It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
About new print books in the Social Research Collection
The Social Research Collection includes works that address social and individual problems from a variety of disciplines including psychology, education, social welfare, and public policy. While many of the works in the collection are shelved in the Social Research Library in Haviland Hall, some may be shelved in other campus libraries. The respective library will be noted in the catalog record.
The library receives many more books than are featured on this page. A complete list of new books in the collection received in the previous 90 days may be found here.
You can request these books and others during COVID-19 through the library's Oski Xpress service.
Selected new print books, February 2021
Medicalisation of Everyday Life : a critical perspective by Barbara FawcettThis is timely new book examines the generally accepted understanding of the theory and practice of mental health. Drawing on historical and contemporary practices, it critically explores the concept of mental illness and how it is treated, the integration of health and social care, and providing a person-centred approach. As well as tackling more general aspects, such as how we categorise mental health and the contemporary practice around medication and treatment alternatives, it also focusses on specific areas currently labelled 'mental illness', including depression, anxiety, ADHD (attention deficit hyperactivity disorder), and PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder). Final chapters address the evidence for the effectiveness of psychopharmacology and the place of placebos in research and treatment, the importance of cultural sensitivity in a globalised world and the possibilities for the future practice in mental health services. The importance of non-medical alternative therapies and the incorporation of consumer perspectives in mental health service practice are highlighted throughout as a means of strengthening the experience of mental health service delivery for mental health professionals and consumers. Whether a student on a mental health nursing course, a social work student focussing on mental health, or a practitioner in the medical and allied health professions, this book is essential reading for anyone who wants a greater understanding of the theory and practice of mental health.
Call Number: RA790.5 .F39 2020
Publication Date: 2020-02-15
Subtle Acts of Exclusion : how to understand, identify, and stop microaggressions by Tiffany JanaThe first practical handbook that helps individuals and organizations recognize and prevent microaggressions so that all employees can feel a sense of belonging. Our workplaces and society are growing more diverse, but are we supporting inclusive cultures? While overt racism, sexism, ableism, and other forms of discrimination are relatively easy to spot, we cannot neglect the subtler everyday actions that normalize exclusion. Many have heard the term microaggression, but not everyone fully understands what they are or how to recognize them and stop them from happening. Tiffany Jana and Michael Baran offer a clearer, more accessible term, subtle acts of exclusion, or SAEs, to emphasize the purpose and effects of these actions. After all, people generally aren't trying to be aggressive--usually they're trying to say something nice, learn more about a person, be funny, or build closeness. But whether in the form of exaggerated stereotypes, backhanded compliments, unfounded assumptions, or objectification, SAE are damaging to our coworkers, friends, and acquaintances. Jana and Baran give simple and clear tools to identify and address such acts, offering scripts and action plans for everybody involved. Knowing how to have these conversations in an open-minded, honest way will help us build trust and create stronger workplaces and healthier, happier people and communities.
Call Number: BF575.P9 J354 2020
Publication Date: 2020-03-10
Culturally Alert Counseling : a comprehensive introduction by Garrett J. McAuliffeCulturally Alert Counseling: A Comprehensive Introduction is a reader-friendly introduction to the cultural dimensions of counseling and psychotherapy. Editor Garrett McAuliffe, along with international experts in their fields, provides an accessible presentation of culturally alert counseling techniques that broadens the discussion of culture from ethnicity and race to include social class, religion, gender, and sexual orientation. Culture is defined broadly in the text, which features a mindful exploration of seven ethnic groupings, inclusive of all people within dominant and non-dominant cultural groups. The extensively revised Third Edition includes two new chapters on counseling immigrants and refugees and counseling military populations, exposing students to complex cultural developments. With the help of this text, readers will leave informed and ready to begin practice equipped with both a vision of the work and practical skills for effectively implementing it.
