Loeb Classical LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe only existing series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.
Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture -- in short, our entire classical heritage is represented here in convenient and well-printed pocket volumes in which an up-to-date text and accurate and literate English translation face each other page by page. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.
Lexikon zur byzantinischen GräzitätThe LBG is the foremost lexicographical resource in Byzantine Studies mainly covering the period from the 4th to the 15th century A.D. taken from more than 3,000 texts. Seven fascicles have appeared to date, with one more scheduled to appear in 2016. When completed the dictionary will consist of more than 2,000 printed pages, containing approx. 80,000 lemmata.
Online encyclopedia with 6000+ entries on all aspects of the ancient world and classical antiquity. Includes a brief but up-to-date bibliography, a list of authors and the titles of their works, as well as of collections of inscriptions and papyri.
Access to a number of dictionaries published by Oxford University Press on the topic of classical literature and civilization. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title. Titles include: The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, Who's Who in the Classical World, The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin, The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English).
Books from catalog
Aural Architecture: Music, Acoustics, and Ritual in Byzantium by Bissera V. PentchevaEmerging from the challenge to reconstruct sonic and spatial experiences of the deep past, this multidisciplinary collection of ten essays explores the intersection of liturgy, acoustics, and art in the churches of Constantinople, Jerusalem, Rome and Armenia, and reflects on the role digital technology can play in re-creating aspects of the sensually rich performance of the divine word. Engaging the material fabric of the buildings in relationship to the liturgical ritual, the book studies the structure of the rite, revealing the important role chant plays in it, and confronts both the acoustics of the physical spaces and the hermeneutic system of reception of the religious services. By then drawing on audio software modelling tools in order to reproduce some of the visual and aural aspects of these multi-sensory public rituals, it inaugurates a synthetic approach to the study of the premodern sacred space, which bridges humanities with exact sciences. The result is a rich contribution to the growing discipline of sound studies and an innovative convergence of the medieval and the digital.
Publication Date: 2017-06-22
Emotions and Gender in Byzantine Culture by Stavroula Constantinou (Editor); Mati Meyer (Editor)This book examines the gendered dimensions of emotions and the emotional aspects of gender within Byzantine culture and suggests possible readings of such instances. In so doing, the volume celebrates the current breadth of Byzantine gender studies while at the same time contributing to the emerging field of Byzantine emotion studies. It offers the reader an array of perspectives encompassing various sources and media, including historiography, hagiography, theological writings, epistolography, erotic literature, art objects, and illuminated manuscripts. The ten chapters cover a time span ranging from the early to the late Byzantine periods. This diversity is secured by an expanded and enriched exploration of the collection's unifying theme of gendered emotions. The scope and breadth of the chapters also reflect the ways in which Byzantine gender and emotion have been studied thus far, while at the same time offering novel approaches that challenge established opinions in Byzantine studies.
Publication Date: 2018-09-28
Palgrave Advances in Byzantine History by Jonathan HarrisOver the past fifty years, the history and culture of the Byzantine empire has ceased to be the preserve of a few scholars and is now taught and debated in universities all over the world. This book provides an introduction to the source material and to the very best recent writing on the empire's political history (306-1453), its art, army, religion, literature and economy. Recent developments in gender studies and archaeology are also explored. The book will be of interest to university students and anyone interested in understanding the ongoing debates about this mysterious and perplexing yet fascinating society.
Corpus Iuris Civilis
Lione: Hugues de la Porte
Corpus Iuris Civilis
Informazioni e crediti
Corpus Scriptorum Historiae ByzantinaeThe Corpus Scriptorum Historiae Byzantinae (Latin: "Corpus of Byzantine history writers"), frequently referred to as the CSHB or Bonn Corpus, is a monumental fifty-volume series of primary sources for the study of Byzantine history (c. 330–1453), published in the German city of Bonn between 1828 and 1897.
The database of the digitized Greek manuscripts.The database is maintained by David Jenkins, Librarian for Classics, Hellenic Studies and Linguistics at Princeton University. All of the data in the database can be downloaded as a .csv or .xls file by clicking on the appropriate button at the bottom of the page.
For a comprehensive bibliography, see Stratis Papaioannou's Greek Paleography and Byzantine Book Culture: A Bibliographical Essay (Version 3)
The database of Byzantine Book Epigrams (DBBE)The Database of Byzantine Book Epigrams (DBBE) is an ongoing project that makes available textual and contextual data of book epigrams (or: metrical paratexts) from medieval Greek manuscripts (seventh to fifteenth century).
The entire translated text of the Anna Comena's Alexiad is available. The translation used is that of dition used is that of Elizabeth A. Dawes, published in London in 1928. Note that there is a later translation by E.R.A. Sewter, published by Penguin. Sewter's translation is more "modern" in language, whereas the Dawes version sticks closer to the Greek text.
The text here is presented as either one complete file, or in "book" length files.
PLGO: Bibliotheca PretiosaPLGO-LibScribd is a project wich born inside the PLGO Community, looking provide and share with the visitors a well ordinated collection of works, related directly with Patristic/Patrological themes.
Editions of Byzantine Historians available to download in PDF format
The Scylitzes Manuscript.This Greek manuscript on parchment dating from the 12th to the 13th centuries is one of the most valuable codices in the National Library of Spain, treasured for the richness of its illumination. The work, by Ioannes Scylitza (flourished 1081), is a history of the Byzantine emperors from 811 to 1057.
Dumbarton Oaks Byzantine Manuscripts.Mildred and Robert Woods Bliss acquired the first manuscript for the museum in 1939. Over the years, the holdings have come to include four Greek manuscripts, one Georgian manuscript, three illuminated leaves from Greek manuscripts, one illustrated leaf from an Armenian manuscript, and four papyrus fragments with Greek writing. Further information about these holdings may be found http://museum.doaks.org/PRT3218?sid=1500&x=13622&x=13623.
Index of Medieval ArtThe site self-description: Welcome to the Index of Medieval Art online database. Our online holdings complement and partly overlap with the print Index at Princeton University, which is currently being integrated into the database. The collections include images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century. Although the Index of Medieval Art was formerly known as the Index of Christian Art, it now includes secular subjects as well as a growing number of subjects from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture.