It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
About new print books in the Social Research Collection
The Social Research Collection includes works that address social and individual problems from a variety of disciplines including psychology, education, social welfare, and public policy. While many of the works in the collection are shelved in the Social Research Library in Haviland Hall, some may be shelved in other campus libraries. The respective library will be noted in the catalog record.
Items not shelved in the Social Research Library may be paged from other libraries. Information on paging books is here.
The library receives many more books than are featured on this page. A complete list of new books in the collection received in the previous 90 days may be found here.
Selected new print books, October 2017
Complicated Lives : girls, parents, drugs, and juvenile justice by Vera LopezComplicated Lives focuses on the lives of sixty-five drug-using girls in the juvenile justice system (living in group homes, a residential treatment center, and a youth correctional facility) who grew up in families characterized by parental drug use, violence, and child maltreatment. Vera Lopez situates girls' relationships with parents who fail to live up to idealized parenting norms and examines how these relationships change over time, and ultimately contribute to the girls' future drug use and involvement in the justice system. While Lopez's subjects express concerns and doubt in their chances for success, Lopez provides an optimistic prescription for reform and improvement of the lives of these young women and presents a number of suggestions ranging from enhanced cultural competency training for all juvenile justice professionals to developing stronger collaborations between youth and adult serving systems and agencies.
Call Number: HV9104 .L66 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-12
Fragile Families : foster care, immigration, and citizenship by Naomi Glenn-Levin RodriguezIn the past decade, debates over immigrant rights and family rights, and accompanying concerns over birthright citizenship, have taken center stage in popular media and mainstream political debates. These debates, however, frequently overlook the role of the public child welfare system in the United States--the agency charged with protecting children and maintaining the integrity of families. Based on research conducted in the San Diego-Tijuana region between 2008 and 2012, Fragile Families tells the stories of children, parents, social workers, and legal actors enmeshed in the child welfare system, and sheds light on the particular challenges faced by the children of detained and deported non-U.S. citizen parents who are simultaneously caught up in the immigration system in this border region. Many families come into contact with child welfare services because of the precariousness of their lives--unsafe housing, unstable employment, and the conditions of violence, drug use, and domestic violence made visible by the heightened police presence in impoverished communities. Naomi Glenn-Levin Rodriguez examines the character of child welfare decision-making processes and how discretionary decisions constitute the central avenue through which race, citizenship, and other cultural processes inflect child welfare practice in a manner that disproportionately impacts Latina/o families--both undocumented and U.S. citizens. Drawing on ethnographic fieldwork to look at how immigration enforcement and child welfare play central roles in the ongoing production of citizenship, race, and national belonging, Fragile Families focuses on the everyday experiences of Latina/o families whose lives are shaped at the nexus of child welfare services and immigration enforcement.
Call Number: HV743.S36 R637 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-28
Poverty in the United States : women's voices by Ann O'Leary; Paula M. FrewThis important text explores the deep relationships between poverty, health/mental health conditions, and widespread social problems as they affect the lives of low-income women. A robust source of both empirical findings and first-person descriptions by poor women of their living conditions, it exposes cyclical patterns of structural and environmental stressors contributing to impaired physical and mental health. Psychological conditions (notably depression and PTSD), substance use and abuse, domestic and gun-related violence, relationship instability, and hunger in low-income communities, especially among women of color, are discussed in detail. In terms of solutions, the book's contributors identify areas for major policy reform and make potent recommendations for community outreach, wide-scale intervention, and sustained advocacy. Among the topics covered: * The intersection of women's health and poverty. * Poverty, personal experiences of violence, and mental health. * The role of social support for women living in poverty. * The logic of exchange sex among women living in poverty. * Physical safety and neighborhood issues. * Exploring the complex intersections between housing environments and health behaviors among women living in poverty. A stark reminder that health should be considered a basic human right, Poverty in the United States: Women's Voices is a necessary reference for research professionals particularly interested in women's studies, HIV/AIDS prevention, poverty, and social policy.
