Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Landscape Architecture Professional Practice is a bibliographic research guide to UC Berkeley resources in the practice of landscape architecture. The intended audience is both UC Berkeley landscape architecture students and landscape architecture practitioners. Coverage includes general professional information, strategic research materials, and the practice of landscape architecture.
Business law for landscape architects. Beery, William E. [et al.] Boston, MA: Pearson Custom Pub., 2002.
Environmental grantmaking foundations. Rochester, NY: Environmental Data Research Institute.
Financial management for design professionals: the path to profitability. Wintner , Steve L. and Tardif, Michael . Chicago, IL: Kaplan AEC Education, 2007. LA law: copyrighting the work of landscape architects. Quintana Andres F. IN:
v.96:1 (Jan. 2006). Landscape Architecture,
Landscape design documentation: strategies for plan checking and quality control. Thomas McDonald, Brian. Hoboken, NJ: J. Wiley, 2006. Online table of contents.
Writing for design professionals: a guide to writing successful proposals, letters, brochures, portfolios, reports, presentations, and job applications for architects, engineers, and interior designers. Kliment, Stepen A. NY: Norton, 2006.
Exams and Licensing
Are you certified?. Jost, Daniel. IN:
, v.99:7 (July 2009), pp.38-53. Discusses certification options for landscape architects. Landscape Architecture
Landscape architecture registration examination: a guide for professional development. Russell, Virginia L. ed. Washington, DC: ASLA Press, 1999.
Section A, Practice problems: project & construction administration
Section B, practice problems: inventory, analysis, & program development
Section C, Sample exam: site design
Section D, Practice problems: design & construction documentation,
LEEDPASS: LEED 2.2 exam study guideline and 400 practice questions, by Shawn Shahfar. Encino, CA: PARSTEC Co., 2007.
Clueing in: learn how to get your projects published. Kellum, Jo. IN:
Landscape architecture, v.92:7 (July 2002), pp.54, 56-59.
How to market design consultancy services: finding, winning, keeping, and developing clients. Preddy, Shan. 2nd ed. Burlington, VT: Gower, 2004. International in scope; offers guidance on marketing strategies and plans. Twenty-five leading design companies offer their experiences.
Marketing and selling design services: the designer client relationship. Knackstedt, Mary V. with Haney, Laura J. NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1993.
Writing for design professionals: a guide to writing successful proposals, letters, brochures, portfolios, reports, presentations, and job applications for architects, engineers, and interior designers. Kliment, Stephen A. NY: W.W. Norton, 1998.
Here are some tools to find additional information about landscape professional practice, especially landscape architecture construction.
Construction glossary: an encyclopedic reference and manual. 2nd ed. NY: Wiley, 1993.
Encyclopedia of construction methods & materials. Spence, William P.NY: Sterling Pub., 2000.
Encyclopedia of gardens: history and design. Shoemaker, Candice A. ed. 3 volumes. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001--.
Illustrated dictionary of building materials and techniques: an invaluable sourcebook of the tools, terms, materials, and techniques used by building professionals. Blue Ridge Summit, PA: TAB Books, 1993.
Lexicon of garden and landscape architecture. Vroom, Meto J.Boston: Birkhauser-Publishers for Architecture, 2006. Contains short illustrated articles on landscape architecture concepts and practices.
Spanish phrases for landscaping professionals. Holben, Jason and Arbini, Dominic. Denver, CO: Stock Pot Pub., 2001.
See these guides for more resources.
Building Sciences Resources
UC Berkeley, Library) A selected guide to the literature of building systems, performance measurement, technology, materials etc. Includes basic research tools, historical sources, and strategies for finding materials at UC Berkeley and on the web.
Sustainable Design Resources
(UC Berkeley, Library) A selected research guide to Internet and library resources on ecological design. Includes "green" materials and construction techniques.
Landscape design: theory and application. VanDerZanden, Ann Marie and Rodie, Steven N. Clifton Park, NY: Delmar Learning, 2008.
Residential landscape architecture: design process for the private residence , by Booth, Norman K. and Hiss, James E. . Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Prentice Hall, 2008.
