It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
About new print books in the Social Research Collection
The Social Research Collection includes works that address social and individual problems from a variety of disciplines including psychology, education, social welfare, and public policy. While many of the works in the collection are shelved in the Social Research Library in Haviland Hall, some may be shelved in other campus libraries. The respective library will be noted in the catalog record.
Items not shelved in the Social Research Library may be paged from other libraries. Information on paging books is here.
The library receives many more books than are featured on this page. A complete list of new books in the collection received in the previous 90 days may be found here.
Selected new print books, March 2020
Finding Meaning : the sixth stage of grief by David KesslerIn this groundbreaking new work, David Kessler--an expert on grief and the coauthor with Elisabeth Kübler-Ross of the iconic On Grief and Grieving--journeys beyond the classic five stages to discover a sixth stage: meaning. In 1969, Elisabeth Kübler Ross first identified the stages of dying in her transformative book On Death and Dying. Decades later, she and David Kessler wrote the classic On Grief and Grieving, introducing the stages of grief with the same transformative pragmatism and compassion. Now, based on hard-earned personal experiences, as well as knowledge and wisdom earned through decades of work with the grieving, Kessler introduces a critical sixth stage. Many people look for "closure" after a loss. Kessler argues that it's finding meaning beyond the stages of grief most of us are familiar with--denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance--that can transform grief into a more peaceful and hopeful experience. In this book, Kessler gives readers a roadmap to remembering those who have died with more love than pain; he shows us how to move forward in a way that honors our loved ones. Kessler's insight is both professional and intensely personal. His journey with grief began when, as a child, he witnessed a mass shooting at the same time his mother was dying. For most of his life, Kessler taught physicians, nurses, counselors, police, and first responders about end of life, trauma, and grief, as well as leading talks and retreats for those experiencing grief. Despite his knowledge, his life was upended by the sudden death of his twenty-one-year-old son. How does the grief expert handle such a tragic loss? He knew he had to find a way through this unexpected, devastating loss, a way that would honor his son. That, ultimately, was the sixth state of grief--meaning. In Finding Meaning, Kessler shares the insights, collective wisdom, and powerful tools that will help those experiencing loss. Finding Meaning is a necessary addition to grief literature and a vital guide to healing from tremendous loss. This is an inspiring, deeply intelligent must-read for anyone looking to journey away from suffering, through loss, and towards meaning.
Call Number: BF789.D4 K46 2019
Publication Date: 2019-11-05
Franchise : the golden arches in Black America by Marcia ChatelainFrom civil rights to Ferguson, Franchise reveals the untold history of how fast food became one of the greatest generators of black wealth in America. An estimated one-third of all American adults eats something from at a fast-food restaurant every day. Millions start their mornings with paper-wrapped English muffin breakfast sandwiches, order burritos hastily secured in foil for lunch, and end their evenings with extravalue dinners consumed in cars. But while people of all ages and backgrounds enjoy and depend on fast food, it does not mean the same thing to each of us. For African Americans, as acclaimed historian Marcia Chatelain reveals in Franchise, fast food is a source of both despair and power--and a battlefield on which the fight for racial justice has been waged since the 1960s. On the one hand, we rightly blame fast food for the rising rates of obesity and diabetes among black Americans, and fast food restaurants are viewed as symbols of capitalism's disastrous effects on our nation's most vulnerable citizens. Yet at the same time, Chatelain shows, fast food companies, and McDonald's in particular, have represented a source of economic opportunity and political power. After Martin Luther King, Jr.'s assassination in 1968, many activists turned to entrepreneurship as the means to achieving equality. Civil rights leaders, fast food companies, black capitalists, celebrities, and federal bureaucrats began an unlikely collaboration, in the belief that the franchising of fast food restaurants, by black citizens in their own neighborhoods, could improve the quality of black life. Equipped with federal loans and utterly committed to the urban centers in which they would open their little sites of hope, black franchise pioneers achieved remarkable success, and by the late 2000s, black-franchised McDonald's restaurants reported total sales exceeding $2 billion. Fast food represented an opportunity for strivers who had been shut out of many industries, denied promotions in those that would tolerate them, and discouraged, in numerous ways, from starting their own businesses, all because of the color of their skin. But a parallel story emerged, too--of wealth being extracted from black communities, of the ravages of fast food diets, of minumum wage jobs with little prospect for advancement. Taking us from the first McDonald's drive-in in San Bernardino in the 1940s to civil rights protests at franchises in the American South in the 1960s and the McDonald's on Florissant Avenue in Ferguson in the summer 2014, Chatelain charts how the fight for racial justice is intertwined with the fate of black businesses. Deeply researched and brilliantly told, Franchise is an essential story of race and capitalism in America.
