It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
About new print books in the Social Research Collection
The Social Research Collection includes works that address social and individual problems from a variety of disciplines including psychology, education, social welfare, and public policy. While many of the works in the collection are shelved in the Social Research Library in Haviland Hall, some may be shelved in other campus libraries. The respective library will be noted in the catalog record.
Items not shelved in the Social Research Library may be paged from other libraries. Information on paging books is here.
The library receives many more books than are featured on this page. A complete list of new books in the collection received in the previous 90 days may be found here.
Selected new print books, November 2018
Becoming a Clinical Psychologist : everything you need to know by Steven Mayers; Amanda MwaleBecoming a Clinical Psychologist: Everything You Need to Know¿brings together all the information you need to pursue a career in this competitive field. This essential guide includes up-to-date information and guidance about a career in clinical psychology and gaining a place on clinical psychology training in the UK. It answers the questions all aspiring psychologists need to know, such as: What is Clinical Psychology? What is it like to train and work as a clinical psychologist? How to make the most of your work and research experience. How to prepare for clinical psychology applications and interviews. Is clinical psychology the right career for me? By cutting through all the jargon, and providing detailed interviews with trained and trainee clinical psychologists,¿Becoming a Clinical Psychologist¿will provide psychology graduates or undergrads considering a career in this area with all the tools they need.¿
Call Number: RC467 .M39 2019
Publication Date: 2018-08-08
Latinx : the new force in American politics and culture by Ed MoralesThe Latinx revolution in US culture, society, and politics "Latinx" (pronounced "La-teen-ex") is the gender-neutral term that covers one of the largest and fastest growing minorities in the United States, accounting for 17 percent of the country. Over 58 million Americans belong to the category, including a sizable part of the country's working class, both foreign and native-born. Their political empowerment is altering the balance of forces in a growing number of states. And yet Latinx barely figure in America's ongoing conversation about race and ethnicity. Remarkably, the US census does not even have a racial category for "Latino." In this groundbreaking discussion, Ed Morales explains how Latinx political identities are tied to a long Latin American history of mestizaje--"mixedness" or "hybridity"--and that this border thinking is both a key to understanding bilingual, bicultural Latin cultures and politics and a challenge to America's infamously black-white racial regime. This searching and long-overdue exploration of the meaning of race in American life reimagines Cornel West's bestselling Race Matters with a unique Latinx inflection.
Call Number: E184.S75 M666 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-25
Palaces for the People : how social infrastructure can help fight inequality, polarization, and the decline of civic life by Eric KlinenbergA New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice An eminent sociologist and bestselling author offers an inspiring blueprint for rebuilding our fractured society. We are living in a time of deep divisions. Americans are sorting themselves along racial, religious, and cultural lines, leading to a level of polarization that the country hasn't seen since the Civil War. Pundits and politicians are calling for us to come together, to find common purpose. But how, exactly, can this be done? In Palaces for the People, Eric Klinenberg suggests a way forward. He believes that the future of democratic societies rests not simply on shared values but on shared spaces: the libraries, childcare centers, bookstores, churches, synagogues, and parks where crucial, sometimes life-saving connections, are formed. These are places where people gather and linger, making friends across group lines and strengthening the entire community. Klinenberg calls this the "social infrastructure": When it is strong, neighborhoods flourish; when it is neglected, as it has been in recent years, families and individuals must fend for themselves. Klinenberg takes us around the globe--from a floating school in Bangladesh to an arts incubator in Chicago, from a soccer pitch in Queens to an evangelical church in Houston--to show how social infrastructure is helping to solve some of our most pressing challenges: isolation, crime, education, addiction, political polarization, and even climate change. Richly reported, elegantly written, and ultimately uplifting, Palaces for the People urges us to acknowledge the crucial role these spaces play in civic life. Our social infrastructure could be the key to bridging our seemingly unbridgeable divides--and safeguarding democracy.