Call Number: HV1445 .P68 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-28
Solitary Confinement : lived experiences and ethical implications by David PolizziWhy is solitary confinement still used in today's world? Does it help in the rehabilitation of offenders? And how does our justification of its use affect policy? Answering these questions and posing many others, this is the first volume to consider both the developmental history of solitary confinement and the lived experience of those in confinement. Using philosopher Maurice Merleau-Ponty's concept of embodied subjectivity, this book provides firsthand accounts of the inhumane practice of solitary confinement, deepening our appreciation of the relationship between penal strategy and its effect on human beings. David Polizzi draws on his own experiences as a psychological specialist in the Pennsylvania Department of Corrections and interviews conducted in connection with the Guardian's 6x9 project--a virtual reality solitary confinement experience--to explore what the intentional aspect of this almost uninhabitable type of imprisonment says about any democratic society that continues to justify it. Aimed at policy makers, Solitary Confinement challenges the social attitudes that uncritically condone its use.
Call Number: HV8728 .P65 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-15
Challenges Facing Suburban Schools : promising responses to changing student populations by Shelley B. Wepner; Diane W. GomezThis coedited book describes the impact that an increasingly diverse student population has on 21st century suburban schools. It also presents what can and should be done to help K-12 school district administrators and teachers address this growing phenomenon across the nation. This eight-chapter book: -provides a demographic, political, economic, and sociological overview of the changing nature of suburban schools -describes the nature of student diversity in the changing suburbs and issues with student achievement -identifies administrative responsibilities and program structures for working with a changing student population -proposes ways to reduce the achievement gap, most notably in literacy -looks at how to use "whole child" assessment protocols to provide support for such students -delves into parent inequities within changing suburban districts and offers ideas for closing the parent gap. This book is written for school district administrators, teachers, legislators, policy makers, teacher educators, and educational researchers for developing programs and pathways for a segment of the student and parent population that now is living in suburban areas without traditional roots as advantaged suburbanites.
Call Number: LC5145.2 .C43 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-04
Deaf People and Society : psychological, sociological and educational perspectives by Irene W. Leigh; Jean F. AndrewsDeaf People and Societyincorporates multiple perspectives related to the topics of psychology, education, and sociology, including the viewpoints of deaf adults themselves. In doing so, it considers the implications of what it means to be deaf or hard of hearing and how deaf adults' lives are impacted by decisions that professionals make, whether in the clinic, the school, or when working with family. This second edition has been thoroughly revised and offers current perspectives on the following topics: Etiologies of deafness and the identification process The role of auditory access Cognition, language, communication, and literacy Bilingual, bilingual/bimodal, and monolingual approaches to language learning Educational, legal, and placement aspects Childhood psychological issues Psychological and sociological viewpoints of deaf adults The criminal justice system and deaf people Psychodynamics of interaction between deaf and hearing people Each chapter begins with a set of objectives and concludes with suggested readings for further research. This edition contains 10 new and original case studies, including ones on hearing children of deaf adults, sudden hearing loss, a young deaf adult with mental illness, and more. Written by a seasoned deaf/hearing bilingual team, this unique text continues to be the go-to resource for students and future professionals interested in working with deaf and hard-of-hearing persons.