Call Number: TX945.3 .C46 2020
Publication Date: 2020-01-07
Understanding Therapy : how different approaches solve real-world problems by Rudy NydeggerThis accessibly written book explores many types of psychotherapy, discussing the history, tenets, advantages, and shortcomings of each. It also compares and contrasts how different approaches address real-world mental health concerns. Therapy and counseling have proved beneficial for tens of millions of Americans, whether to address a serious mental illness or for more everyday issues such as troubled relationships, stress, or grief. Studies suggest that approximately 80 percent of people who receive therapy find it beneficial. A number of effective schools of psychotherapy are available today, each with its own approach, strengths, and weaknesses. Understanding Therapy: How Different Approaches Solve Real-World Problems explores different forms of psychotherapy using clear, non-technical language and a reader-friendly format. Part I provides important foundational information, including the historical development of psychotherapy, common misconceptions, and types of therapists. Each chapter in Part II profiles a different group of therapies, highlighting each one's history, key founders and proponents, tenets, and potential advantages and disadvantages. Part III features a series of real-world situations for which someone might seek therapy and illustrates how several different forms of therapy would address the problem. Readers will be able to compare and contrast these methods, learning how different types of therapy tackle the same issue in varying ways. * Offers a broad, holistic introduction to the topic, touching upon both theoretical and practical aspects of therapy and counseling * Features illuminating case studies that provide real-world examples of how different forms of therapy approach common mental health complaints * Allows readers to compare and contrast different types of therapy, bolstering critical thinking skills and helping readers determine which forms might work best for them * Includes a helpful Directory of Resources with books, articles, and websites for readers who want to learn more
Call Number: RC475 .N93 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-21
Healing the Soul Wound : trauma-informed counseling for indigenous communities by Eduardo DuranIn this groundbreaking book, Eduardo Duran--a psychologist working in Indian country--draws on his own clinical experience to provide guidance to counselors working with Native Peoples and other vulnerable populations. This second edition includes an important new chapter devoted to working with veterans, examining what it means to go to war and what is required for veterans to heal. Duran also updates his thinking on research, including suggestions on how to invent a new liberation research methodology through applied story science. Translating theory into day-to-day practice, the text presents case materials that illustrate effective intervention strategies for prevalent problems, including substance abuse, intergenerational trauma, and internalized oppression. This unique resource explores theoretical Indigenous understanding of cosmology and how understanding natural law can lead us to new ways of understanding and healing the psyche. Book Features: Offers a culture-specific approach that has profound implications for all counseling, therapy, and trauma-informed care. Provides invaluable concepts and strategies that can be applied directly to practice. Outlines very different ways of serving American Indian clients, translating Western metaphor into Indigenous ideas that make sense to Native People. Presents a model in which patients have a relationship with the problems they are having, whether these are physical, mental, or spiritual. This model can be used with any population dealing with the legacy of trauma and with all individuals who present symptoms and complications resulting from trauma. Includes a section in each chapter to help non-American Indian counselors generalize the concepts presented to use in their own practice in culturally sensitive ways.
Call Number: RA448.5.I5 D87 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-25
The Brave Educator : honest conversations about navigating race in the classroom by Krystle CobranThe Brave Educator equips you with accessible and refreshingly useful tools for real conversations about race that prepare students for the world beyond the school walls. More than a toolkit, this book is a personal conversation exploring the journey from being stuck in the belief that we should already know how to lead conversations about race to learning how to actually have the conversation. It's companionship for educators, leaders, and teachers facing overwhelming daily responsibilities and searching for open-hearted support. Inside you'll find a flexible road map to help carve a path through difficult conversations in your classroom, plus question prompts, resource lists, and crucial tips to help you avoid common pitfalls. The grounded perspective and real-world examples in these pages will help you feel less alone as you move from tentative to prepared.
