, inborn, and unambiguous, have in the past few decades opened up--in different ways and to different degrees--to the forces of change and choice. Transgender identities have moved from the margins to the mainstream with dizzying speed, and ethnoracial boundaries have blurred. Paradoxically, while sex has a much deeper biological basis than race, choosing or changing one's sex or gender is more widely accepted than choosing or changing one's race. Yet while few accepted Dolezal's claim to be black, racial identities are becoming more fluid as ancestry--increasingly understood as mixed--loses its authority over identity, and as race and ethnicity, like gender, come to be understood as something we do, not just something we have. By rethinking race and ethnicity through the multifaceted lens of the transgender experience--encompassing not just a movement from one category to another but positions between and beyond existing categories--Brubaker underscores the malleability, contingency, and arbitrariness of racial categories. At a critical time when gender and race are being reimagined and reconstructed, Trans explores fruitful new paths for thinking about identity.