It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
About new print books in the Social Research Collection
The Social Research Collection includes works that address social and individual problems from a variety of disciplines including psychology, education, social welfare, and public policy. While many of the works in the collection are shelved in the Social Research Library in Haviland Hall, some may be shelved in other campus libraries. The respective library will be noted in the catalog record.
Items not shelved in the Social Research Library may be paged from other libraries. Information on paging books is here.
The library receives many more books than are featured on this page. A complete list of new books in the collection received in the previous 90 days may be found here.
Selected new print books, September 2018
In a Classroom of Their Own : the intersection of race and feminist politics in all-black male schools by Keisha LindsayMany advocates of all-black male schools (ABMSs) argue that these institutions counter black boys' racist emasculation in white, "overly" female classrooms. This argument challenges racism and perpetuates antifeminism. Keisha Lindsay explains the complex politics of ABMSs by situating these schools within broader efforts at neoliberal education reform and within specific conversations about both "endangered" black males and a "boy crisis" in education. Lindsay also demonstrates that intersectionality, long considered feminist, is in fact a politically fluid framework. As such, it represents a potent tool for advancing many political agendas, including those of ABMSs supporters who champion antiracist education for black boys while obscuring black girls' own race and gender-based oppression in school. Finally, Lindsay theorizes a particular means by which black men and other groups can form antiracist and feminist coalitions even when they make claims about their experiences that threaten bridge building. The way forward, Lindsay shows, allows disadvantaged groups to navigate the racial and gendered politics that divide them in pursuit of productive--and progressive--solutions. Far-thinking and boldly argued, In a Classroom of Their Own explores the dilemmas faced by professionals and parents in search of equitable schooling for all students--black boys and otherwise.
Call Number: LC2717 .L56 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-15
Difference Not Disorder : understanding autism theory in practice by Catherine Harvey; Kevin McFadden (Illustrator)Interventions and educational approaches for children with autism spectrum disorders have developed in response to the different models for how autism has been constructed and understood. This book explores the evolving theories on autism and how these have impacted the interventions and outcomes in education. Drawing on 30 years of professional experience and detailed research, Harvey exposes the myths around autism, advocates for understanding autism as difference rather than impairment, and provides practical guidance on teaching and learning, behaviour management, addressing sensory and physical needs of children with ASD. This accessible overview shows how to put autism research into practice, learn from historic mistakes and create the most supportive environment for children on the autism spectrum.
Call Number: RJ506.A9 H293 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
Assaulted : violence in schools and what needs to be done by Ernest J. ZarraAssaulted takes the reader into a multi-layered set of problems that exists in public and private schools in America. Teachers are being physically assaulted by students and parents, producing lasting, or even career-ending injuries. Violence in schools today has become bullying on steroids, and students are becoming viral sensations amongst their peers. This book details physical and sexual assaults, and verbal and emotional abuses that occur toward teachers, both in person and Online. It contains personal stories, teacher interviews, and national survey data, as it offers reasons why assaults are occurring more frequently today. But the book does not stop there. College professors and their relationships with students also come under scrutiny. The author also challenges the practice of mainstreaming special needs and special education students, social justice and various identity movements, and the impacts these programs have upon classrooms and schools. The reader will realize students have more rights and protections than teachers. However, teachers are standing for themselves. In some cases teachers physically defend themselves, risking their careers. What are the causes of this increase of violence in schools, and what needs to be done? Assaulted provides serious answers to questions unaddressed by many school districts in America.
Call Number: LB3013.3 .Z37 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Tinderbox : the untold story of the Up Stairs Lounge fire and the rise of gay liberation by Robert W. FieselerBuried for decades, the Up Stairs Lounge tragedy has only recently emerged as a catalyzing event of the gay liberation movement. In revelatory detail, Robert W. Fieseler chronicles the tragic event that claimed the lives of thirty-one men and one woman on June 24, 1973, at a New Orleans bar, the largest mass murder of gays until 2016. Relying on unprecedented access to survivors and archives, Fieseler creates an indelible portrait of a closeted, blue- collar gay world that flourished before an arsonist ignited an inferno that destroyed an entire community. The aftermath was no less traumatic--families ashamed to claim loved ones, the Catholic Church refusing proper burial rights, the city impervious to the survivors' needs--revealing a world of toxic prejudice that thrived well past Stonewall. Yet the impassioned activism that followed proved essential to the emergence of a fledgling gay movement. Tinderbox restores honor to a forgotten generation of civil-rights martyrs.