Call Number: HV2380 .A63 2017
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Selected new print books, October 2017
Insane Consequences : how the mental health industry fails the mentally ill by D. J. Jaffe; E. Fuller Torrey (Foreword by)This well-researched and highly critical examination of the state of our mental health system by the industry's most relentless critic presents a new and controversial explanation as to why--in spite of spending $147 billion annually--140,000 seriously mentally ill are homeless, 365,000 are incarcerated, and even educated, tenacious, and caring people can't get treatment for their mentally ill loved ones. D. J. Jaffe blames the mental health industry and government for shunning the 10 million adults who are the most seriously mentally ill--mainly those who suffer from schizophrenia and severe bipolar disorder--and, instead, working to improve "mental wellness" in 43 million others, many of whom are barely symptomatic. Using industry and government documents, scientific journals, and anecdotes from his thirty years of advocacy, he documents the insane consequences of these industry-driven policies- psychiatric hospitals that once served the seriously ill have been closed; involuntary commitment criteria have been narrowed to the point where laws now require violence rather than prevent it; the public is endangered; and the mentally ill and their families are forced to suffer. Insane Consequences proposes smart, compassionate, affordable, and sweeping reforms designed to send the most seriously ill to the head of the line for services rather than to jails, shelters, prisons, and morgues. It lays out a roadmap to replace mission-creep with mission control and return the mental health system to a focus on the most seriously mentally ill. It is not money that is lacking; it's leadership. This book is a must read for anyone who works in the mental health industry or cares about the mentally ill, violence, homelessness, incarceration, or public policy.
Call Number: RC455 .J28 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-11
The Baby Chase : how surrogacy is transforming the American family by Leslie Morgan SteinerFrom theNew York Times bestselling author ofCrazy Lovecomes a riveting new narrative about surrogate pregnancy from both sides of the equation--the parents and the gestational carrier. Once considered a desperate, even morally suspect option, surrogacy is now sweeping headlines, transforming the lives of celebrity mothers and fathers like Sarah Jessica Parker, Nicole Kidman and Elton John, and changing the face of motherhood and the American family. But how much do we really know about it? And is it really as easy and accessible - emotionally, financially, legally and physically - as magazines make it out to be? We often hear about successful outcomes, but little aboutthe journey - about the precious hope that starts it all, the ups and downs of finding a surrogate, the heartache and obstacles, the risks and expenses at every step, or the unbelievable joy when years of determination pay off. InThe Baby Chase, acclaimed writer Leslie Morgan Steiner weaves three stories together -- of a nurse, a firefighter, and the Indian gestational carriers and doctors who helped them -- to provide one intensely personal look at what makes surrogacy so controversial, fascinating, and in some cases, the only ray of hope for today's infertile parents-to-be. Rhonda Wile and her husband Gerry struggled for years with infertility. With perseverance that shocked everyone around them, they tried every procedure and option available - unsuccessfully - until they finally decided to hire a surrogate. While surrogacy was being touted as a miracle for hopeful parents, for Rhonda and Gerry, it seemed an impossible and unaffordable dream. Until they came across the beaming smile of a beautiful Indian woman on the internet... and, within a few short months, embarked on a journey that would take them deep into the emerging world of Indian carriers, international medical tourism, and the global surrogacy community. Moving, page-turning, and meticulously researched, this complex human story is paired with an examination of the issues--religious, legal, medical and emotional--that shapes surrogacy as a solution both imperfect and life-changing.
Call Number: HQ755.8 .S7226 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
Dear Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Teacher : letters of advice to help you find your way by William DeJean; Jeffrey Lynn SappThe rise of social media has changed how we understand and enact relationships across our lives, including motherhood. The meanings and practices of mothering have been significantly impacted by the availability of online mother groups (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram) as well as internet resources intended to 'enhance' and inform maternal experience and self-concept (ex. pinterest, YouTube). The village that now contributes to the mothering experience has grown exponentially, granting mothers access to interactional partners and knowledge never before available. This volume of works explores the impact of social media forms on our cultural understandings of motherhood and the ways that we communicate about the experience and practice of mothering. The contributing authors in this anthology address diverse topics in mothering and social media, including framing of stepmothers in online forums, mothering in the digital diaspora, the construction of the "bad mother" on Twitter, immersive gaming and parenting classes, virtual mother outlaws, alternative mothering websites, feminist parenting, and more. While the works are primarily rooted in critical and feminist perspectives, a variety of methodologies and approaches to studying mothering and social media are represented in this text, and encourage a robust and thoughtful examination of the role of interactive media in the maternal experience. Lorin Basden Arnold, Ph. D. is a family communication and gender scholar. Her recent scholarly work has primarily related to understandings and enactments of motherhood. Her work has appeared in recent Demeter editions, including Intensive Mothering: The Cultural Contradictions of Modern Motherhood and What's Cooking Mom? Narratives about Food and Family. She is the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at the State University of New York, New Paltz. BettyAnn Martin is a doctoral candidate in Educational Sustainability at Nipissing University, North Bay, ON. She is an educator, doula, mother, and postpartum support coordinator with PSI (Postpartum Support International). Her research interests include the cultural mediation of maternal experience and identity, as well as the educational and therapeutic aspects of shared personal narrative.