Call Number: BF636.7.C76 C853 2020
Publication Date: 2019-12-24
Community Psychology : in pursuit of liberation and well-being by Manuel RiemerThis visionary textbook is the third edition of a trusted and highly respected introduction to community psychology. The editors have focused on three contemporary social issues in order to illustrate key concepts throughout the book: climate change, affordable housing and homelessness, and immigration. Featuring a wide range of critical perspectives from international scholars and practitioners, Community Psychology encourages students to consider theories and methodologies in light of how they might be applied to different cultures and settings. It develops students' ability to think critically about the role of psychology in society, and about how the work of community psychologists can aid in the liberation of oppressed groups, promoting social justice and flourishing both for people and for our planet. This book is essential reading for students taking both undergraduate and graduate courses in Community Psychology and its related fields.
Call Number: RA790.55 .R54 2020
Publication Date: 2020-03-28
The Upswing : how America came together a century ago and how we can do it again by Robert D. PutnamFrom the author of Bowling Alone and Our Kids, a "sweeping yet remarkably accessible" (The Wall Street Journal) analysis that "offers superb, often counterintuitive insights" (The New York Times) to demonstrate how we have gone from an individualistic "I" society to a more communitarian "We" society and then back again, and how we can learn from that experience to become a stronger, more unified nation. Deep and accelerating inequality; unprecedented political polarization; vitriolic public discourse; a fraying social fabric; public and private narcissism--Americans today seem to agree on only one thing: This is the worst of times. But we've been here before. During the Gilded Age of the late 1800s, America was highly individualistic, starkly unequal, fiercely polarized, and deeply fragmented, just as it is today. However as the twentieth century opened, America became--slowly, unevenly, but steadily--more egalitarian, more cooperative, more generous; a society on the upswing, more focused on our responsibilities to one another and less focused on our narrower self-interest. Sometime during the 1960s, however, these trends reversed, leaving us in today's disarray. In a sweeping overview of more than a century of history, drawing on his inimitable combination of statistical analysis and storytelling, Robert Putnam analyzes a remarkable confluence of trends that brought us from an "I" society to a "We" society and then back again. He draws inspiring lessons for our time from an earlier era, when a dedicated group of reformers righted the ship, putting us on a path to becoming a society once again based on community. Engaging, revelatory, and timely, this is Putnam's most ambitious work yet, a fitting capstone to a brilliant career.
Call Number: HM1276 .P88 2020
Publication Date: 2020-10-13
Selected new print books, February 2021
Transgenerational Trauma and Therapy : the transgenerational atmosphere by Tihamér BakóTransgenerational Trauma and Therapy presents the transgenerational, psychological impacts of trauma, and the clinical work on it. The book's expansive insight explores the psychology of the massive, collective trauma, and provides new ways of understanding the serious after-effects of man-made suffering. In this book, Bakó and Zana employ their original concept, "the transgenerational atmosphere", to fully comprehend many familiar phenomena in a new theoretical framework, exploring the psychological impact of trauma on the first generation, the mode of transmission, the effects on future generations, and therapeutic considerations. Crucially, Transgenerational Trauma and Therapy explores the psychological effects of collective, societal traumas on whole groups of individuals. Beginning with the direct, deep psychological effects of individual trauma, and then exploring the impact of collective trauma over generations , it deals particularly with the role of the social environment in the processing of trauma, as well as its hereditary transmission. Rich in clinical material and methodological suggestions, Transgenerational Trauma and Therapy will appeal to mental health professionals, including psychiatrists, psychologists, psychoanalysts, and social workers, in addition to professors in other academic disciplines, such as sociology, history, philosophy, and anthropology.
Call Number: RC552.T7 B35 2020
Publication Date: 2020-02-28
Reflections of a Cynical Clinical Psychologist by Max HeinrichPresenting first-hand accounts from the 'front line', Reflections of a Cynical Clinical Psychologist provides the reader with a participant experience of the daily ups and downs of a US mental health professional. Vividly describing actual clinical events ranging from tragic to comedic, this book calls attention to the human realities of the system's dysfunction. Illustrated throughout by anecdotes based on the author's 50 years of experience and observations in the field, the book focuses on 'the system' as the problem, identifying the limitations in current mental health policy with the emphasis misplaced onto profit rather than optimal patient care. These anecdotes are organized by themes such as the harsh treatment of patients by staff; loss in the workplace; anomalous staff behavior; problems with the legal system; and clinically unexpected and bizarre episodes. The value of humor as a stress reducer, social leveler and a means to make incisive points is highlighted throughout. This is important reading for mental health professionals, policy makers and those interested in humanizing social policy.