Call Number: HC79.C3 K55 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-11
Reader, Come Home : the reading brain in a digital world by Maryanne WolfFrom the author of Proust and the Squid, a lively, ambitious, and deeply informative epistolary book that considers the future of the reading brain and our capacity for critical thinking, empathy, and reflection as we become increasingly dependent on digital technologies. A decade ago, Maryanne Wolf's Proust and the Squid revealed what we know about how the brain learns to read and how reading changes the way we think and feel. Since then, the ways we process written language have changed dramatically with many concerned about both their own changes and that of children. New research on the reading brain chronicles these changes in the brains of children and adults as they learn to read while immersed in a digitally dominated medium. Drawing deeply on this research, this book comprises a series of letters Wolf writes to us--her beloved readers--to describe her concerns and her hopes about what is happening to the reading brain as it unavoidably changes to adapt to digital mediums. Wolf raises difficult questions, including: Will children learn to incorporate the full range of "deep reading" processes that are at the core of the expert reading brain? Will the mix of a seemingly infinite set of distractions for children's attention and their quick access to immediate, voluminous information alter their ability to think for themselves? With information at their fingertips, will the next generation learn to build their own storehouse of knowledge, which could impede the ability to make analogies and draw inferences from what they know? Will all these influences, in turn, change the formation in children and the use in adults of "slower" cognitive processes like critical thinking, personal reflection, imagination, and empathy that comprise deep reading and that influence both how we think and how we live our lives? Will the chain of digital influences ultimately influence the use of the critical analytical and empathic capacities necessary for a democratic society? How can we preserve deep reading processes in future iterations of the reading brain? Who are the "good readers" of every epoch? Concerns about attention span, critical reasoning, and over-reliance on technology are never just about children--Wolf herself has found that, though she is a reading expert, her ability to read deeply has been impacted as she has become, inevitably, increasingly dependent on screens. Wolf draws on neuroscience, literature, education, technology, and philosophy and blends historical, literary, and scientific facts with down-to-earth examples and warm anecdotes to illuminate complex ideas that culminate in a proposal for a biliterate reading brain. Provocative and intriguing, Reader, Come Home is a roadmap that provides a cautionary but hopeful perspective on the impact of technology on our brains and our most essential intellectual capacities--and what this could mean for our future.
Call Number: BF456.R2 W65 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-07
The Mind Is Flat : the remarkable shallowness of the improvising brain by Nick ChaterIn a radical reinterpretation of how the mind works, an eminent behavioral scientist reveals the illusion of mental depth Psychologists and neuroscientists struggle with how best to interpret human motivation and decision making. The assumption is that below a mental "surface" of conscious awareness lies a deep and complex set of inner beliefs, values, and desires that govern our thoughts, ideas, and actions, and that to know this depth is to know ourselves. In this profoundly original book, behavioral scientist Nick Chater contends just the opposite: rather than being the plaything of unconscious currents, the brain generates behaviors in the moment based entirely on our past experiences. Engaging the reader with eye-opening experiments and visual examples, the author first demolishes our intuitive sense of how our mind works, then argues for a positive interpretation of the brain as a ceaseless and creative improviser.
Call Number: BF311 .C497 2018b
Publication Date: 2018-08-07
Undocumented Politics : place, gender, and the pathways of Mexican migrants by Abigail Leslie AndrewsIn 2018, more than eleven million undocumented immigrants lived in the United States. Not since slavery had so many U.S. residents held so few political rights. Many strove tirelessly to belong. Others turned to their homelands for hope. What explains their clashing strategies of inclusion? And how does gender play into these fights? Undocumented Politics offers a gripping inquiry into migrant communities' struggles for rights and resources across the U.S.-Mexico divide. For twenty-one months, Abigail Andrews lived with two groups of migrants and their families in the mountains of Mexico and in the barrios of Southern California. Her nuanced comparison reveals how local laws and power dynamics shape migrants' agency. Andrews also exposes how arbitrary policing abets gendered violence. Yet she insists that the process does not begin or end in the United States. Rather, migrants interpret their destinations in light of the hometowns they leave behind. Their counterparts in Mexico must also come to grips with migrant globalization. And on both sides of the border, men and women transform patriarchy through their battles to belong. Ambitious and intimate, Undocumented Politics reveals how the excluded find space for political voice.