Call Number: LB2844.1.G39 D43 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
The Open Door : homelessness and severe mental illness in the era of community treatment by Carol L. M. CatonThe Open Door: Homelessness and Severe Mental Illness in the Era of Community Treatment explains how and why homelessness among the mentally ill has persisted over the past 35 years, despite policy and program initiatives to end it. This ten-chapter book chronicles the unintended rise ofhomelessness in the wake of far-reaching post-World War II mental health care reforms, and highlights the key role of advocacy in spurring a governmental response to homelessness. The author provides a comprehensive, carefully documented "state of the science" on homelessness, reviews criticalissues in managing severe mental illness in the community setting, and presents evidence of the effectiveness of service and housing interventions that have brought stability to the lives of many. Finally, the book reviews the role of homelessness prevention, a recovery orientation, and the promiseof early treatment of psychotic disorders to facilitate greater social inclusion and community participation. In addition to providers of housing and services to the homeless mentally ill, this text will appeal to policymakers, mental health professionals, and students of public health and social sciences.
Call Number: RC451.4.H64 C38 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-25
Teeth : the story of beauty, inequality, and the struggle for oral health in America by Mary Otto'Show me your teeth', the great naturalist George Cuvier is credited with saying, 'and I will tell you who you are'. In this shattering new work, veteran health journalist Mary Otto looks inside America's mouth, revealing unsettling truths about our unequal society. Teeth takes readers on a disturbing journey into the role teeth play in our health and our social mobility. Muckraking and paradigm-shifting, Teeth exposes for the first time the extent and meaning of our oral health crisis.
Call Number: RK58.5 .O88 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Sometimes Amazing Things Happen : heartbreak and hope on the Bellevue Hospital psychiatric prison ward by Elizabeth FordElizabeth Ford cared for one of the most vulnerable populations of mentally ill people: the inmates of New York's jails, including Rikers Island. Her patients made her a great doctor and a better person and, as she treated these men, she learned about doctoring, about nurturing, about parenting, and about love. Ford brings humour, grace, and humanity to her beautifully rendered prose on the lives of the patients in her care, and illuminates the inner workings (and failings) of the mental health system, the justice system and the prison system.
Call Number: RC438.6.F667 A3 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-25
Selected new print books, October 2017
Check OskiCat for other newly published books. You can suggest items that the Library should consider purchasing by using the Purchase Recommendation form.
Dancing Between Hope and Despair : trauma, attachment and the therapeutic relationship by Sue WrightWhy is hope so fundamental to our existence? In considering this and many other questions, this evocative book introduces the reader to the repeated shifting, or 'dance', between hope and despair that is so often encountered by practitioners working with profoundly traumatised individuals. Drawing on a broad range of theoretical perspectives and illustrated by a wealth of case studies and first-hand experiences, the book brings a sharp focus to the ways in which therapeutic relationships can draw individuals out of the constant oscillation between light and dark. It provides an insightful and thoughtful discussion not just about despair itself, but about how to be with despair: about how practitioners can help clients turn towards the experiences of emotional pain, and stand with them in the face of it. Topics covered include: * The concept of hope, and the differences between realistic and illusory hope * How trauma and attachment failure at different life stages can contribute to the loss of hope * The benefits of taking a highly relational approach to hopelessness, with an emphasis on integrating mind, body and emotions. Informed by the author's own years of experience in the field of psychotherapy, this engaging and stimulating book provides practical guidance on how students, trainees and practitioners can inspire fresh hope in deeply troubled clients.