Call Number: HV6250.4.H66 F54 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-05
Birds of a Feather : a true story of hope and the healing power of animals by Lorin Lindner"This true story will twist your heart like a sponge and renew your faith in the world." --Lee Woodruff, co-author with Bob Woodruff of theNew York Times bestsellerIn an Instant "A heartwarming book." --Vicki Myron, author ofNew York Times #1 BestsellerDewey "Reminds us of the extraordinary ways caring people are helping the men and women who have served our country...and animals along with them." --Maxine Waters "I defy anyone to read it without shedding tears." --Rosemary Low, author ofThe Complete Book of Parrots "It left me smiling, full of hope, and wishing there were more Lorin Linders out there." --Mary Gauthier Animal lover though she was, Lorin Lindner was definitely not looking for a pet. Then came Sammy - a mischievous and extremely loud bright pink Moluccan cockatoo who had been abandoned. It was love at first sight. But Sammy needed a companion. Enter Mango, lover of humans ("Hewwo"), inveterate thief of precious objects. Realizing that there were many parrots in need of new homes, Dr. Lindner eventually founded a sanctuary for them. Meanwhile, she began to meet homeless veterans on the streets of Los Angeles. Before long she was a full time advocate for these former service members, who were often suffering from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). Ultimately, Dr. Lindner created a program for them, too. Eventually the two parts of her life came together when she founded Serenity Park, a unique sanctuary on the grounds of the Greater Los Angeles Veterans Administration Healthcare Center. She had noticed that the veterans she treated as a clinical psychologist and the parrots she had taken in as a rescuer quickly formed bonds. Men and women who had been silent in therapy would share their stories and their feelings more easily with animals. Birds of a Feather is ultimately a love story between veterans and the birds they nurse back to health and between Dr. Lindner and her husband, a veteran with PTSD, who healed at Serenity Park. Full of remarkable people and colorful birds, this book reminds us that we all have the power to make a difference.
Call Number: RC489.P47 L56 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Portraits of Everyday Literacy for Social Justice : reframing the debate for families and communities by Susan JonesBased on an ethnographic study involving three families who live on a Midlands council housing estate, this book presents portraits of everyday lives - and the literacy practices that are part of them - as a way to explore the complex relationship between literacy and social justice. Each portrait focuses on a different aspect of literacy in everyday life: drawing on perspectives offered by the long and diverse tradition of literacy studies, each is followed by discussion of a different way of looking at literacy and what this means for social justice. The lens of literacy allows us to see the challenges faced by many families and communities as a result of social policy, and how a narrow view of literacy is often implicated within these challenges. It also illustrates the ways in which literacy practices are powerful resources in the creative and collaborative navigation of everyday lives. Arguing for the importance of looking carefully at everyday literacy in order to understand the intertwining factors that threaten justice, this book positions literary research and education as central to the struggle for wider social change. It will be of interest and value to researchers, educators and students of literacy for social justice.
Call Number: LC156.G7 J66 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-22
Selected new print books, September 2018
Give People Money : how a universal basic income would end poverty, revolutionize work, and remake the world by Annie LowreyA New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice Longlisted for the 2018 FT & McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award A brilliantly reported, global look at universal basic income--a stipend given to every citizen--and why it might be necessary in an age of rising inequality, persistent poverty, and dazzling technology. Imagine if every month the government deposited $1,000 into your bank account, with nothing expected in return. It sounds crazy. But it has become one of the most influential and hotly debated policy ideas of our time. Futurists, radicals, libertarians, socialists, union representatives, feminists, conservatives, Bernie supporters, development economists, child-care workers, welfare recipients, and politicians from India to Finland to Canada to Mexico--all are talking about UBI. In this sparkling and provocative book, economics writer Annie Lowrey examines the UBI movement from many angles. She travels to Kenya to see how a UBI is lifting the poorest people on earth out of destitution, India to see how inefficient government programs are failing the poor, South Korea to interrogate UBI's intellectual pedigree, and Silicon Valley to meet the tech titans financing UBI pilots in expectation of a world with advanced artificial intelligence and little need for human labor. Lowrey explores the potential of such a sweeping policy and the challenges the movement faces, among them contradictory aims, uncomfortable costs, and, most powerfully, the entrenched belief that no one should get something for nothing. In the end, she shows how this arcane policy has the potential to solve some of our most intractable economic problems, while offering a new vision of citizenship and a firmer foundation for our society in this age of turbulence and marvels.