Call Number: LC1099 .C635 2020
Publication Date: 2019-08-15
Japanese American Millennials : rethinking generation, community, and diversity by Michael Omi; Dana Y. Nakano; Jeffrey YamashitaWhereas most scholarship on Japanese Americans looks at historical case studies or the 1.5 generation assimilating, this pioneering anthology, Japanese American Millennials, captures theexperiences, perspectives, and aspirations of Asian Americans born between 1980 and 2000. The editors and contributors present multiple perspectives on who Japanese Americans are, how they think about notions of community and culture, and how they engage and negotiate multiple social identities.The essays by scholars both in the United States and Japan draw upon the Japanese American millennial experience to examine how they find self-expression in Youth Basketball Leagues or Christian youth camps as well as how they grapple with being mixed-race, bicultural, or queer. Featuring compelling interviews and observations, Japanese American Millennials dislodges the dominant generational framework toaddress absences in the current literature and suggests how we might alternatively study Japanese Americans as a whole.
Call Number: E184.J3 J3385 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-25
Selected new print books, March 2020
Black Girls Experiencing Their Intersectional Identities in School : a her-story by Crystal L. EdwardsBlack Girls Experiencing Their Intersectional Identities in School explores the subjective experience of Black girls within the educational context. Based on interviews, diary entries, and focus groups, the author argues that as a result of their intersectional identities, Black girls experience unique challenges and obstacles in the educational setting. Addressing topics ranging from interpersonal relationships, social media, beauty, sexuality, hypervisibility/invisibility, and microaggressions, this book highlights the voices and experiences of Black girls between the ages of 11 and 15. The Girls provide a narrative account of the challenges they face daily in the educational context, describing in detail, the factors that maintain and perpetuate volatile conditions. Additionally, this book explores the coping strategies that this group of Black girls developed to resist and respond to the daily obstacles. Ultimately, this book not only identifies the unique struggles faced by Black girls in schools as a result of their intersectional identities; but most importantly, this work explores pragmatic strategies that can be implemented to create safe and beneficial spaces for Black Girls. The author argues that through the implementation of Black Feminist Pedagogy, an "Ethic of Caring," and partnerships with Black Girl Empowerment organizations, educational practitioners can mediate the negative experiences and create spaces for growth.
Call Number: LC2731 .E39 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-17
Ableist Rhetoric : how we know, value, and see disability by James L. CherneyAbleism, a form of discrimination that elevates "able" bodies over those perceived as less capable, remains one of the most widespread areas of systematic and explicit discrimination in Western culture. Yet in contrast to the substantial body of scholarly work on racism, sexism, classism, and heterosexism, ableism remains undertheorized and underexposed. In this book, James L. Cherney takes a rhetorical approach to the study of ableism to reveal how it has worked its way into our everyday understanding of disability. Ableist Rhetoric argues that ableism is learned and transmitted through the ways we speak about those with disabilities. Through a series of textual case studies, Cherney identifies three rhetorical norms that help illustrate the widespread influence of ableist ideas in society. He explores the notion that "deviance is evil" by analyzing the possession narratives of Cotton Mather and the modern horror touchstone The Exorcist. He then considers whether "normal is natural" in Aristotle's Generation of Animals and in the cultural debate over cochlear implants. Finally, he shows how the norm "body is able" operates in Alexander Graham Bell's writings on eugenics and in the legal cases brought by disabled athletes Casey Martin and Oscar Pistorius. These three simple equivalencies play complex roles within the social institutions of religion, medicine, law, and sport. Cherney concludes by calling for a rhetorical model of disability, which, he argues, will provide a shift in orientation to challenge ableism's epistemic, ideological, and visual components. Accessible and compelling, this groundbreaking book will appeal to scholars of both rhetoric and disability studies, as well as to disability rights advocates.
