It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
About new print books in the Social Research Collection
The Social Research Collection includes works that address social and individual problems from a variety of disciplines including psychology, education, social welfare, and public policy. While many of the works in the collection are shelved in the Social Research Library in Haviland Hall, some may be shelved in other campus libraries. The respective library will be noted in the catalog record.
Items not shelved in the Social Research Library may be paged from other libraries. Information on paging books is here.
The library receives many more books than are featured on this page. A complete list of new books in the collection received in the previous 90 days may be found here.
People, Power, and Profits : progressive capitalism for an age of discontent by Joseph E. StiglitzWe all have the sense that the American economy--and its government--tilts toward big business, but as Joseph E. Stiglitz explains in his new book, People, Power, and Profits, the situation is dire. A few corporations have come to dominate entire sectors of the economy, contributing to skyrocketing inequality and slow growth. This is how the financial industry has managed to write its own regulations, tech companies have accumulated reams of personal data with little oversight, and our government has negotiated trade deals that fail to represent the best interests of workers. Too many have made their wealth through exploitation of others rather than through wealth creation. If something isn't done, new technologies may make matters worse, increasing inequality and unemployment.Stiglitz identifies the true sources of wealth and of increases in standards of living, based on learning, advances in science and technology, and the rule of law. He shows that the assault on the judiciary, universities, and the media undermines the very institutions that have long been the foundation of America's economic might and its democracy.Helpless though we may feel today, we are far from powerless. In fact, the economic solutions are often quite clear. We need to exploit the benefits of markets while taming their excesses, making sure that markets work for us--the U.S. citizens--and not the other way around. If enough citizens rally behind the agenda for change outlined in this book, it may not be too late to create a progressive capitalism that will recreate a shared prosperity. Stiglitz shows how a middle-class life can once again be attainable by all.An authoritative account of the predictable dangers of free market fundamentalism and the foundations of progressive capitalism, People, Power, and Profits shows us an America in crisis, but also lights a path through this challenging time.
Call Number: HC110.W4 S75 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-23
Vital Bodies : living with illness by Charlotte BatesVital Bodies is the story of twelve people, each living with a long-term illness. Delving into the routines and rhythms of their everyday lives, Bates reveals the significance of the things that we usually take for granted, from what we eat to when we sleep, how we move, and what we wear. Learning from the lives portrayed, it explores ideas of care, vulnerability, and choice, questioning what it means to live a modern life with illness and illuminating the vitality of so-called diseased bodies along the way. Juxtaposing academic text with rich descriptions and vivid illustrations--including video stills, journal extracts, and drawings--this book highlights the sensory and emotional intimacies of visual sociology and demonstrates the use and value of sensuous scholarship.
Call Number: R726.5 .B38 2019
Publication Date: 2019-01-12
Building Walls : excluding Latin people in the United States by Ernesto CastañedaThe election of Donald Trump has called attention to the border wall and anti-Mexican discourses and policies, yet these issues are not new. Building Walls puts the recent calls to build a border wall along the US-Mexico border into a larger social and historical context. This book describes the building of walls, symbolic and physical, between Americans and Mexicans, as well as the consequences that these walls have in the lives of immigrants and Latin communities in the United States. The book is divided into three parts: categorical thinking, anti-immigrant speech, and immigration as an experience. The sections discuss how the idea of the nation-state itself constructs borders, how political strategy and racist ideologies reinforce the idea of irreconcilable differences between whites and Latinos, and how immigrants and their families overcome their struggles to continue living in America. They analyze historical precedents, normative frameworks, divisive discourses, and contemporary daily interactions between whites and Latin individuals. It discusses the debates on how to name people of Latin American origin and the framing of immigrants as a threat and contrasts them to the experiences of migrants and border residents. Building Walls makes a theoretical contribution by showing how different dimensions work together to create durable inequalities between U.S. native whites, Latinos, and newcomers. It provides a sophisticated analysis and empirical description of racializing and exclusionary processes.
