It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
About new print books in the Social Research Collection
The Social Research Collection includes works that address social and individual problems from a variety of disciplines including psychology, education, social welfare, and public policy. While many of the works in the collection are shelved in the Social Research Library in Haviland Hall, some may be shelved in other campus libraries. The respective library will be noted in the catalog record.
Items not shelved in the Social Research Library may be paged from other libraries. Information on paging books is here.
The library receives many more books than are featured on this page. A complete list of new books in the collection received in the previous 90 days may be found here.
Selected new print books, November 2019
Racism Latinos and the Public Po by Henry FLORESRacism, Latinos, and the Public Policy Process traces the process by which race and racism are infused into the public policy process. This book provides a definition and short history of racism with a discussion of how individuals learn and absorb racial ideas and how these ideas become essential elements of the public policy process. Discussion of the three policy areas, gun control, immigration and voting rights, provide new insights into the relationship between decisional and individual belief structures and the decisional process.
Call Number: E184.S75 F565 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
Axiomatic by Maria TumarkinAPublishers Weekly Best Book of 2019 Winner of the Melbourne Prize for Literature's Best Writing Award Shortlisted for the Stella Prize "Tumarkin presents a remarkable tour de force . . . These essays will linger in readers' minds for years after."--Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Drawing on nine years of research,Axiomatic explores the ways we understand the traumas we inherit and the systems that sustain them. In five sections--each one built on an axiom about how the past affects the present--Tumarkin weaves together true and intimate stories of a community dealing with the extended aftermath of a suicide, a grandmother's quest to kidnap her grandson to keep him safe, one community lawyer's struggle inside and against the criminal justice system, a larger-than-life Holocaust survivor, and the historyof the author's longest friendship. With verve, wit, and critical dexterity, Tumarkin asks questions about loss, grief, and how our particular histories inform the people we become in the world.Axiomatic introduces an unforgettable voice.
Call Number: RJ506.P66 T86 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-03
Kinds Come First : age, gender, class, and ethnicity give meaning to measures by Jerome KaganAn argument that the meaning of a psychological or biological measure depends on the age, gender class, and ethnicity of the human subject. In Kinds Come First, the distinguished psychologist Jerome Kagan argues that--contrary to the common assumption--age, gender, social class, and ethnicity affect the outcomes of psychological measures, and he questions the popular practice that uses statistical procedures to remove the effects of these categories to confirm a favored predictor-outcome relation. The idea that psychological measures have meanings that transcend the kinds of subjects, Kagan writes, reflects a premature hope of discovering broadly generalizable conclusions. In Kinds Come First, Kagan hopes to persuade investigators otherwise. Kagan examines the unique properties of the four categories, making the case that life stage, gender, class, and ethnicity affect psychological measures in complex, nontrivial ways. He discusses the relevance of a person's developmental stage to many outcomes, focusing on the interval from five to twelve months, when working memory and the ability to relate the past to the present expands. He cites evidence suggesting that a person's gender, class of rearing, and ethnicity, within a particular society, are better predictors of health, arrest record, cognitive skills, and current life satisfaction than either their genomes or answers to a personality questionnaire. Finally, Kagan argues, the biological properties that are more common in one gender, class, or ethnic group, are not a defensible basis for restricting access to an educational program, vocation, or position of authority. A society can ignore such differences in order to honor an ethical imperative for equality without incurring serious costs.
Call Number: BF637.L53 K34 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
Stifled progress : international perspectives on social work and social policy in the era of right-wing populism by Jörg Fischer (Editor); Kerry Dunn (Editor)Social work as a democratically constituted profession committed to human rights is currently facing cross-border encroachments and attacks by right-wing populist movements and governments. With the Bundestag elections in September 2017, the question of the extent to which right-wing populist forces succeed in influencing the discourse with xenophobic and nationalist arguments arises in Germany, too. The authors examine how social work can respond effectively to nationalism, exclusion, de-solidarization and a basic skepticism about science and position itself against this background. The book explores different conditions in Germany, France, Poland, Russia and the US.
