The City, a dictionary of quotable thought on cities and urban life. Clapp, James A.,Rutgers Univ., Center for Urban Policy Research, 1984. Drawn from the written and spoken words of over 1,000 writers, speakers, poets, politicians, architects, historians, etc. Epigrams, epithets, verses, proverbs, scriptural references, etc.
Dictionary of community economic development terms: a resource book for practitioners and funders. California Community Economic Development Association, comp. Oakland, CA: The Assoc., 1995.
Dictionary of statistics & methodology: a nontechnical guide for the social sciences. Vogt, W. Paul . 2nd ed. Sage Publications, 1999.
The Dictionary of urbanism. Cowan, Robert. Tisbury, Wiltshire: Streetwise Press, 2005.
A Glossary of urban form. Larkham, Peter J. and Jones, Andrew N. eds. Birmingham, England: Urban Morphology Research Group, School of Geography, Univ. of Birmingham, 1991.
International GIS dictionary. McDonnell, Rachael & Kemp, Karen. John Wiley & Sons, 1995
Housing: a multidisciplinary dictionary. Sayegh, Kamal S. Ottawa: ABCD Academy Book, 1987. Contains more than 28,000 terms with short, explanatory definitions.
Language of cities: a glossary of terms dealing with housing, city planning and associated disciplines, by Charles Abrams. Viking Pr., 1971. Identifies some of the most relevant urban terms for the expert and layperson.
The latest illustrated book of development definitions. Moskowitz, Harvey S. and Lindbloom, Carl G. New expanded ed. New Brunswick, NJ: Center for Urban Policy Research, 2004. Offers approximately 1,955 definitions, 787 commentaries, and 102 illustrations, with a special focus on terms useful in zoning and development ordinances.
A Planners dictionary. Davidson, Michael and Dolnick, Fay eds. Chicago: American Planning Association, Planning Advisory Service, 2004. (PAS Report, no. 521/522). Book with CD-ROM. Contains definitions of more than 4,000 terms used in "the preparation of ordinances and... other documents that control and shape the built environment."
URISA working glossary. Urban and Regional Information Systems Association, [1996?]
Dictionary - landscape and urban planning: multilingual dictionary on environmental planning, design and conservation. Klaus-Jurgen, Evert. ed. NY: Springer, 2001. English, German, French, Spanish.
International planning glossaries. Gordon Logie, ed. NY: Elsevier. In English, French, Italian, Dutch, German, Swedish, Finnish. Comprises four volumes, each devoted to particular sectors of planning.
Multilingual glossary of human settlements terms. Nairobi: United Nations Centre for Human Settlements (Habitat), 1992. Glossary of English, Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian, and Spanish human settlements terms. Includes English definitions.
Town planning glossary: 10,000 multilingual terms in one alphabet for European town planners = Stadtplanungsglossar = glossaire d'urbanisme =glosario de urbanismo = glossario di urbanistica, by Marco Venturi. NY: Saur, 1990.
Dictionary of development: Third World economy, environment, society. Brian W.W. Welsh and Pavel Butorin, ed. 2 vols. Garland Pub., 1990. Definitions and descriptions of the major facts, concepts, events, and issues concerning the Third World development process. Sources are cited.
Encyclopedia of community: from the village to the virtual world. Karen Christensen & David Levinson, general eds. 4 vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2003. Topics range from activist communities to Zoar. Well-organized and visually pleasing, the encyclopedia contains 500 articles of varying lengths; each article includes a brief bibliography for further reading. An unusual and useful feature is the 266 primary-text sidebars which elaborate on the main articles.
Encyclopedia of community planning and environmental management. by Marilyn Spiegel Schultz. Facts on File, 1984. Concise, clearly written definitions of over 2,000 concepts and terms. Also includes historical material, landmark court cases, major legislation, and brief biographies of noted planners. Illustrated with photos, diagrams, illustrations.
Encyclopedia of rural America: the land and people. Gary A. Goreham, ed. ABC-CLIO, 1997. 2 vols. Selected bibliography: pp.789-807. Readable articles on a wide range of topics. Articles of particular interest for city planning include, "Community," "Infrastructure," "Settlement Patterns," and "Urbanization." Most articles include bibliographic citations and many are illustrated with black and white photographs or tables.
Encyclopedia of urban studies. Ray Hutchison, ed. 2 vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, 2010.
Encyclopedia of the city. Roger W. Caves, ed. NY: Routledge, 2005. Provides concise signed articles on a wide range of planning topics and concepts. Most articles include brief bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of urban America: the cities and suburbs. Neil Larry Shumsky, ed. 2 vols. ABC-CLIO, 1998. Readable articles on a wide range of topics of relevance to city planning. Most articles include bibliographic citations and many are illustrated with black and white photographs or tables.
World encyclopedia of cities. George Thomas Kurian. ABC-CLIO, 1994. Coverage: Vol.l: United States, A-M, Vol.2: United States, N-Z, & Canada.