Residential landscape sustainability: a checklist tool . Smith, Carl, Clayden Andy, and Dunnett, Nigel. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2008.
Site Planning & Furnishings
Environmental planning for site development: a manual for sustainable local planning and design. Beer, Anne R. and Higgins, Catherine. 2nd ed. NY: E & FN Spon, 2000.
A Guide to site planning and landscape construction. Rubenstein, Harvey M. 4th ed. NY: John Wiley, 1996.
Landscape architecture: a manual of site planning and design. Simonds, John Ormsbee . 3rd ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
Handbook of landscape metrics. Measuring landscapes: a planner's handbook. Leitao, Andre Botequilha [et al.]. Washington, DC: Island Press, 2006.
Site engineering for landscape architects. Strom, Steven and Nathan, Kurt . 4th ed. NY: John Wiley, 2004.
Site furnishings: a complete guide to the planning, selection and use of landscape furniture and amenities. Main, Bill and Hannah, Gail Greet . Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2010.
Site planning. Lynch, Kevin and Hack, Gary. 3rd ed. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1984.
Site planning and design handbook. Russ, Thomas H. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2002. See especially Chapter 1: Sustainability and Site Design.
Details & Graphics See the section on Standards for graphic standards.
Architect's handbook of construction detailing. Ballast, David Kent [2nd ed.] Washington, DC: BNI Publications, 2000. Includes a bibliography and list of standards.
Digital drawing for landscape architecture: contemporary techniques and tools for digital representation in site design . Cantrell, Bradley and Michaels, Wes. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2010.
Drawing basics . St. Aubyn, Jacklyn . Fort Worth: Harcourt Brace College Publishers, 1998.
Format for building detailing . Bishrat,Fred . San Mateo, CA: Western Book/Journal Pr., 1990. See Part 2: Site work.
Landscape construction and detailing . Blanc, Alan. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1996.
Landscape detailing . Littlewood, Michael. 3rd ed. 4 vols. Boston: Butterworth Architecture, 1993-1997. v.1: Enclosure, v.2: Surfaces, v.3: Structures, v.4: Water
Landscape graphics: plan, section, and perspective drawing of landscape spaces . Reid, Grant W. NY: Watson-Guptill, 2002.
Masonry design and detailing: for architects and contractors . Beall, Christine. 5th ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2004.
Plan graphics for the landscape designer: with section-elevation and computer graphics . Bertauski, Tony . 2nd ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, 2007.
Construction & Materials
Alternative construction: contemporary natural building methods. Elizabeth, Lynne and Adams, Cassandra eds. NY: Wiley, 2005.
Architect's portable handbook: first step rules of thumb for building design . Guthrie, Pat . 3rd ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2003. See Part 2: Site & Landscape.
Architectural stone: fabrication, installation, and selection . Chacon, Mark. NY: Wiley, 1999.
Building construction illustrated . Ching, Francis D.K. and Adams, Cassandra. 3rd ed. NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 2001.
Concrete and masonry databook . Beall, Christine and Jaffe, Rochelle. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2003. See especially Section: Site and Landscape Elements.
Constructing landscape: materials, techniques, structural components . Zimmermann, Astrid ed. Boston: Birkhäuser, 2009.
Handbook of landscape architectural construction . 2nd ed. 4 vols. Washington, DC: Landscape Architecture Foundation, 1985.
The HOK guidebook to sustainable design. Mendler, Sandra, Odell,William, and Lazarus, Mary Ann. 2nd ed. NY: J. Wiley, 2006.
Landscape architecture construction . Landphair, Harlow C. 3rd ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall PTR, 1999.
Landscape construction . Sauter, David. Albany, NY: Delmar Publishers, 2000.
LEED reference guide for new construction & major renovations (LEED-NC). version 2.1. 2nd ed. Washington, DC: U.S. Green Building Council, 2003.
Sustainable landscape construction: a guide to green building outdoors . William Thompson and Kim Sorvig. [2nd ed.]. Washington: Island Press, 2008.
Soil design protocols for landscape architects and contractors. Craul, Timothy A. and Phillip J. Hoboken, NJ: J. Wiley, 2006.