Call Number: F1221.Z3 A53 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-21
Selected new print books, November 2018
Do Oysters Get Bored? : a curious life by Rozanna LilleyA baby cries; a mother exits, leaving her family behind; a child finally begins to talk; a father stops breathing. Rozanna Lilley is a social anthropologist, autism researcher, and Oscar's mum. Oscar is on the autism spectrum, which means he has a particular way of being in the world and understanding the lives of those around him. As Rozanna and her husband Neil navigate Oscar's childhood, the author reflects upon her own childhood and adolescence, spent in a libertarian, self-consciously bohemian household first in Perth and then in Sydney presided over by her parents, the writers Dorothy Hewett and Merv Lilley. Through personal essays, Lilley works through the ongoing repercussions of childhood trauma and captures Oscar's rich inner world, as revealed through his vivid fantasy life and curious observations. Do Oysters Get Bored? is a shimmering examination of an eccentric family, the complexities of care and the toll of grief in middle-age. A set of poems serve as a counterpoint to the essays in this directly charming and surprisingly funny account of daily life. [Subject: Memoir, Literature, Autism, Poetry]
Call Number: RJ506.A9 L55 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-21
Empathy : a history by Susan LanzoniA surprising, sweeping, and deeply researched history of empathy--from late-nineteenth-century German aesthetics to mirror neurons Empathy: A History tells the fascinating and largely unknown story of the first appearance of "empathy" in 1908 and tracks its shifting meanings over the following century. Despite empathy's ubiquity today, few realize that it began as a translation of Einfühlung or "in-feeling" in German psychological aesthetics that described how spectators projected their own feelings and movements into objects of art and nature. Remarkably, this early conception of empathy transformed into its opposite over the ensuing decades. Social scientists and clinical psychologists refashioned empathy to require the deliberate putting aside of one's feelings to more accurately understand another's. By the end of World War II, interpersonal empathy entered the mainstream, appearing in advice columns, popular radio and TV, and later in public forums on civil rights. Even as neuroscientists continue to map the brain correlates of empathy, its many dimensions still elude strict scientific description. This meticulously researched book uncovers empathy's historical layers, offering a rich portrait of the tension between the reach of one's own imagination and the realities of others' experiences.
Treating Addictions : the four components by An-Pyng SunTreating Addictions: The Four Componentsoffers a unique and coherent understanding of addiction. The book begins with a chapter discussing the framework of addiction and the four essential components of treatments--the fundamentals of addiction, co-occurring disorders, quality of life, and macro factors--and subsequent chapters elaborate on each component. Most currently available addiction treatment books present knowledge and skills in separate chapters and fail to integrate all chapters within a single framework that can weave all concepts into a meaningful tapestry. Using a unified framework, this book offers students a comprehensive skill set for treating addictions.
Call Number: RC564 .S86 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Women Who Were Sexually Abused as Children : mothering, resilience, and protecting the next generation by Teresa GilStories of mothers who survived sexual abuse as children reveal the struggles, challenges, and triumphs of this special group of women. Unraveling the veil of silence and capturing the experiences of mothers who were sexually abused as children, this book offers a first step in both supporting mothers and disrupting the cycle of intergenerational abuse that keeps these mothers isolated and alone in their mothering challenges and successes. Each story reveals the concerns, the needs, the difficulties, and the fears these mothers confront as they parent their children while struggling with their own past experiences. By examining the therapeutic needs and concerns of mothers who have survived child sexual abuse, Teresa Gil offers special insight into understanding and supporting these remarkable women. At issue is understanding what helps women who were sexually abused as children to survive and to parent effectively. Written for adult mothers who were victims of childhood sexual abuse, as well as for helping professionals, this book reveals the touching details of the pain and triumphs of mothering as a survivor and examines the protective factors that support resiliency and assist survivor/mothers to overcome challenges and to provide safe environments for the next generation.