Call Number: BF575.H56 W75 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-01
School to Prison Pipeline : the role of culture and discipline in school by Muhammad Khalifa; Nathern Okilwa; Felecia BriscoeThis edited volume focuses on the role that school climate and disciplinary practices have on the educational and social experiences of students of color. Drawing from quantitative, qualitative, and theoretical studies, it brings to bear a number of topics such as racialized school experiences; criminology, discursive deviance and punishment and carceral studies; urban studies; school administration and leadership; and, a number of critical theorist frameworks. Practical insights are offered to assist administrators, teachers, school counsellors, and other school and non-school based professionals on how to address not only disparities in school discipline, but also create and promote an inclusive, affirming positive school culture and climate. With applications in disciplinary studies and criminology, leadership studies, critical race theory and other critical frameworks, this volume is a valuable resource advancing new theoretical concepts.
Call Number: HV9069 .S34 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-03
The U. S. -Mexico Transborder Region : cultural dynamics and historical interactions by Carlos Vélez-Ibáñez; Josiah M. HeymanThe U.S.-Mexico Transborder Region presents advanced anthropological theorizing of culture in an important regional setting. Not a static entity, the transborder region is peopled by ever-changing groups who face the challenges of social inequality: political enforcement of privilege, economic subordination of indigenous communities, and organized resistance to domination. The book, influenced by the work of Eric Wolf and senior editor Carlos G. V#65533;lez-Ib#65533;#65533;ez, centers on the greater Mexican North/U.S. Southwest, although the geographic range extends farther. This tradition, like other transborder approaches, attends to complex and fluid cultural and linguistic processes, going beyond the classical modern anthropological vision of one people, one culture, one language. With respect to recent approaches, however, it is more deeply social, focusing on vertical relations of power and horizontal bonds of mutuality. V#65533;lez-Ib#65533;#65533;ez and Heyman envision this region as involving diverse and unequal social groups in dynamic motion over thousands of years. Thus the historical interaction of the U.S.-Mexico border, however massively unequal and powerful, is only the most recent manifestation of this longer history and common ecology. Contributors emphasize the dynamic "transborder" quality--conflicts, resistance, slanting, displacements, and persistence--in order to combine a critical perspective on unequal power relations with a questioning perspective on claims to bounded simplicity and perfection. The book is notable for its high degree of connection across the various chapters, strengthened by internal syntheses from notable border scholars, including Robert R. Alvarez and Alejandro Lugo. In the final section, Judith Freidenberg draws general lessons from particular case studies, summarizing that "access to valued scarce resources prompts the erection of human differences that get solidified into borders," dividing and limiting, engendering vulnerabilities and marginalizing some people. At a time when understanding the U.S.-Mexico border is more important than ever, this volume offers a critical anthropological and historical approach to working in transborder regions. Contributors: Amado Alarc#65533;n Robert R. #65533;lvarez Miguel D#65533;az-Barriga Margaret E. Dorsey Judith Freidenberg Ruth Gomberg-Mu#65533;oz James Greenberg Josiah Heyman Jane H. Hill Sarah Horton Alejandro Lugo Luminita-Anda Mandache Corina Marrufo Guillermina Gina N#65533;#65533;ez-Mchiri Anna Ochoa O'Leary Luis F. B. Plascencia Lucero Radonic Diana Riviera Thomas E. Sheridan Kathleen Staudt Carlos G. V#65533;lez-Ib#65533;#65533;ez
Call Number: F787 .U67 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-11
Born Anxious : the lifelong impact of early life adversity-- and how to break the cycle by Daniel P. KeatingWhy are we the way we are? Why do some of us find it impossible to calm a quick temper or to shake anxiety? The debate has always been divided between nature and nurture, but as psychology professor Daniel P. Keating demonstrates inBorn Anxious,new DNA science points to a third factor that allows us to inherit both the nature and the nurture of previous generations--with significant consequences. Born Anxious introduces a new word into our lexicon: "methylated." It's short for "epigenetic methylation," and it offers insight into behaviors we have all observed but never understood--the boss who goes ballistic at the slightest error; the infant who can't be calmed; the husband who can't fall asleep at night. In each case, because of an exposure to environmental adversity in utero or during the first year of life, a key stress system has been welded into the "on" position by themethylation process, predisposing the child's body to excessive levels of the stress hormone cortisol. The effect: lifelong, unrelenting stress and its consequences-from school failure to nerve-wracking relationships to early death. Early adversity happens in all levels of society but as income gaps widen, social inequality and fear of the future have become the new predators; inBorn Anxious, Daniel P. Keating demonstrates how we can finally break the cycle.