Call Number: HC79.I5 L69 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-10
The Scandalous Neglect of Children's Mental Health : what schools can do by James M. Kauffman; Jeanmarie BadarThe Scandalous Neglect of Children¿s Mental Health: What Schools Can Do¿makes the case that children with mental health needs are under-identified and under-served by schools and other agencies. After reading this brief but powerful book, you will better understand the nature of children¿s mental health needs and the need for expanded services for children in schools and communities. The risks and benefits of treatment, especially early intervention, are discussed and guidelines for action by teachers, parents, and others are provided. The sad fact is that many people do not understand that most young people with mental health needs never receive any treatment of any kind and most of those who receive any treatment at all receive those services only in schools.
Call Number: LC4181 .K38 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-28
Being Muslim : a cultural history of women of color in American Islam by Sylvia Chan-MalikAn exploration of twentieth and twenty-first century U.S. Muslim womanhood that centers the lived experience of women of color For Sylvia Chan-Malik, Muslim womanhood is constructed through everyday and embodied acts of resistance, what she calls affective insurgency. In negotiating the histories of anti-Blackness, U.S. imperialism, and women's rights of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, Being Muslim explores how U.S. Muslim women's identities are expressions of Islam as both Black protest religion and universal faith tradition. Through archival images, cultural texts, popular media, and interviews, the author maps how communities of American Islam became sites of safety, support, spirituality, and social activism, and how women of color were central to their formation. By accounting for American Islam's rich histories of mobilization and community, Being Muslim brings insight to the resistance that all Muslim women must engage in the post-9/11 United States. From the stories that she gathers, Chan-Malik demonstrates the diversity and similarities of Black, Arab, South Asian, Latina, and multiracial Muslim women, and how American understandings of Islam have shifted against the evolution of U.S. white nationalism over the past century. In borrowing from the lineages of Black and women-of-color feminism, Chan-Malik offers us a new vocabulary for U.S. Muslim feminism, one that is as conscious of race, gender, sexuality, and nation, as it is region and religion.
Call Number: HQ1170 .C486 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-26
Fathering from the Margins : an intimate examination of black fatherhood by Aasha M. AbdillDespite a decade of sociological research documenting black fathers' significant level of engagement with their children, stereotypes of black men as "deadbeat dads" still shape popular perceptions and scholarly discourse. In Fathering from the Margins, sociologist Aasha M. Abdill draws on four years of fieldwork in low-income, predominantly black Bedford-Stuyvesant, Brooklyn, to dispel these destructive assumptions. She considers the obstacles faced--and the strategies used--by black men with children. Abdill presents qualitative and quantitative evidence that confirms the increasing presence of black fathers in their communities, arguing that changing social norms about gender roles in black families have shifted fathering behaviors. Black men in communities such as Bed-Stuy still face social and structural disadvantages, including disproportionate unemployment and incarceration, with significant implications for family life. Against this backdrop, black fathers attempt to reconcile contradictory beliefs about what makes one a good father and what makes one a respected man by developing different strategies for expressing affection and providing parental support. Black men's involvement with their children is affected by the attitudes of their peers, the media, and especially the women of their families and communities: from the grandmothers who often become gatekeepers to involvement in a child's life to the female-dominated sectors of childcare, primary school, and family-service provision. Abdill shows how supporting black men in their quest to be--and be seen as--family men is the key to securing not only their children's well-being but also their own.