Call Number: HV41 .S75 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-15
Supporting Transgender and Non-Binary People with Disabilities or Illnesses by Jennie KermodeBy drawing on the experience of trans people who are affected by physical disability, chronic illness and mental illness, this book is the definitive guide on providing best practise in approaches to health and care policy. Suggesting solutions to areas where understanding and care provision is poor, Kermode gives advice on topics such as transitioning with a disability, sex-specific service provision and fertility and reproduction. The book also examines how health and care professionals can adapt to cater for transgender and non-binary people's needs and can support those who must use health services due to their condition. Written in an accessible and comprehensive manner, Supporting Transgender and Non-Binary People with Disabilities or Illnesses is an essential guide for practitioners in health and social care positions.
Call Number: RA564.9.T73 K47 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-21
Early Intervention in Psychiatric Disorders Across Cultures by Eric Y. H. Chen (Editor); Antonio Ventriglio (Editor); Dinesh Bhugra (Editor)Evidence indicates a correlation between early intervention and improved response in psychiatric disorders. Yet the majority of evidence is from high-income countries, and there is a lack of evidence and resources on the impact of early intervention across cultures and in low- and middle-income countries. Early Intervention in Psychiatric Disorders across Cultures aims to bridge this gap by focusing on the evidence and methods ofintervention in less affluent countries. It covers mood disorders, personality disorders, addictions, and other psychiatric conditions, whilst most research has focused on psychoses and bipolar disorder. Over 17chapters, this resource guides the reader through an array of approaches to early intervention, from brain imaging and available care pathways, to cultural and societal factors. Part of the Oxford Cultural Psychiatry series, this resource offers readers a picture of the current health care pathways available as well as social, cultural, and ethical considerations to apply in practice.
Call Number: RC454.4 .E27 2019
Publication Date: 2019-07-15
Selected new print books, November 2019
Grandparenting the Children of Addicted Parents : experiences and wisdom for kinship carers by Janet BujraIndigenous Peoples around the world and our allies often reflect on the many challenges that continue to confront us, the reasons behind health, economic, and social disparities, and the best ways forward to a healthy future. This book draws on theoretical, conceptual, and evidence-based scholarship as well as interviews with scholars immersed in Indigenous wellbeing, to examine contemporary issues for Native Americans. It includes reflections on resilience as well as disparities. In recent decades, there has been increasing attention on how trauma, both historical and contemporary, shapes the lives of Native Americans. Indigenous scholars urge recognition of historical trauma as a framework for understanding contemporary health and social disparities. Accordingly, this book uses a trauma-informed lens to examine Native American issues with the understanding that even when not specifically seeking to address trauma directly, it is useful to understand that trauma is a common experience that can shape many aspects of life. Scholarship on trauma and trauma-informed care is integrated with scholarship on historical trauma, providing a framework for examining contemporary issues for Native American populations. It should be considered essential reading for all human service professionals working with Native American clients, as well as a core text for Native American studies and classes on trauma or diversity more generally.
Call Number: HQ759.9 .G7249 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-21
See what you made me do : power, control and domestic abuse by Jess HillWomen are abused or killed by their partners at astonishing rates- in Australia, almost 17 per cent of women over the age of fifteen - one in six - have been abused by an intimate partner. In this confronting and deeply researched account, journalist Jess Hill uncovers the ways in which abusers exert control in the darkest - and most intimate - ways imaginable. She asks- What do we know about perpetrators? Why is it so hard to leave? What does successful intervention look like? What emerges is not only a searing investigation of the violence so many women experience, but a dissection of how that violence can be enabled and reinforced by the judicial system we trust to protect us. Combining exhaustive research with riveting storytelling, See What You Made Me Do dismantles the flawed logic of victim-blaming and challenges everything you thought you knew about domestic and family violence.