Call Number: BF575.A6 K43 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-11
Ageism : stereotyping and prejudice against older persons by Todd D. NelsonCurrent research and theory from a range of disciplines on ageism, discussing issues from elder abuse to age discrimination against workers, revised and updated. People commonly use age to categorize and stereotype others--even though those who stereotype the elderly are eventually bound to become elderly themselves. Ageism is found cross-culturally, but it is especially prevalent in the United States, where most people regard growing older with depression, fear, and anxiety. Older people in the United States are stigmatized and marginalized, with often devastating consequences. This volume collects the latest theory and research on prejudice against older people, offering perspectives from psychology, nursing, medicine, social work, and other fields. The second edition has been completely updated, with new or extensively revised contributions. The contributors, all experts in their fields, consider issues that range from elder abuse to age discrimination against workers. There has been a relative dearth of research on ageism, perhaps because age prejudice is still considered socially acceptable. This book is still the only one that examines ageism in such detail, from such diverse scholarly perspectives. The contributors discuss the origins and effects of ageism and offer suggestions for how to reduce ageism as the wave of baby boomers heads for old age. ContributorsYoav S. Bergman, Ehud Bodner, Jennifer Barbour, Piers Bayl-Smith, Daphne Blunt Bugental, Maria Clara P. de Paula Couto, Susan T. Fiske, Jeff Greenberg, Barbara Griffin, Jessica A. Hehman, Peter Helm, Sarah H. Kagan, Molly Maxfield, Lynn McDonald, Mary Chase Mize, Joann M. Montepare, Todd D. Nelson, Michael S. North, Amanda Rumsey, Jeff Schimel, Laura Shannonhouse, Dirk Wentura, Susan Krauss Whitbourne
Call Number: HQ1061 .A42442 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-12
Emphasizing Social Justice and Equity in Leadership for Early Childhood : taking a postmodern turn to make complexity visible by Julie NicholsonThere is inherent complexity in a field like early childhood where people and their relationships are at the center of their work; daily practices involve negotiating webs of dynamic relations, shifting contexts, value conflicts, and profoundly diverse family constellations and community and cultural environments. Emphasizing Social Justice and Equity in Leadership for Early Childhood: Taking a Postmodern Turn to Make Complexity Visible expands our conceptions of leadership by drawing on postmodern ontological and epistemological perspectives that value, and make visible, diversities and complex human experiences. Julie Nicholson explores the challenges facing children domestically and globally regarding contemporary social justice and equity; she also provides several frameworks and specific strategies that early childhood educators can draw from in enacting leadership inspired by the ideas presented throughout the book. Richly contextualized vignettes are woven into each chapter to highlight the voices and experiences of courageous early childhood professionals working in very different roles and contexts.