Call Number: HQ756 .A23 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-12
Mental Health in Rural America : a field guide by Ellen Greene StewartThis book provides a comprehensive overview of mental health in rural America, with the goal of fostering urgently needed research and honest conversations about providing accessible, culturally competent mental health care to rural populations. Grounding the work is an explanation of the history and structure of rural mental health care, the culture of rural living among diverse groups, and the crucial "A's" and "S": accountability, accessibility, acceptability, affordability, and stigma. The book then examines poverty, disaster mental health, ethics in rural mental health, and school counseling. It ends with practical information and treatments for two of the most common problems, suicide and substance abuse, and a brief exploration of collaborative possibilities in rural mental health care.
Check OskiCat for other newly published books. You can suggest items that the Library should consider purchasing by using the Purchase Recommendation form.
Turning the Page : storytelling as activism in queer film and media by David R. CoonSurprisingly, Hollywood is still clumsily grappling with its representation of sexual minorities, and LGBTQ filmmakers struggle to find a place in the mainstream movie industry. However, organizations outside the mainstream are making a difference, helping to produce and distribute authentic stories that are both by and for LGBTQ people. Turning the Page introduces readers to three nonprofit organizations that, in very different ways, have each positively transformed the queer media landscape. David R. Coon takes readers inside In the Life Media, whose groundbreaking documentaries on the LGBTQ experience aired for over twenty years on public television stations nationwide. Coon reveals the successes of POWER UP, a nonprofit production company dedicated to mentoring filmmakers who can turn queer stories into fully realized features and short films. Finally, he turns to Three Dollar Bill Cinema, an organization whose film festivals help queer media find an audience and whose filmmaking camps for LGBTQ youth are nurturing the next generation of queer cinema. Combining a close analysis of specific films and video programs with extensive interviews of industry professionals, Turning the Page demonstrates how queer storytelling in visual media has the potential to empower individuals, strengthen communities, and motivate social justice activism.
Call Number: P96.S58 C66 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-11
Serving the Stigmatized : working within the incarcerated environment by Wesley T. Church (Editor); David W. Springer (Editor)America's incarceration rate was roughly constant from 1925 to 1973, with an average of 110 people behind bars for every 100,000 residents. By 2013, however, the rate of incarceration in state and federal prisons had increased sevenfold to 716. Compared with 102 for Canada, 132 for England andWales, 85 for France, and a paltry 48 in Japan, the United States is the worlds' most aggressive jailer. When one factors in those on parole or probation, the American correctional system is in control of more than 7.3 million Americans, or one in every 31 U.S. adults. This means that 6.7 millionadult men and women - about 3.1 percent of the total U.S. adult population - are now very non-voluntary members of America's "correctional community." Some key questions that need to be addressed are: "What are we doing with those 7.3 million Americans? How are they being treated while they are incarcerated? How can we best prepare them to return to their communities?" More than 650,000 offenders are released back into our communities every year;however, 70% are rearrested within three years of their release. Serving the Stigmatized is the first book of its kind that explores best practices when dealing with a specific prison population while under some form of institutional control. If the established goal of a correctional facility is to"rehabilitate," then it is imperative that the rehabilitation is effective and does not simply serve as a political buzz word. The timing of releasing this book coincides with a real movement in the United States, supported by both conservative and liberal advocates and foundations, to decrease thesize of the prison population by returning more offenders to their communities. The text examines 14 specific populations and how to effectively treat them in order to better serve them and our communities.
Call Number: HV7428 .S445 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-26
Dementia and Human Rights by Suzanne CahillThis timely book challenges readers to rethink the intersection of dementia, policy, and care from a human rights perspective. Drawing on the latest research and most advanced thinking in best practices, Suzanne Cahill brings together concepts such as disability, social inclusion, personhood, social justice, equality, participation, empowerment, autonomy, and normalization to apply a social constructionist lens to the current state of dementia services. Disputing the biomedical and clinical thinking that underlies services' existing structure and organization, Dementia and Human Rights explores how many people living with dementia can actively manage their own lives. Uniquely, the book captures the insights and subjective experiences of both people living with dementia and their caregivers (formal and informal), as well as of policy makers and service planners. Distilling international case studies, research, and policy directives, this comprehensive, easy-to-read book makes an original argument for the joint improvement of quality of life and quality of care. More broadly, Cahill advocates for the need for social change, a greater awareness of human rights, and the incorporation of rights-based approaches into policy research and practice.