Call Number: HV1568 .C47 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-22
Building Walls : excluding Latin people in the United States by Ernesto CastañedaThe election of Donald Trump has called attention to the border wall and anti-Mexican discourses and policies, yet these issues are not new. Building Walls puts the recent calls to build a border wall along the US-Mexico border into a larger social and historical context. This book describes the building of walls, symbolic and physical, between Americans and Mexicans, as well as the consequences that these walls have in the lives of immigrants and Latin communities in the United States. The book is divided into three parts: categorical thinking, anti-immigrant speech, and immigration as an experience. The sections discuss how the idea of the nation-state itself constructs borders, how political strategy and racist ideologies reinforce the idea of irreconcilable differences between whites and Latinos, and how immigrants and their families overcome their struggles to continue living in America. They analyze historical precedents, normative frameworks, divisive discourses, and contemporary daily interactions between whites and Latin individuals. It discusses the debates on how to name people of Latin American origin and the framing of immigrants as a threat and contrasts them to the experiences of migrants and border residents. Building Walls makes a theoretical contribution by showing how different dimensions work together to create durable inequalities between U.S. native whites, Latinos, and newcomers. It provides a sophisticated analysis and empirical description of racializing and exclusionary processes.
Call Number: JV6456 .C37 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-15
Words No Bars Can Hold : literacy learning in prison by Deborah ApplemanIncarcerated bodies, liberated minds: a narrative of literacy education behind bars. Words No Bars Can Hold provides a rare glimpse into literacy learning under the most dehumanizing conditions. Deborah Appleman chronicles her work teaching college- level classes at a high- security prison for men, most of whom are serving life sentences. Through narrative, poetry, memoir, and fiction, the students in Appleman's classes attempt to write themselves back into a society that has erased their lived histories. The students' work, through which they probe and develop their identities as readers and writers, illuminates the transformative power of literacy. Appleman argues for the importance of educating the incarcerated, and explores ways to interrupt the increasingly common journey from urban schools to our nation's prisons. From the sobering endpoint of what scholars have called the "school to prison pipeline," she draws insight from the narratives and experiences of those who have traveled it.
Call Number: HV8883.3.U5 A66 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Undocumented : portraits of Latino immigrants by Richelle S. SwanUnauthorized: Portraits of Latino Immigrants takes readers inside the diverse contemporary worlds of undocumented Latino immigrants in the United States, exploring the myths and realities of education, health care, work, deportation, and more. This book aims to dispel common misconceptions while introducing readers to real people behind the headlines. Chapters explore the myths and realities of topics including education, health care, work, deportation, and more. As immigration remains a controversial topic in the United States, this book aims to dispel common misconceptions about immigration while introducing readers to the real people behind the headlines. The topic of undocumented immigration has received tremendous attention--from the debate on immigration reform to the Executive Actions of President Obama to the growing numbers of unaccompanied minors from Central America and more. In addition, the Syrian refugee crisis and the anti-immigrant discourse of presidential candidate Donald Trump have enraged many observers and emboldened others. This book provides factual information to readers who are interested in learning more about these issues and the people who are labeled "illegal." Each chapter draws on both existing and original research to provide an accessible overview of key themes, and case studies bring issues to life.
Call Number: E184.S75 C527 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-21
How We Desire by Carolin Emcke; Imogen TaylorHow We Desire is an enthralling essay about gender, sexuality and love by one of Germany's most admired writers. It's about growing up, and discovering the contours of desire and difference, about understanding that we sometimes 'slip into norms the way we slip into clothes, putting them on because they're laid out ready for us.' In telling her own story, Emcke draws back the veil on how we experience desire, no matter what our sexual orientation. And she examines how prejudice against homosexuality has survived its decriminalisation in the west. This marvellous book pays homage to the radical magic and liberating tenderness of desire itself.
Call Number: HQ21 .E4313 2018
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Selected new print books, March 2020
Check OskiCat for other newly published books. You can suggest items that the Library should consider purchasing by using the Purchase Recommendation form.
LGBTQ Mental Health : international perspectives and experiences by Nadine Nakamura; Carmen H. LogieLGBTQ Mental Health: International Perspectives and Experiences expands our understanding of mental health by considering the unique challenges faced by LGBTQ communities in the Majority World. Increased globalization and migration has highlighted the need for mental health clinicians to better understand these communities' experiences and needs. This book provides an overview of LGBTQ mental health in non-Western countries or regions that have heretofore received little attention in the psychology literature. Chapters focus on the cultural, social, legal, political, and psychological experiences of various LGBTQ subpopulations in Peru, Colombia, Ecuador, Jamaica, Russia, Mongolia, India, Malaysia, Thailand, and sub-Saharan Africa. Contributors summarize existing research on mental health outcomes for LGBTQ individuals in these countries or regions; offer key insights that challenge culturally-specific conceptions of normative, LGBTQ mental health and behavior; and offer recommendations for further research and mental health practice with these populations.
