It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
About new print books in the Social Research Collection
The Social Research Collection includes works that address social and individual problems from a variety of disciplines including psychology, education, social welfare, and public policy. While many of the works in the collection are shelved in the Social Research Library in Haviland Hall, some may be shelved in other campus libraries. The respective library will be noted in the catalog record.
Items not shelved in the Social Research Library may be paged from other libraries. Information on paging books is here.
The library receives many more books than are featured on this page. A complete list of new books in the collection received in the previous 90 days may be found here.
How All Politics Became Reproductive Politics : from welfare reform to foreclosure to Trump by Laura BriggsToday all politics are reproductive politics, argues esteemed feminist critic Laura Briggs. From longer work hours to the election of Donald Trump, our current political crisis is above all about reproduction. Households are where we face our economic realities as social safety nets get cut and wages decline. Briggs brilliantly outlines how politicians' racist accounts of reproduction--stories of Black "welfare queens" and Latina "breeding machines"--were the leading wedge in the government and business disinvestment in families. With decreasing wages, rising McJobs, and no resources for family care, our households have grown ever more precarious over the past forty years in sharply race-and class-stratified ways. This crisis, argues Briggs, fuels all others--from immigration to gay marriage, anti-feminism to the rise of the Tea Party.
Call Number: HQ766.5.U5 B73 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-12
Moral Psychology of Forgiveness by Kathryn J. Norlock (Editor)The feeling that one can't get over a moral wrong is challenging even in the best of circumstances. This volume considers challenges to forgiveness in the most difficult circumstances. It explores forgiveness in criminal justice contexts, under oppression, after genocide, when the victim is dead or when bystanders disagree, when many different negative reactions abound, and when anger and resentment seem preferable and important. The book gathers together a diverse assembly of authors with publication and expertise in forgiveness, while centering the work of new voices in the field and pursuing new lines of inquiry grounded in empirical literature. Some scholars consider how forgiveness influences and is influenced by our other mental states and emotions, while other authors explore the moral value of the emotions attendant upon forgiveness in particularly challenging contexts. Some authors critically assess and advance applications of the standard view of forgiveness predominant in Anglophone philosophy of forgiveness as the overcoming of resentment, while others offer rejections of basic aspects of the standard view, such as what sorts of feelings are compatible with forgiving. The book offers new directions for inquiry into forgiveness, and shows that the moral psychology of forgiveness continues to enjoy challenges to its theoretical structure and its practical possibilities.
Call Number: BJ1476 .M663 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-24
Exploring immigrant and sexual minority mental health : reconsidering multiculturalism by Pavna SodhiExploring Immigrant and Sexual Minority Mental Health provides mental health practitioners with up-to-date theory, cutting-edge research, and therapeutic strategies to assist them in their work with multicultural clients. By focusing on the immigrant psyche, this volume hones in on appropriate counseling interventions and effective, culturally-specific psychotherapeutic practices by introducing the use of Diversity and Identity Formation Therapy (DIFT), a theoretical concept designed for immigrant and sexual minority identity formation. This work can be used in interdisciplinary settings and is applicable for those working in a number of mental health disciplines including counseling, social work, therapy, and more.
Call Number: RC455.4.E8 S636 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-31
Rural Poverty in the United States by Ann Tickamyer; Jennifer Warlick (Editor); Jennifer Sherman (Editor); Ann R. Tickamyer (Editor)America's rural areas have always held a disproportionate share of the nation's poorest populations. Rural Poverty in the United States examines why. What is it about the geography, demography, and history of rural communities that keeps them poor? In a comprehensive analysis that extends from the Civil War to the present, Rural Poverty in the United States looks at access to human and social capital; food security; healthcare and the environment; homelessness; gender roles and relations; racial inequalities; and immigration trends to isolate the underlying causes of persistent rural poverty. Contributors to this volume incorporate approaches from multiple disciplines, including sociology, economics, demography, race and gender studies, public health, education, criminal justice, social welfare, and other social science fields. They take a hard look at current and past programs to alleviate rural poverty and use their failures to suggest alternatives that could improve the well-being of rural Americans for years to come. These essays work hard to define rural poverty's specific metrics and markers, a critical step for building better policy and practice. Considering gender, race, and immigration, the book appreciates the overlooked structural and institutional dimensions of ongoing rural poverty and its larger social consequences.