Call Number: JV6456 .C37 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-15
A reflective guide to gender identity counselling by Madison-Amy Webb"Counselling professionals are increasingly seeking training for working with gender variant clients. Madison-Amy Webb invites them to consider a simple truth: everyone has a gender identity, whether or not they've given it much thought. By reflecting on their own gender identity through the exercises provided, counsellors can relate to clients in new and productive ways, gaining a more nuanced understanding of the issues faced by their clients and of their own identity. Incisive yet accessible, this unique guide shines a light on how the popular conception of gender identity came into being by looking at the social and historical influences at play. This context is then brought to life with a rich variety of case studies and excerpts from the author's own diary. Reflective exercises such as 'The Dressing Up Box' and 'Personal Meaning' will help readers develop a deeper understanding of their own gender identity, while clinical techniques offer new ways to connect with gender variant clients effectively. Essential reading for any counselling professional working with gender variant clients"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: BF692.2 .W43 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Selected new print books, October 2019
Trauma and Resilience in the Lives of Contemporary Native Americans : reclaiming our balance, restoring our wellbeing by Hilary N. WeaverIndigenous Peoples around the world and our allies often reflect on the many challenges that continue to confront us, the reasons behind health, economic, and social disparities, and the best ways forward to a healthy future. This book draws on theoretical, conceptual, and evidence-based scholarship as well as interviews with scholars immersed in Indigenous wellbeing, to examine contemporary issues for Native Americans. It includes reflections on resilience as well as disparities. In recent decades, there has been increasing attention on how trauma, both historical and contemporary, shapes the lives of Native Americans. Indigenous scholars urge recognition of historical trauma as a framework for understanding contemporary health and social disparities. Accordingly, this book uses a trauma-informed lens to examine Native American issues with the understanding that even when not specifically seeking to address trauma directly, it is useful to understand that trauma is a common experience that can shape many aspects of life. Scholarship on trauma and trauma-informed care is integrated with scholarship on historical trauma, providing a framework for examining contemporary issues for Native American populations. It should be considered essential reading for all human service professionals working with Native American clients, as well as a core text for Native American studies and classes on trauma or diversity more generally.
Call Number: RC451.5.I5 W43 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-12
Intimate Partner Violence : new perspectives in research and practice by Elizabeth Bates (Editor); Julie Taylor (Editor)Since the 1970s the issue of intimate partner violence (IPV) has been explained through the patriarchal desire of men to control and dominate women, but this gendered perspective limits both our understanding of IPV and its treatment. Intimate Partner Violence: New Perspectives in Research and Practice is the first book of its kind to present a detailed and rigorous critique of current domestic violence research and practice within the same volume. In this challenging new text, with contributions from the UK, the US, and Canada, the subject is assessed from a more holistic position. It provides a critical analysis of the issue of domestic violence including issues that are often not part of the mainstream discussion. Each of the chapters tackles a different area of research or practice, from a critical review of contemporary topics in domestic violence research, including a critical review of men's use of violence in relationships, a consideration of male victims, IPV within the LGBTQ+ community, perceptions of perpetrators and victims, and IPV within adolescent populations. The second half of the book examines challenges and opportunities for professionals working in the field and includes an analysis of an evidence informed perpetrator programme, the challenges faced working with male victims, and a discussion of the impact of domestic violence on children. Culminating with a series of evidence-based recommendations to bridge the divide between academic and practitioner stakeholders and to inform future working practices, this is an essential resource for students and practitioners alike.
Call Number: BF575.P9 E34 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Madness, violence, and power : a critical collection by Andrea Daley"Madness, Violence, and Power: A Critical Collection disengages from the common forms of discussion about violence related to mental health service users and survivors which position those users or survivors as more likely to enact violence or become victims of violence. Instead, this book seeks to broaden understandings of violence manifest in the lives of mental health service users/survivors, 'push' current considerations to explore the impacts of systems and institutions that manage 'abnormality', and to create and foster space to explore the role of our own communities in justice and accountability dialogues. This critical collection constitutes an integral contribution to critical scholarship on violence and mental illness by addressing a gap in the existing literature by broadening the "violence lens," and inviting an interdisciplinary conversation that is not narrowly biomedical and neuro-scientific."
Call Number: HM1116 .M33 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Race Dialogues : a facilitator's guide to tackling the elephant in the classroom by Donna Rich Kaplowitz; Shayla Reese Griffin; Sheri Seyka; Patricia Gurin (Foreword by)All too often, race discourse in the United States devolves into shouting matches, silence, or violence, all of which are mirrored in today's classrooms. This book will help individuals develop the skills needed to facilitate difficult dialogues across race in high school and college classrooms, in teacher professional learning communities, and beyond. The authors codify best practices in race dialogue facilitation by drawing on decades of research and examples from their own practices. They share their mistakes and hard-earned lessons to help readers avoid common pitfalls. Through their concrete lesson plans and hands-on material, both experienced and novice facilitators can immediately use this inclusive and wide-ranging curriculum in a variety of classrooms, work spaces, and organizations with diverse participants. Book Features: Specific instruction on how to facilitate dialogues in a way that promotes deep understanding, empathy, and collaboration across different racial identities. Comprehensive plans for sequenced and sustained dialogue sessions for a variety of audiences. Methods for administrators, teachers, community leaders, and facilitators to approach resistant communities.