Urban construction project management . Lambeck, John and Eschemuller, Richard. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2009.
Weathering and durability in landscape architecture: fundamentals, practices, and case studies. Kirkwood, Niall. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley, 2004.
Wood in the landscape: a practical guide to specification and design . Winterbottom, Daniel M. NY: John Wiley, 2000.
The Regulatory Environment
California. Board of Landscape Architects. Statutes, rules & regulations. Sacramento: State of California, Dept. of Consumer Affairs, Board of Landscape Architects, 1992.
CEQA, California Environmental Quality Act: statutes and guidelines. Sacramento: Governor's Office of Planning and Research, Office of Permit Assistance, .
Guide to the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA). Duggan,Sharon, Moose, Jim and Thomas, Tina. Berkeley: Solano Press, 1987--; annual. Overview of existing requirements for adequate environmental review. Included are an examination of the statute, implementing guidelines and current case law, as well as an appendix with case summaries of cases most often citied" and text of statutes. Land use law. Mandelker, Daniel R.3rd ed. Charlottesville, VA: Michie Co., 1993.
California Architects Board, Landscape Architects Technical Committee. Includes current laws and regulations, legislative updates, proposed regulatory changes. Laws and regulations.
Redevelopment: planning, law, and project implementation: a guide for practitioners. Blaesser, Brian W. and Cody, Thomas P. eds. Chicago: ABA Section of State and Local Government Law, 2008.
Regulation of landscape architecture and the protection of public health, safety, and welfare. Schatz, Alex P. [S.l.: s.n.], 2003.
U.S. environmental laws. McClain, Jr., Wallis E. ed. Washington, DC: The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc., 1991. Presentsfull text of major U.S. environmental laws, for example, Clean Air Act, Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, Endangered Species Act, NEPA.
U.S. landscape ordinances: an annotated reference handbook. Abbey, Buck. NY: J. Wiley, 1998.
California Landscape Standards Committee. CLS, California landscape standards. Sacramento: California Landscape Contractors Association, 1989.
Graphic standards for landscape architecture. Austin, Richard L. [et al.]. NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1986.
via ENVIROnetBASE - UC Only by Scott S. Olson. Boca Raton: Lewis Publishers, 1999. International environmental standards handbook
Landscape architectural graphic standards. Hopper, Leonard J. editor-in-chief. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2007.
The Secretary of the Interior's standards for the treatment of historic properties: with guidelines for the treatment of cultural landscapes, Birnbaum, Charles A. ed., with Peters, Christine Capella. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Interior, National Park Service, Cultural Resource Stewardship and Partnerships, Heritage Preservation Services, Historic Landscape Initiative, 1996.
Time-saver standards for landscape architecture: design and construction data. Harris,Charles W. and Dines, Nicholas T., co-eds. 2nd ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
Time-saver standards for site planning. De Chiara, Joseph and Koppelman, Lee E. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1984.
Time-saver standards: site construction details manual. Dines, Nicholas T. & Brown, Kyle D. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1999.
UC Berkeley Career Center
Offers career and graduate school counselling to UC Berkeley students and access to a comprehensive career planning and graduate school resource center.
Competitions and Awards
Note that professional journals sometimes regularly list open competitions, e.g.,
Topos, or feature award-winning projects, e.g., Urban Land.
Product Specification and Trade Literature
A directory of building product manufacturers: a collection of catalogs from quality manufacturers. Fairfield, CT: The Architect's Catalog, Inc. Includes 7100+ manufacturers' catalogs of building products, including site construction materials. Organized by CSI classification.
Bay Area-build it green: green product directory
Lists suppliers of 'green' products, located in the San Francisco Bay Area.
GreenSpec-listed green building products
(BuildingGreen, Inc.). Online trade catalogs and product information for environmentally responsible building products, including sitework, landscaping, decking, and outdoor structures. Includes selected product-related full-text articles from Environmental Building News.
LEED ™ reference manual.
Washington, DC: U.S. Green Building Council. Book includes the LEED™ (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) rating system, and brief case studies.
Compilation of manufacturers' catalogs of building and landscape architecture products. Often includes product specifications. Uses the CSI classification.