Call Number: HC110.P6 R8925 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-22
America's Diverse Population : a comparison of race, ethnicity, and social class in graphic detail by Michael D. DulbergerThe composition of the American population is rapidly changing from a white, male dominated society to one that is so diverse it will soon be without any single, dominant race, ethnicity or gender. The dramatic demographic shifts in American society have provoked many false claims and distortions of facts that have fueled demagoguery, as occurred during the 2016 presidential campaign. Access to unvarnished facts about people different than you--but who are becoming your neighbors--is more critical now than ever. This book was created to provide a single source of easily accessible facts--obtained primarily from U.S. government agencies--comparing characteristics of race, ethnicity and gender in graphic format to enhance comprehension, as only visual presentations can achieve. Virtually all major socio-economic topics are covered, including geographic distribution of populations, birth rates, health, wealth, poverty, income, employment, crime, incarcerations, social behaviors, education and political preferences. Included are past and future trends for many characteristics, as are comparisons between foreign-born, natural citizens, legal and undocumented immigrants. Special Features: -Socio-economic characteristics between races, ethnicities, and genders in America -Comparisons include: health, education, wealth, poverty, income, employment, crime, incarcerations, social behaviors, geographic distributions, and political preferences -Includes foreign-born and natural citizens, lawful and undocumented immigrants -All data are graphically displayed for easy visualization and comprehension -Attributed sources for all data include web addresses to enable additional research -Only factual data are presented without editorial comments or opinions Interesting facts found in America's Diverse Population include: -More than one-in-eight persons residing in the U.S. in 2015 were born elsewhere. -Approximately one-in-four persons with "Green Cards" resided in California in 2013. -Over three million temporary workers were admitted into the U.S. in 2014. -In 2009 over two-thirds of convictions of undocumented immigrants were for violations of immigration law, and two percent for crimes against persons. -Approximately one-of-three Black or African American children live in households with both married parents, compared with ninety-five percent of Asian households. -In 2013 one-of-eight high school age Hispanic or Latino females reported they were forced to have sex. -In 2015 ninety-seven percent of kindergarten teachers were women. -Approximately one-half of all maids and housekeeping cleaners in 2015 were Hispanic or Latino women. -In 2015, almost one-in-four Asian females held a Master's degree, the highest rate of any race or ethnicity. -In 2013, the number of Non-Hispanic White children in the U.S., grades K-8, fell below fifty percent of students for the first time.
Call Number: HA214 .D85 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-23
Selected new print books, November 2017
Changing Sexualities and Parental Functions in the Twenty-First Century by Candida Se Holovko (Editor); Frances Thomson-Salo (Editor)Recent societal changes have challenged long-established concepts in psychoanalysis, including the Oedipus complex, parental functions, and male and female psychosexuality. "Postmodern families", based on sexual and emotional exchanges independent of gender, now include homosexual couples who adopt children, or who create them through assisted fertilization, as well as single parent families and blended families. A number of highly-renowned Latin American psychoanalysts have drawn attention to the urgency of revising theoretical and clinical concepts in the light of these new scenarios. In this book, they open up ideas which cover familiar territory of current concerns in psychoanalytic work, as well as other little-explored areas, with the emphasis on evolving sexualities and new experiences of parenthood. The first section revisits psychoanalytic theories, particularly parental functions in the area of sexuality and gender. The following section discusses new family configurations, and vicissitudes of the desire to have a child in men and women, with the authors presenting some psychic consequences for parents in therapy who have turned to assisted fertilization. The third section, on sexual diversity and the neosexualities, includes the topics of intersexuality, the fantasy of neuter gender, countertransference in psychotherapy with gender identity disorders patients, and same-sex parenting. The final section pays tribute to Mariam Alizade, overall chair of COWAP from 2001-2005. As our psychoanalytic thinking and practice becomes more complex and sophisticated, our understanding of the analytic process is correspondingly deepened.