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 L485 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-08
Eliminating Race-Based Mental Health Disparities : promoting equity and culturally responsive care across settings by Monnica T. Williams; Daniel C. Rosen; Jonathan W. KanterEliminating Race-Based Mental Health Disparities offers concrete guidelines and evidence-based best practices for addressing racial inequities and biases in clinical care. Perhaps there is no subject more challenging than the intricacies of race and racism in American culture. More and more, it has become clear that simply teaching facts about cultural differences between racial and ethnic groups is not adequate to achieve cultural competence in clinical care. One must also consider less "visible" constructs--including implicit bias, stereotypes, white privilege, intersectionality, and microaggressions--as potent drivers of behaviors and attitudes. In this edited volume, three leading experts in race, mental health, and contextual behavior science explore the urgent problem of racial inequities and biases, which often prevent people of color from seeking mental health services--leading to poor outcomes if and when they do receive treatment. In this much-needed resource, you'll find evidence-based recommendations for addressing problems at multiple levels, and best practices for compassionately and effectively helping clientsacross a range of cultural groups and settings. As more and more people gain access to services that have historically been unavailable to them, guidelines for cultural competence in clinical care are needed.Eliminating Race-Based Mental Health Disparities offers a comprehensive road map to help you address racial health disparities and improve treatment outcomes in your practice.
Call Number: RC451.5.N4 E45 2019
Publication Date: 2019-11-01
Getting By : economic rights and legal protections for people with low income by Helen Hershkoff; Stephen LoffredoGetting By offers an integrated, critical account of the federal laws and programs that most directly affect poor and low-income people in the United States-the unemployed, the underemployed, and the low-wage employed, whether working in or outside the home. The central aim is to provide a resource for individuals and groups trying to access benefits, secure rights and protections, and mobilize for economic justice. The topics covered include cash assistance, employment and labor rights, food assistance, health care, education, consumer and banking law, housing assistance, rights in public places, access to justice, and voting rights. This comprehensive volume is appropriate for law school and undergraduate courses, and is a vital resource for policy makers, journalists, and others interested in social welfare policy in the United States.
Call Number: KF3720 .H47 2020
Publication Date: 2019-11-26
Latinao Communication Studies : theories, methods, and practice by Leandra Hinojosa HernándezLatina/o/x Communication Studies: Theories, Methods, and Practice spotlights contemporary Latina/o/x Communication Studies research in various theoretical, methodological, and academic contexts. Leandra H. Hern ndez, Diana I. Bowen, Sara De Los Santos Upton, and Amanda R. Martinez have assembled a collection of case studies that focus on health, media, rhetoric, identity, organizations, the environment, and academia. Contributors expand upon previous Latina/o/x Communication Studies scholarship by examining identity and academic experiences in our current political climate; the role of language, identity, and Latinidades in health and media contexts; and the role of social activism in rhetorical, environmental, organizational, and border studies contexts. Scholars of communication, Latin American Studies, rhetoric, and sociology will find this book particularly useful.
Call Number: E184.S75 L38 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-16
Mental health among African Americans : innovations in research and practice by Erlanger A. TURNERIn Mental Health among African Americans: Innovations in Research and Practice, Erlanger A. Turner presents a new theoretical framework for understanding mental health disparities that emphasizes the need for culturally sensitive clinical practices and integration of Afrocentric values in order to address the lower rates of African Americans seeking treatment in the United States. Turner traces this reluctance to the unethical scientific research practices that characterized experiments in recent history, like the well-known Tuskegee Syphilis study, and stresses the need for providers to address race-related stress.
Call Number: RC451.5.N4 T87 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-25
Emergent Strategy : shaping change, changing worlds by Adrienne Maree BrownEmergence is the way complex systems and patterns arise out of a multiplicity of relatively simple interactions. In the framework of emergence, the whole is a mirror of the parts. Existence is fractal - the health of the cell is the health of the species and the planet. Change is constant. This book is about how we can shape the changes we experience to match our intentions using strategic methods that are as adaptive, resilient decentralised, and interdependent as the patterns of flocking birds or differentiating cells. A secular spirituality based equally on science and science fiction.