Call Number: RC569.5.A28 G55 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-24
Black Men Teaching in Urban Schools : reassessing Black masculinity by Edward BrockenbroughThis volume follows eleven Black male teachers from an urban, predominantly Black school district to reveal a complex set of identity politics and power dynamics that complicate these teachers' relationships with students and fellow educators. It provides new and important insights into what it means to be a Black male teacher and suggests strategies for school districts, teacher preparation programs, researchers and other stakeholders to rethink why and how we recruit and train Black male teachers for urban K-12 classrooms.
Call Number: LB2840 .B76 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-24
Selected new print books, November 2018
Check OskiCat for other newly published books. You can suggest items that the Library should consider purchasing by using the Purchase Recommendation form.
Ages of Anxiety : historical and transnational perspectives on juvenile justice by William S. Bush; David S. TanenhausSix compelling histories of youth crime in the twentieth century Ages of Anxiety presents six case studies of juvenile justice policy in the twentieth century from around the world, adding context to the urgent and international conversation about youth, crime, and justice. By focusing on magistrates, social workers, probation and police officers, and youth themselves, editors William S. Bush and David S. Tanenhaus highlight the role of ordinary people as meaningful and consequential historical actors. After providing an international perspective on the social history of ideas about how children are different from adults, the contributors explain why those differences should matter for the administration of justice. They examine how reformers used the idea of modernization to build and legitimize juvenile justice systems in Europe and Mexico, and present histories of policing and punishing youth crime. Ages of Anxiety introduces a new theoretical model for interpreting historical research to demonstrate the usefulness of social histories of children and youth for policy analysis and decision-making in the twenty-first century. Shedding new light on the substantive aims of the juvenile court, the book is a historically informed perspective on the critical topic of youth, crime, and justice.
Call Number: K5575 .A945 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-31
Diversity Explosion : how new racial demographics are remaking America by William H. FreyRace is once again a contentious topic in America, as shown by the divisive rise of Donald Trump and the activism of groups like Black Lives Matter. Yet, Diversity Explosion argues that the current period of profound racial change will lead to a less divided nation than today's older whites or younger minorities fear. Prominent demographer William Frey sees America's emerging diversity boom as good news for a country that would otherwise become isolated from the rest of world while facing declining growth and rapid aging for years to come. In this updated and revised edition of his award-winning book, Frey draws lessons from the 2016 presidential election and fresh statistics to paint a clear picture of where America's racial demography is headed--and what it means for the nation's future. His new analysis of election data and the changing electorate shows how Trump's win highlights a major fissure in today's America: a cultural generation gap where many baby boomers and seniors are fearful about the nation's diversifying population, while at the same time younger adults--especially millennials--welcome it. Frey explains how, despite this gap, broad demographic forces will alter the nation's social and political landscape in the not-too-distant future, as older Americans and those living in red states come to absorb and embrace the contributions of multihued generations that are rapidly growing and dispersing. Clearly, the phrase "demography is destiny" is salient in ways that both political parties need to recognize. Drawing from the U.S. Census, recent national surveys, and related sources, Frey tells how the rapidly growing "new minorities"--Hispanics, Asians, and multiracial Americans--along with African Americans and other groups, are transforming and reinvigorating communities from cities to suburbs and from the coasts to the heartland. He discusses their impact on generational change, neighborhood segregation, and interracial marriage, as well as presidential politics. Diversity Explosion is an accessible, richly illustrated overview of how unprecedented racial change is remaking the United States once again. It is an essential guide for political strategists, marketers, investors, educators, policymakers, and anyone who wants to understand the magnitude, potential, and promise of the new national melting pot in the 21st century.