Call Number: HQ755.8 .C43 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-02
The Content and Context of Hate Speech : rethinking regulation and responses by Michael Herz (Editor); Péter MolnárThe contributors to this volume consider whether it is possible to establish carefully tailored hate speech policies that are cognizant of the varying traditions, histories and values of different countries. Throughout, there is a strong comparative emphasis, with examples (and authors) drawn from around the world. All the authors explore whether or when different cultural and historical settings justify different substantive rules given that such cultural relativism can be used to justify content-based restrictions and so endanger freedom of expression. Essays address the following questions, among others: is hate speech in fact so dangerous or harmful to vulnerable minorities or communities as to justify a lower standard of constitutional protection? What harms and benefits accrue from laws that criminalize hate speech in particular contexts? Are there circumstances in which everyone would agree that hate speech should be criminally punished? What lessons can be learned from international case law?
Call Number: K5210 .C66 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-09
Racism Without Racists : color-blind racism and the persistence of racial inequality in America by Eduardo Bonilla-SilvaEduardo Bonilla-Silva's acclaimed Racism without Racists documents how, beneath our contemporary conversation about race, there lies a full-blown arsenal of arguments, phrases, and stories that whites use to account for--and ultimately justify--racial inequalities. The fifth edition of this provocative book makes clear that color blind racism is as insidious now as ever. It features new material on our current racial climate, including the Black Lives Matter movement; a significantly revised chapter that examines the Obama presidency, the 2016 election, and Trump's presidency; and a new chapter addressing what readers can do to confront racism--both personally and on a larger structural level.
Call Number: E184.A1 B597 2018
Publication Date: 2017-06-09
Jailcare : finding the safety net for women behind bars by Carolyn SufrinThousands of pregnant women pass through our nation's jails every year. What happens to them as they carry their pregnancies in a space of punishment? In this time when the public safety net is frayed, incarceration has become a central and racialized strategy for managing the poor. Using her ethnographic fieldwork and clinical work as an ob-gyn in a women's jail, Carolyn Sufrin explores how jail has, paradoxically, become a place where women can find care. Focusing on the experiences of incarcerated pregnant women as well as on the practices of the jail guards and health providers who care for them, Jailcare describes the contradictory ways that care and maternal identity emerge within a punitive space presumed to be devoid of care. Sufrin argues that jail is not simply a disciplinary institution that serves to punish. Rather, when understood in the context of the poverty, addiction, violence, and racial oppression that characterize these women's lives and their reproduction, jail can become a safety net for women on the margins of society.
Call Number: HV8738 .S84 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-23
Abusive Endings : separation and divorce violence against women by Walter S. DeKeseredy; Molly Dragiewicz; Martin D. SchwartzAbusive Endings offers a thorough analysis of the social-science literature on one of the most significant threats to the health and well-being of women today--abuse at the hands of their male partners. The authors provide a moving description of why and how men abuse women in myriad ways during and after a separation or divorce. The material is punctuated with the stories and voices of both perpetrators and survivors of abuse, as told to the authors over many years of fieldwork. Written in a highly readable fashion, this book will be a useful resource for researchers, practitioners, activists, and policy makers.
Call Number: HV6626.2 .D44 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-16
Deconstructing Race : multicultural education beyond the color-bind by Jabara MahiriMahiri argues that multicultural education needs to move beyond racial categories defined by the social, political, and economic forces of white supremacy. Exploring contemporary and historical scholarship on race, the emergence of multiculturalism, and the rise of the digital age, Deconstructing Race investigates micro-cultural practices and provides a framework for understanding the diversity of individuals and groups.
Call Number: LC1099.3 .M3325 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-16
Selected new print books, November 2017
Check OskiCat for other newly published books. You can suggest items that the Library should consider purchasing by using the Purchase Recommendation form.
Obsessions : the twisted cruelty by Francesco BisagniThis book explores the interrelatedness between obsessive compulsive disorders, thinking disorders, and depression. The issue is considered both from a psychiatric viewpoint and from a psychodynamic perspective. The age of the cases presented in the book ranges from childhood through adolescence to adulthood. Obsessions: The Twisted Cruelty is a challenging contribution to the contemporary clinical debate, especially regarding the role of analytically-oriented psychotherapy in the treatment of OCD and how to deal with the psychiatric treatment and combine the two approaches while keeping the focus on the transference-countertransference interplay. After the first theoretical chapter, the relationship between obsessions and thinking impairments is discussed with specific reference to delusional ideation. A section entitled "the anal conundrum" follows. Encopresis and anal masturbation during childhood are discussed as well as the identification of the child with a maternal "fecal object." The last section explores the connection with depression and some specific features of sadism. The author explores the Bionian and post-Bionian perspective on the one hand as well as developments of the post-Jungian theory such as the applications of the complexity theory and the contemporary definitions of complex and archetype. The recent contributions of neuroscience research are also considered.