Call Number: LC1099.3 .K36 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-03
The Age of Addiction : how bad habits became big business by David T. CourtwrightFrom a leading expert on addiction, a provocative, singularly authoritative history of how sophisticated global businesses have targeted the human brain's reward centers, driving us to addictions ranging from oxycodone to Big Macs to Assassin's Creed to Snapchat--with alarming social consequences. We live in an age of addiction, from compulsive gaming and shopping to binge eating and opioid abuse. Sugar can be as habit-forming as cocaine, researchers tell us, and social media apps are hooking our kids. But what can we do to resist temptations that insidiously and deliberately rewire our brains? Nothing, David Courtwright says, unless we understand the history and character of the global enterprises that create and cater to our bad habits. The Age of Addiction chronicles the triumph of what Courtwright calls "limbic capitalism," the growing network of competitive businesses targeting the brain pathways responsible for feeling, motivation, and long-term memory. We see its success in Purdue Pharma's pain pills, in McDonald's engineered burgers, and in Tencent video games from China. All capitalize on the ancient quest to discover, cultivate, and refine new and habituating pleasures. The business of satisfying desire assumed a more sinister aspect with the rise of long-distance trade, plantation slavery, anonymous cities, large corporations, and sophisticated marketing. Multinational industries, often with the help of complicit governments and criminal organizations, have multiplied and cheapened seductive forms of brain reward, from junk food to pornography. The internet has brought new addictions: in 2018, the World Health Organization added "gaming disorder" to its International Classification of Diseases. Courtwright holds out hope that limbic capitalism can be contained by organized opposition from across the political spectrum. Progressives, nationalists, and traditionalists have made common cause against the purveyors of addiction before. They could do it again.
Call Number: RC533 .C678 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-06
Childhood Trauma and the Non-Alpha Male/Gender Role Conflict, Toxic Shame, and Complex Trauma : gender role conflict, toxic shame and complex trauma : finding hope, clarity, healing and change by Douglas W. CarpenterThe social perception of masculinity is very black and white -- one is either an Alpha Male or a Beta Male, and there can be no variation. However, this is not the reality of masculinity in today's society. Non-Alpha Males exist somewhere in the middle of the masculinity spectrum and are far more common than most people realize. These Non-Alpha Males are prone to developmental and behavioral issues caused by gender role conflict, toxic shame, and complex trauma. These, as well as the role of parenting, attachment and abuse issues, gender constructs and socialization, and the resulting addiction, sexual issues, and self-loathing, are explored in "Childhood Trauma and the Non-Alpha Male". Dr. Carpenter's book offers healthy resolutions through self-acceptance and psychological health. With stories of experiences from actual Non-Alpha Male clients bringing the theoretical into reality, "Childhood Trauma and the Non-Alpha Male" helps offer healing through hope, clarity, healing, and change.
Call Number: BF692.5 .C377 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-15
Selected new print books, October 2019
Check OskiCat for other newly published books. You can suggest items that the Library should consider purchasing by using the Purchase Recommendation form.
Indecent Advances : a hidden history of true crime and prejudice before Stonewall by James Polchin"[A] fascinating new book on the treatment of gay men in true crime and crime fiction [that] reexamines the violence that people at the Stonewall Inn had faced every day, and the rage crackling up underneath . . . What makes Polchin's readings stand out is the way he pursues an underlying story across several seemingly separate crimes." --Alexander Chee,The New Republic Stories of murder have never been just about killers and victims. Instead, crime stories take the shape of their times and reflect cultural notions and prejudices. InIndecent Advances, James Polchin recovers and recounts queer stories from the crime pages--often lurid and euphemistic--that reveal the hidden history of violence against gay men. What was left unsaid in the crime pages provides insight into the figure of the queer man as both criminal and victim, offering readers tales of vice and violence that aligned gender and sexual deviance with tragic, gruesome endings. Victims were often reported as having made "indecent advances," forcing the accused's hands in self-defense and reducing murder charges to manslaughter. Published in time for the fiftieth anniversary of the Stonewall uprising on June 28, 1969,Indecent Advances investigates how queer men navigated a society that criminalized them and displayed little compassion for the violence they endured. Polchin shows, with masterful insight, how this discrimination was ultimately transformed by activists to help shape the burgeoning gay rights movement in the years leading up to Stonewall.
