It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries from a variety of vendors such as:
Oxford University Press
Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.
What's NOT included
Start your Search does notinclude everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly.
Content that is not included in Start your Search:
Non-UCB Melvyl results aren't included. Use the Find More through Melvyl link in your search results to continue your search in Melvyl.
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:
Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.