Call Number: RC533 .B57 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-22
Violent Men : an inquiry into the psychology of violence by Hans TochThis seminal book offers an insightful portrait of chronic predatory offenders, problem police officers, and others with a demonstrated propensity for violent conduct. Dr. Toch explores the personal motives, attitudes, assumptions, and perceptions of men who are recurrently violent. How patterned and consistent is the violence of such men? What are the dynamics of their escalating encounters? What personal dispositions and orientations are most apt to lead to violence? What can these observations tell us about the nature of human interaction, and violence itself? Violent Men offers not only scholarly research on violence, but also a sense of the humanity of its subjects. This special, 25th Anniversary Edition of Violent Men confronts recent debates over police violence, describes new clinical applications, and offers reflections from preeminent scholars on the widespread impact and enduring power of Dr. Toch's classic work.
Call Number: BF575.A3 T6 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Addicted to Rehab : race, gender, and drugs in the era of mass incarceration by Allison McKimAfter decades of the American "war on drugs" and relentless prison expansion, political officials are finally challenging mass incarceration. Many point to an apparently promising solution to reduce the prison population: addiction treatment. In Addicted to Rehab, Bard College sociologist Allison McKim gives an in-depth and innovative ethnographic account of two such rehab programs for women, one located in the criminal justice system and one located in the private healthcare system--two very different ways of defining and treating addiction. McKim's book shows how addiction rehab reflects the race, class, and gender politics of the punitive turn. As a result, addiction has become a racialized category that has reorganized the link between punishment and welfare provision. While reformers hope that treatment will offer an alternative to punishment and help women, McKim argues that the framework of addiction further stigmatizes criminalized women and undermines our capacity to challenge gendered subordination. Her study ultimately reveals a two-tiered system, bifurcated by race and class.
Call Number: HV5801 .M355 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-03
Identity, Violence and Power : mobilising hatred, demobilising dissent by Elcheroth G.; Reicher S.This book provides a systematic examination of the re-patterning of collective identities through violence and the role of power politics in such critical transitions. The authors show how identity is created through shared social practices and how it is transformed when collective violence disrupts common practices. Three case studies show how this model sheds new light on the dynamics of religious violence in parts of India, on ethnic violence in the former Yugoslavia, as well as on anti-war protest in the UK in reaction to the military invasion of Iraq. The book explores an alternative way of looking at conflict, and dissects the policies and processes that bring specific identities to the fore, taking seriously the capacity to resist and face abusive authority. Identity, Violence and Power will be of interest to students and scholars of sociology, social psychology, history, political science and conflict studies.
Call Number: HM886 .E5 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-03
Staying in Life : paving the way to dementia-friendly communities by Verena Rothe; Gabriele Kreutzner; Reimer GronemeyerWe are constantly growing older, and there are an increasing number of elderly people living with dementia who are merely being taken care of. There is no question that we need alternatives to the established procedures. What can we do to create spaces where we can stay in life, rather than just staying alive? How can we turn the individual environments of people with and without dementia into places of human warmth? In Germany, initiatives attempting to answer these questions are on the rise. Committed individuals from politics, art, churches, and social and volunteer work are creatively working towards dementia-friendly communities. In this book, three authors intimately familiar with the topic explore initial movements, obstacles, and first attempts.
Call Number: RC521 .R68413 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-26
Decades Behind Bars : a 20-year conversation with men in America's prisons by Gaye D. HolmanMore than two million people are incarcerated in America's prisons - one in nine is serving a life sentence. Mass long-term imprisonment devours state budgets, adversely affects community well-being and skews our collective moral compass. This study examines the human costs of keeping the convicted out of sight, out of mind. Beginning in 1994, the author began recording the personal stories of 50 incarcerated felons - 17 of them were still in prison 20 years later. The men candidly discuss what it means to commit a serious crime and to be confined for perhaps the remainder of their lives. Their stories are balanced by conversations with correctional officers, prison administrators, chaplains and parole board members. The author identifies circumstances that ruin some prisoners and save others and presents insights for possible improvements in the criminal justice system.