Call Number: HV6168 .P65 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-04
Legal Passing : navigating undocumented life and local immigration law by Angela S. GarcíaLegal Passing offers a nuanced look at how the lives of undocumented Mexicans in the US are constantly shaped by federal, state, and local immigration laws. Angela S. García compares restrictive and accommodating immigration measures in various cities and states to show that place-based inclusion and exclusion unfold in seemingly contradictory ways. Instead of fleeing restrictive localities, undocumented Mexicans react by presenting themselves as "legal," masking the stigma of illegality to avoid local police and federal immigration enforcement. Restrictive laws coerce assimilation, because as legal passing becomes habitual and embodied, immigrants distance themselves from their ethnic and cultural identities. In accommodating destinations, undocumented Mexicans experience a localized sense of stability and membership that is simultaneously undercut by the threat of federal immigration enforcement and complex street-level tensions with local police. Combining social theory on immigration and race as well as place and law, Legal Passing uncovers the everyday failures and long-term human consequences of contemporary immigration laws in the US.
Call Number: KF3743 .G37 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-14
Autobiography on the Spectrum : disrupting the autism narrative by Beth A. MyersAutobiography on the Spectrum challenges prevailing notions about autism by offering a critically unconventional perspective--the viewpoint of adolescents who are themselves on the spectrum. Examining a year-long inquiry, Myers highlights the autobiographical works of the students through writing, photography, poetry, art, and more. She argues that autistic youth are not being accurately depicted in current research, not because they are unable to represent their own experiences but because their experiences are not always valued. In contrast, this book explores how autistic youth can (and do) represent themselves and shows educators how to create a space for the voices of these students. Offering a deep look into a world that is rarely seen, Autobiography on the Spectrum is a critical resource for teacher preparation and professional learning in any field that interacts with individuals with autism or other disabilities. Book Features: Introduces alternative views of autism derived from first-person perspectives. Offers a critical disability focus that is accessible to classroom teachers. Describes how to support adolescents in building their own representations of their lives. Explains how deficit constructions marginalize individuals both in and out of school. Demonstrates that students with autism, when given opportunities and support, display capabilities that often go unnoticed.
Call Number: LC4717 .M94 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-17
Psychoanalytic Thinking on the Unhoused Mind by Gabrielle BrownPsychoanalytic Thinking on the Unhoused Mindilluminates the psychological underpinnings of current societal problems: homelessness, mental distress, loneliness and states of societal breakdown and exclusion. Illustrated with a broad range of clinical work as well as thoughts on art and literature, the book brings to life complex tensions between the individual psyche, the group, and wider political and cultural structures. 'Unhoused' states of mind are explored in rough sleepers, ex-prisoners, survivors of institutional abuse and family trauma, and people living with personality disorder, addiction, psychosis and dementia. Chapters describe outreach, assessment and long-term psychotherapy, as well as reflective practice with staff teams and care systems, and learning from consultation, supervision and policy development. New therapeutic responses to chronic risk and to resilience are developed from psychoanalytic understandings of difficulties with containment and care. The collection will be of value to psychotherapists and other mental health practitioners, as well as those working in therapeutic, residential and criminal justice settings and outreach services.
Call Number: HN13 .P79 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-07
Ethnicity and Old Age : expanding our imagination by Sandra TorresThis book proposes a new research agenda for scholarship that focuses on ethnicity, race, and old age. It argues that in a time of increased international migration, population aging and ethnic and cultural diversity, scholarly imaginations must be expanded. By bringing attention to the ways ethnicity and race have been addressed in research on aging and old age, the book proposes changes in research practices with a focus on health inequalities, health and social care, intergenerational relationships, and caregiving.
Call Number: HV1451 .T67 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-17
Unauthorized : portraits of Latino immigrants by Richelle S. SwanUnauthorized: Portraits of Latino Immigrants takes readers inside the diverse contemporary worlds of undocumented Latino immigrants in the United States, exploring the myths and realities of education, health care, work, deportation, and more. This book aims to dispel common misconceptions while introducing readers to real people behind the headlines. Chapters explore the myths and realities of topics including education, health care, work, deportation, and more. As immigration remains a controversial topic in the United States, this book aims to dispel common misconceptions about immigration while introducing readers to the real people behind the headlines. The topic of undocumented immigration has received tremendous attention--from the debate on immigration reform to the Executive Actions of President Obama to the growing numbers of unaccompanied minors from Central America and more. In addition, the Syrian refugee crisis and the anti-immigrant discourse of presidential candidate Donald Trump have enraged many observers and emboldened others. This book provides factual information to readers who are interested in learning more about these issues and the people who are labeled "illegal." Each chapter draws on both existing and original research to provide an accessible overview of key themes, and case studies bring issues to life.