It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
This selective annotated guide lists resources supporting the professional practice of city, regional, and environmental planning. Included are handbooks, planning regulations, and other material of interest to the practicing American planner.
This selective annotated guide lists resources supporting the professional practice of city, regional, and environmental planning. Included are handbooks, planning regulations, and other material of interest to the practicing American planner with a particular emphasis on California planning. California planners may also wish to consult California Planning Online and the California Chapter of the American Planning Association website. For additional assistance, please consult the Environmental Design Library reference staff, 210 Bauer Wurster Hall.
Encyclopedia of the city, Roger W. Caves, ed. NY: Routledge, 2005. Provides concise signed articles on a wide range of planning topics and concepts. Most articles include brief bibliographies.
The Latest illustrated book of development definitions, by Harvey S. Moskowitz. New expanded ed. New Brunswick, NJ: Center for Urban Policy Research, 2004. Illustrated definitions designed to be used directly in ordinances with little or no change. The more complex definitions are accompanied by commentaries and annotations.
The Zoning dictionary: resource materials for planners, by Lehman & Associates. [Barrie, Ont.]: Lehman & Associates, [1993?] Extensive and well-organized. Definitions were drawn from by-laws "approved or adopted by municipal authorities in Canada and the United States." Looseleaf format.
Topical Research Guides
Here is a selection of guides to UC Berkeley library resources in specialized areas of city and environmental planning practice and research. The full series is available from the Environmental Design Library's complete list of research guides.
The Melvyl catalog is your best first place to look for books on your topic. It contains approximately 23 million holdings in the nine UC campuses and selected other libraries, including the California Historical Society and the Center for Research Libraries.
Find books and other items in thousands of libraries, including most items in the UC campus libraries.
A database of more than 52 million records in all disciplines from approximately 17,000 libraries worldwide, presenting 400 languages.
Combined catalog of over 1.5 billion books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide. This is the original, subscription version of WorldCat - the world's largest network of library content and services - and includes the CURL Union catalog. Also available: WorldCat.org or through Melvyl