Call Number: HV6626.23.A8 H55 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Slavery's Descendants : shared legacies of race and reconciliation by Jill StraussRace remains a potent and divisive force in our society. Whether it is the shooting of minority people by the police, the mass incarceration of people of color, or the recent KKK rallies that have been in the news, it is clear that the scars from the United States' histories of slavery and racial discrimination run too deep to simply be ignored. But what are the most productive ways to deal with the toxic and torturous legacies of American racism? Slavery's Descendants brings together contributors from a variety of racial backgrounds, all members or associates of a national racial reconciliation organization called Coming to the Table, to tell their stories of dealing with America's racial past through their experiences and their family histories. Some are descendants of slaveholders, some are descendants of the enslaved, and many are descendants of both slaveholders and slaves. What they all have in common is a commitment toward collective introspection, and a willingness to think critically about how the nation's histories of oppression continue to ripple into the present, affecting us all. The stories in Slavery's Descendants deal with harrowing topics--rape, lynching, cruelty, shame--but they also describe acts of generosity, gratitude, and love. Together, they help us confront the legacy of slavery to reclaim a more complete picture of U.S. history, one cousin at a time. Funding for the production of this book was provided by Furthermore, a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund (https://www.furthermore.org).
Call Number: E185.625 .S58 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-10
Steeped in Blood : adoption, identity, and the definition of family by Frances J. LatchfordWhat personal truths reside in biological ties that are absent in adoptive ties? And why do we think adoptive and biological ties are essentially different when it comes to understanding who we are? At a time when interest in DNA and ancestry is exploding, Frances Latchford questions the idea that knowing one's bio-genealogy is integral to personal identity or a sense of family and belonging. Upending our established values and beliefs about what makes a family, Steeped in Blood examines the social and political devaluation of adoptive ties. It takes readers on an intellectual journey through accepted wisdom about adoption, twins, kinship, and incest, and challenges our naturalistic and individualistic assumptions about identity and the biological ties that bind us, sometimes violently, to our families. Latchford exposes how our desire for bio-genealogical knowledge, understood as it is by family and adoption experts, pathologizes adoptees by posing the biological tie as a necessary condition for normal identity formation. Rejecting the idea that a love of the self-same is fundamental to family bonds, her book is a reaction to the wounds families suffer whenever they dare to revel in their difference. A rejoinder to rhetoric that defines adoptees, adoptive kin, and their family intimacies as inferior and inauthentic, Steeped in Blood's view through the lens of critical adoption studies decentres our cultural obsession with the biological family imaginary and makes real the possibility of being family in the absence of blood.
Call Number: HV875 .L38 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-15
The End of International Adoption? : an unraveling reproductive market and the politics of healthy babies by Estye FentonSince 2004, the number of international adoptions in the United States has declined by more than seventy percent. In The End of International Adoption? Estye Fenton studies parents in the United States who adopted internationally in the past decade during this shift. She investigates the experiences of a cohort of adoptive mothers who were forced to negotiate their desire to be parents in the context of a growing societal awareness of international adoption as a flawed reproductive marketplace. Many parents, activists, and scholars have questioned whether the inequality inherent in international adoption renders the entire system suspect. In the face of such concerns, international adoption has not only become more difficult, but also more politically and ethically fraught. The mothers interviewed for this book found themselves navigating contemporary American family life in an unexpected way, caught between the double-bind of work-family life and a new paradigm of thinking about the method--international adoption--that they used to create those families.