Call Number: E184.A1 F739 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Between Hope and Fear : a history of vaccines and human immunity by Michael KinchIf you have a child in school, you may have heard stories of long-dormant diseases suddenly reappearing--cases of measles, mumps, rubella, and whooping cough cropping up everywhere from elementary schools to Ivy League universities because a select group of parents refuse to vaccinate their children.Between Hope and Fear tells the remarkable story of vaccine-preventable infectious diseases and their social and political implications. While detailing the history of vaccine invention, Kinch reveals the ominous reality that our victories against vaccine-preventable diseases are not permanent--and could easily be undone. In the tradition of John Barry's The Great Influenza and Siddhartha Mukherjee's The Emperor of All Maladies, Between Hope and Fear relates the remarkable intersection of science, technology and disease that has helped eradicate many of the deadliest plagues known to man.
Call Number: RA638 .K56 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-03
Obsessive Compulsions : the OCD of everyday life by C. Thomas GualtieriAlmost everybody has an obsession or feels a compulsion to do something a certain way. Magic numbers, intrusive thoughts, unusual fears and superstitions happen to about four people out of five, but where do these obsessive-compulsive (OC) traits come from? This book explores what they are, why we have them and what we can do about them, through fascinating and highly original insights. Are you a perfectionist, or can you be fussy? Do you like to have control in certain situations? Or are you overly anxious in others? These are all OC traits, and this book looks at their recent increase in human behaviour, and how they are formed in the brain. Showing that these traits are more common in highly educated, intelligent and successful people, it highlights the positive sides of what have previously been seen as negative quirks. Weaving together sections that are anecdotal and humorous, with technical and up-to-date scientific information, this groundbreaking book gives a fascinating introduction into an under-discussed personality type.
Call Number: RC533 .G83 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-21
Altered States of Consciousness : experiences out of time and self by Marc Wittmann; Philippa Hurd (Translator)What altered states of consciousness--the dissolution of feelings of time and self--can tell us about the mystery of consciousness. During extraordinary moments of consciousness--shock, meditative states and sudden mystical revelations, out-of-body experiences, or drug intoxication--our senses of time and self are altered; we may even feel time and self dissolving. These experiences have long been ignored by mainstream science, or considered crazy fantasies. Recent research, however, has located the neural underpinnings of these altered states of mind. In this book, neuropsychologist Marc Wittmann shows how experiences that disturb or widen our everyday understanding of the self can help solve the mystery of consciousness. Wittmann explains that the relationship between consciousness of time and consciousness of self is close; in extreme circumstances, the experiences of space and self intensify and weaken together. He considers the emergence of the self in waking life and dreams; how our sense of time is distorted by extreme situations ranging from terror to mystical enlightenment; the experience of the moment; and the loss of time and self in such disorders as depression, schizophrenia, and epilepsy. Dostoyevsky reported godly bliss during epileptic seizures; neurologists are now investigating the phenomenon of the epileptic aura. Wittmann describes new studies of psychedelics that show how the brain builds consciousness of self and time, and discusses pilot programs that use hallucinogens to treat severe depression, anxiety, and addiction. If we want to understand our consciousness, our subjectivity, Wittmann argues, we must not be afraid to break new ground. Studying altered states of consciousness leads us directly to the heart of the matter: time and self, the foundations of consciousness.
Call Number: BF468 .W57313 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-10
Reimagining Equality : a new deal for children of color by Nancy E. DowdA comprehensive examination of developmental inequality among children Developmental equality-whether every child has an equal opportunity to reach their fullest potential-is essential for children's future growth and access to opportunity. In the United States, however, children of color are disproportionately affected by poverty, poor educational outcomes, and structural discrimination, limiting their potential. In Reimagining Equality, Nancy E. Dowd sets out to examine the roots of these inequalities by tracing the life course of black boys from birth to age 18 in an effort to create an affirmative system of rights and support for all children. Drawing on interdisciplinary research, the book demonstrates that black boys encounter challenges and barriers that funnel them toward failure rather than developmental success. Their example exposes a broader reality of hierarchies among children, linked to government policies, practices, structures, and institutions. Dowd argues for a new legal model of developmental equality, grounded in the real challenges that children face on the basis of race, gender, and class. Concluding with a "New Deal" for all children, Reimagining Equality provides a comprehensive set of policies that enables our political and legal systems to dismantle what harms and discriminates children, and maximize their development.