Call Number: RC521 .C34 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-01
Fugitive Life : the queer politics of the prison state by Stephen DillonDuring the 1970s in the United States, hundreds of feminist, queer, and antiracist activists were imprisoned or became fugitives as they fought the changing contours of U.S. imperialism, global capitalism, and a repressive racial state. In Fugitive Life Stephen Dillon examines these activists' communiqués, films, memoirs, prison writing, and poetry to highlight the centrality of gender and sexuality to a mode of racialized power called the neoliberal-carceral state. Drawing on writings by Angela Davis, the George Jackson Brigade, Assata Shakur, the Weather Underground, and others, Dillon shows how these activists were among the first to theorize and make visible the links between conservative "law and order" rhetoric, free market ideology, incarceration, sexism, and the continued legacies of slavery. Dillon theorizes these prisoners and fugitives as queer figures who occupied a unique position from which to highlight how neoliberalism depended upon racialized mass incarceration. In so doing, he articulates a vision of fugitive freedom in which the work of these activists becomes foundational to undoing the reign of the neoliberal-carceral state.
Call Number: HQ76.8.U6 D55 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-08
Healing Justice : holistic self-care for change makers by Loretta PylesIn the context of multiple forms of global economic, social, and cultural oppression, along with intergenerational trauma, burnout, and public services retrenchment, this book offers a framework and set of inquiries and practices for social workers, activists, community organizers, counselors,and other helping professionals. Healing justice, a term that has emerged in social movements in the last decade, is taught as a practice of connecting to the whole self, what many are conditioned to ignore - the body, mind-heart, spirit, community, and natural world. Drawing from the East-West modalities of mindfulness, yoga, and Ayurveda, the author introduces six capabilities - mindfulness and compassion; critical thinking and curiosity; and effort and equanimity - which can guide practitioners on a transformative and empowering journey that can ultimatelymake them and their colleagues more effective in their work. Using case studies, critical analysis, and skill sharing, self-care is presented as an act of resistance to disconnection, marginalization, and internalized oppression. Healing justice is a trauma-informed practice that empowers socialpractitioners to cultivate the conditions that might allow them to feel more connected to themselves, their clients, colleagues, and communities. The book also engages critically with self-care practices, including investigation into the science of mindfulness, cultural appropriation, and the commodification of self-care. The message is clear that mindfulness-based practices are not a panacea for personal, inter-personal, or politicalproblems. But, they can put practitioners in a more authentic and powerful place to work from, which is particularly important in a world where there is more connection to technology, ideologies, and people who share one's beliefs, and less connection to the natural world, people who are different,and the parts of oneself that one tends to reject. The book also offers suggestions for how to share self-care practices with community members who have less access to wellness.
Call Number: BF151 .P95 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-12
Revolutionary STEM Education : critical-reality pedagogy and social justice in STEM education for black males by Jeremiah J. SimsRevolutionary STEM Education: Critical-Reality Pedagogy and Social Justice in STEM for Black Males by Jeremiah J. Sims, an educator, researcher, and administrator from Richmond, California, is calling for a revolutionary, paradigm shift in the STEM education of and for Black boys. STEM education has been reliant on axioms and purported facts that for far too long have been delivered in a banking or absorption model that is, arguably, anti-critical. Unsurprisingly, this pedagogical approach to STEM education has failed large segments of students; and, this is especially true of African American males. Revolutionary STEM Education highlights, chronicles, and investigates the potential inroads and vistas of a Saturday Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) program, Male Aptitudes Nurtured for Unlimited Potential (MAN UP), which was designed to foster interest and competence in STEM by middle school Black boys. This program was impelled by a critical-reality based pedagogical approach, which was formulated to arrive at socio-academic synergy, that is, a thoughtful conjoining of students' real life concerns, joys, ways of being, and socio-cultural identities and the curricular material covered in the courses offered at MAN UP. Sims' lived-experiences as an inner-city, low-income Black male are interspersed throughout Revolutionary STEM Education; however, the heartbeat of this book is, undoubtedly, the stories of the positive transformation that the MAN UP scholars experienced while becoming more competent in STEM, developing positive STEM identities, and learning to use their STEM knowledge for social justice.