Call Number: HV875.55 .F4625 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-28
How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. KendiNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the National Book Award-winning author of Stamped from the Beginning comes a "groundbreaking" (Time) approach to understanding and uprooting racism and inequality in our society--and in ourselves. "The most courageous book to date on the problem of race in the Western mind."--The New York Times NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review * Time * The Washington Post * The Dallas Morning News * Library Journal * Publishers Weekly Antiracism is a transformative concept that reorients and reenergizes the conversation about racism--and, even more fundamentally, points us toward liberating new ways of thinking about ourselves and each other. At it's core, racism is a powerful system that creates false hierarchies of human value; its warped logic extends beyond race, from the way we regard people of different ethnicities or skin colors to the way we treat people of different sexes, gender identities, and body types. Racism intersects with class and culture and geography and even changes the way we see and value ourselves. In How to Be an Antiracist, Kendi takes readers through a widening circle of antiracist ideas--from the most basic concepts to visionary possibilites--that will help readers see all forms of racism clearly, understand their posionous consequences, and work to oppose them in our systems and in ourselves. Kendi weaves an electrifying combination of ethics, history, law, and science with his own personal story of awakening to antiracism. This is an essential work for anyone who wants to go beyond the awareness of racism to the next step: contributing to the formation of a just and equitable society. Praise for How to Be an Antiracist "Ibram X. Kendi's new book, How to Be an Antiracist, couldn't come at a better time. . . . Kendi has gifted us with a book that is not only an essential instruction manual but also a memoir of the author's own path from anti-black racism to anti-white racism and, finally, to antiracism. . . . How to Be an Antiracist gives us a clear and compelling way to approach, as Kendi puts it in his introduction, 'the basic struggle we're all in, the struggle to be fully human and to see that others are fully human.' "--NPR "Kendi dissects why in a society where so few people consider themselves to be racist the divisions and inequalities of racism remain so prevalent. How to Be an Antiracist punctures the myths of a post-racial America, examining what racism really is--and what we should do about it."--Time
Call Number: E184.A1 K344 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Selected new print books, November 2019
Check OskiCat for other newly published books. You can suggest items that the Library should consider purchasing by using the Purchase Recommendation form.
The Indian Child Welfare Act Handbook : a legal guide to the custody and adoption of Native American children by Kelly Gaines-Stoner; Mark C. Tilden; Jack F. TropeNow fully revised and updated, The Indian Child Welfare Act Handbook is a one-of-a-kind guide to the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978. The ICWA was enacted to ameliorate the problem of the massive removal of Native American children from their homes by both state welfare agencies and private agencies and to ensure that those children, once removed, would be placed in homes that reflect their cultures and traditions. This guide examines case law from courts around the country -- it is an issue not confined to reservations and their border towns. There have been many legal changes since publication of the Second Edition, including what is arguably the most important development since ICWA was enacted 40 years ago. In 2016, the Department of the Interior issued ICWA regulations, the first time that regulations were issued pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act. This updated edition incorporates the provisions of those regulations and their impact on the various procedural and substantive requirements of the ICWA. The Indian Child Welfare Act Handbook continues to provide a comprehensive source to assist lawyers, social workers, counselors, and others whose professions and interests involve them with Native American children. Offering much-needed practical guidance, topics covered in this Third Edition includes: - The history and foundation of ICWA- How the act is applied and what provisions are covered- Jurisdictional provisions- Procedural requirements- Placement provisions- Collateral challenges to ICWA determinations- Funding of ICWA programs, and moreAppendices include implementation guidelines, state codes and court rules addressing Indian child welfare, a listing of Indian entities recognized and eligible to receive services from the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, and sample forms, which are also available as an online resource.
Call Number: KF8260.A328 1978 J66 2018
Publication Date: 2019-08-07
Permanent Record by Edward SnowdenNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Edward Snowden, the man who risked everything to expose the US government's system of mass surveillance, reveals for the first time the story of his life, including how he helped to build that system and what motivated him to try to bring it down. In 2013, twenty-nine-year-old Edward Snowden shocked the world when he broke with the American intelligence establishment and revealed that the United States government was secretly pursuing the means to collect every single phone call, text message, and email. The result would be an unprecedented system of mass surveillance with the ability to pry into the private lives of every person on earth. Six years later, Snowden reveals for the very first time how he helped to build this system and why he was moved to expose it. Spanning the bucolic Beltway suburbs of his childhood and the clandestine CIA and NSA postings of his adulthood, Permanent Record is the extraordinary account of a bright young man who grew up online--a man who became a spy, a whistleblower, and, in exile, the Internet's conscience. Written with wit, grace, passion, and an unflinching candor, Permanent Record is a crucial memoir of our digital age and destined to be a classic.