Call Number: RA790.53 .H45 2020
Publication Date: 2020-03-03
South to Freedom : runaway slaves to Mexico and the road to the Civil War by Alice L. BaumgartnerA brilliant and surprising account of the coming of the American Civil War, showing the crucial role of slaves who escaped to Mexico. The Underground Railroad to the North promised salvation to many American slaves before the Civil War. But thousands of people in the south-central United States escaped slavery not by heading north but by crossing the southern border into Mexico, where slavery was abolished in 1837. In South to Freedom, historianAlice L. Baumgartner tells the story of why Mexico abolished slavery and how its increasingly radical antislavery policies fueled the sectional crisis in the United States. Southerners hoped that annexing Texas and invading Mexico in the 1840s would stop runaways and secure slavery's future. Instead, the seizure of Alta California and Nuevo México upset the delicate political balance between free and slave states. This is a revelatory and essential new perspective on antebellum America and the causes of the Civil War.
Call Number: HT1053 .B38 2020
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
Belonging : a relationship-based approach for trauma-informed education by Sian PhillipsThe call for trauma-informed education is growing as the profound impact trauma has for the children's ability to learn in traditional classrooms is recognized. For children who have experienced abuse and neglect their behavior is often highly reactive, aggressive, withdrawn or unmotivated. They struggle to learn, to make positive relationships or be influenced positively by teachers and school staff. Students become more and more at risk for mental health difficulties. Teachers become more and more frustrated and discouraged as they attempt to teach this vulnerable group of students. Even though it is relationships that have hurt students with developmental trauma, it is known that they must find safe relationships to learn and heal. Forming those relationships with children who have been hurt and no longer trust adults is not easy. This book focuses on three important and comprehensive areas of theory and research that provide a theoretical, clinical, and integrated intervention model for developing the relationships and felt sense of safety children with developmental trauma need. Using what is known from attachment theory, intersubjectivity theory, and interpersonal neurobiology, the reader is helped to understand why children behave in the challenging ways they do. This book offers successes and ongoing challenges as a means to continue the conversation about how best to support some of our most at-risk youth.
Call Number: LB1072 .P55 2020
Publication Date: 2020-08-15
Beginning Your Counseling Career : graduate preparation and beyond by Mary Olufunmilayo AdeksonBeginning Your Counseling Career provides a comprehensive overview of the counseling profession and equips students with the clinical and administrative skills they need to progress in the field. Helpfully organized into five sections, the text addresses basic career considerations and preparatory aspects of the profession, as well as a range of topics to help students broaden their focus on professional development. Chapters cover areas including online masters and doctoral programs, developing a counseling identity, mentoring students for private practice, supporting minority students in counseling programs, considerations for international students, special education legislation, and more. Suitable for students taking preliminary courses in counseling as well as practicum and internship classes, Beginning Your Counseling Career offers a detailed and up-to-date framework for aspiring professional counselors at both masters and doctoral levels.
Call Number: BF636.64 .B44 2020
Publication Date: 2020-03-05
Selected new print books, February 2021
Check OskiCat for other newly published books. You can suggest items that the Library should consider purchasing by using the Purchase Recommendation form.
Traumatic Experiences of Normal Development : an intersubjective, object relations listening perspective on self, attachment, trauma, and reality by Carl H. ShubsTraditionally, trauma has been defined as negatively impacting external events, with resulting damage. This book puts forth an entirely different thesis: trauma is universal, occurring under even the best of circumstances and unavoidably sculpting the very building blocks of character structure. In Traumatic Experiences of Normal Development, Dr. Carl Shubs depathologizes the experience of trauma by presenting a listening perspective which helps recognize the presence and effects of traumatic experiences of normal development (TEND) by using a reconstruction of object relations theory. This outlook redefines trauma as the breach in intrapsychic organization of Self, Affect, and Other (SAO), the three components of object relations units, which combine to form intricate and changeable constellations that are no less than the total experience of living in any given moment. Bridging the gap between the trauma and analytic communities, as well as integrating intrapsychic and relational frameworks, the SAO/ TEND perspective provides a trauma-based band of attunement for attending to all relational encounters including those occurring in therapy. Though targeted to mental health professionals, this book will help enable therapists and sophisticated lay readers alike to recognize the impact of relational encounters, providing new tools to understand the traumas we have experienced and to minimize the hold they have on us.