Call Number: JF1525.W45 S655 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-17
Same As It Never Was : notes on a teacher's return to the classroom by Gregory MichieAfter a decade as an education professor, Greg Michie decided to return to his teaching roots. He went back to the same Chicago neighborhood, the same public school, and the same grade level and subject he taught in the 1990s. But much had changed--both in schools and in the world outside them. Same As It Never Was chronicles Michie's efforts to navigate the new realities of public schooling while also trying to rediscover himself as a teacher. Against a backdrop of teacher strikes and anti-testing protests, the movement for Black lives and the deepening of anti-immigrant sentiment, this book invites readers into an award-winning teacher's classroom as he struggles to teach toward equity and justice in a time where both are elusive for too many children in our nation's schools. Book Features: A follow-up to the author's bestseller, Holler If You Hear Me, a long-time staple in teacher education programs. An examination of current issues, such as the importance of teacher unions, anti-racist/culturally relevant teaching, resistance to standardized testing, teacher evaluation, and the political nature of teaching. A rare memoir of a professor returning to public school teaching that will inform and inspire a broad audience.
Call Number: LC4093.C49 M533 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-16
Social Work with Refugees, Asylum Seekers and Migrants : theory and skills for practice by Rachel LarkinMass-migration, conflict and poverty are now persistent features of our globalised world. This reference book for social workers and service providers offers constructive ideas for practice within an inter-disciplinary framework. Each chapter speaks to a skill and knowledge area that is key to this work, bringing together myriad voices from across disciplines, interspersed with the vital perspectives of asylum seekers, refugees and migrants themselves. The book discusses the specific challenges faced when working in the community, and where people have suffered torture, in the context of social work practiced from an ethical value-base. Staying up to date with the latest developments in policy; and addressing key specific skills needed to work with people affected by borders, this book is a valuable resource for both practitioners and students.
Call Number: HV4005 .S63 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-21
Where to from Here? : examining conflict-related and relational interaction trauma by Elspeth McInnes (Editor); Anka Mason (Editor)This work provides an inter-disciplinary exploration of the aftermath of trauma arising from social conflict and the wounds dealt through interpersonal relations of loss, abuse and torture. Contributing authors examine how individuals and societies come to terms with traumatic injuries and disruption. Disciplinary perspectives cross the boundaries of textual analysis, sociology and psychology to offer pathways of perception and recovery. From the conflicts in Rwanda and Lebanon to the ethical challenges of journalism and trauma, loss and dementia, domestic violence and child sexual abuse, as well as the contributions of literary texts to rendering conflict, this volume enables readers to find their own resonance with the rupture and recovery of trauma. Contributors are Kim M. Anderson, Lyn Barnes, Catherine Ann Collins, Fran S. Danis, Stefanie Dinkelbach, Lyda Eleftheriou, Kirsten Havig, Anka D. Mason, Elspeth McInnes, Joan Simalchik, Stephanie Tam and Rana Tayara.
Call Number: BF175.5.P75 W44 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-09
Normal sucks : how to live, learn, and thrive outside the lines by Jonathan MooneyJonathan Mooney blends anecdote, expertise, and memoir to present a new mode of thinking about how we live and learn--individually, uniquely, and with advantages and upshots to every type of brain and body. As a neuro-diverse kid diagnosed with dyslexia and ADHD who didn't learn to read until he was twelve, the realization that that he wasn't the problem--the system and the concept of normal were--saved Mooney's life and fundamentally changed his outlook. Here he explores the toll that being not normal takes on kids and adults when they're trapped in environments that label them, shame them, and tell them, even in subtle ways, that they are the problem. But, he argues, if we can reorient the ways in which we think about diversity, abilities, and disabilities, we can start a revolution.A highly sought after public speaker, Mooney has been inspiring audiences with his story and his message for nearly two decades. Now he's ready to share what he's learned from parents, educators, researchers, and kids in a book that is as much a survival guide as it is a call to action. Whip-smart, insightful, and utterly inspiring--and movingly framed as a letter to his own young sons, as they work to find their ways in the world--this book will upend what we call normal and empower us all.