Call Number: BF175.5.P75 S58 2020
Publication Date: 2020-03-05
The Names of All the Flowers : a memoir by Melissa Valentine by Melissa ValentineSet in rapidly gentrifying 1990s Oakland, this memoir--"poignant, painful, and gorgeous" (Alicia Garza)--explores siblinghood, adolescence, and grief in a family shattered by loss. Melissa and her older brother Junior grow up running around the disparate neighborhoods of 1990s Oakland, two of six children to a white Quaker father and a black Southern mother. But as Junior approaches adolescence, a bullying incident and later a violent attack in school leave him searching for power and a sense of self in all the wrong places; he develops a hard front and falls into drug dealing. Right before Junior's twentieth birthday, the family is torn apart when he is murderedas a result of gun violence. The Names of All the Flowers connects one tragic death to a collective grief for all black people who die too young. A lyrical recounting of a life lost, Melissa Valentine's debut memoir is an intimate portrait of a family fractured by the school-to-prison pipeline and an enduring love letter to an adored older brother. It is a call for justice amid endless cycles of violence, grief, and trauma, declaring: "We are all witness and therefore no one is spared from this loss." "Valentine's heartfelt memoir of losing her brother expresses the grief of being a black woman left behind when a black man dies to gun violence, and the specific condition of growing up mixed race in Oakland. As such, it's a portrait of a place, a person who died too young, the systems that led to that death, and the keen insights of the author herself. Lyrical and smart, with appropriate undercurrents of rage." --Emily Raboteau, author ofSearching for Zion: The Quest for Home in the African Diaspora
Call Number: HV6534.O23 V35 2020
Publication Date: 2020-07-14
Spectrums : autistic transgender people in their own words by Maxfield Sparrow (Editor)Written by autistic trans people from around the world, this vital and intimate collection of personal essays reveals the struggles and joys of living at the intersection of neurodivergence and gender diversity. Weaving memories, poems and first-person narratives together, these stories showcase experiences of coming out, college and university life, accessing healthcare, physical transition, friendships and relationships, sexuality, pregnancy, parenting, and late life self-discovery, to reveal a rich and varied tapestry of life lived on the spectrums. With humour and personal insight, this anthology is essential reading for autistic trans people, and the professionals supporting them, as well as anyone interested in the nuances of autism and gender identity.
Call Number: HQ77.9 .T7248 2020
Publication Date: 2020-07-21
Body and consent in psychology, psychiatry, and medicine : a therapeutic rape culture by Jemma ToshThis groundbreaking text interrogates the constructed boundary between therapy and violence, by examining therapeutic practice and discourse through the lens of a psychologist and a survivor of sexual abuse. It asks, what happens when those we approach for help cause further harm? Can we identify coercive practices and stop sexual abuse in psychology, psychiatry, and medicine? Tosh explores these questions and more to illustrate that many of the therapies considered fundamental to clinical practice are deeply problematic when issues of consent and sexual abuse are considered. The book examines a range of situations where medical power and authority produces a context where the refusals and non-consent of oppressed groups are denied, dismissed, or ignored. Arguing that key concepts and discourses have resulted in the production and standardisation of a therapeutic rape culture in the helping professions. Tosh uses critical intersectionality theory and discourse analysis to expertly highlight the complex interrelationships between race, class, gender, sexuality, and disability in our understanding of abuse and how we define survivors. Drawing on a wide range of comprehensive examples, including experiences and perspectives from cisgender and transgender men and women, as well as nonbinary and intersex people, this is essential reading for students and researchers of critical and queer psychology, gender studies, as well as mental health practitioners and social workers.