It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
City and Regional Planning: Basic Research Resources: Book review sources
A selective bibliographic guide to basic city and regional planning reference sources in the Environmental Design Library at UC Berkeley. Although the guide reflects the American emphasis of the collection, international planning is included.
Book reviews are critical analyses of a published material. They are generally found in journals and newspapers. Keep in mind that only a very small percentage of books are ever reviewed. The sources listed below include book reviews on architecture, city planning and landscape architecture. They are usually available in the Environmental Design Library or the University of California, Berkeley Libraries. For best results, search for book reviews within five years of the date of publication. You may have to search multiple sources to locate a review of the book you have selected. Entries listed here are in alphabetical order, not arranged in a priority order, and they include a description of why the index is relevant to environmental design and specific directions on how to find reviews.
Before you begin, identify the author's name, or the book title, and the year of publication. Once you have found the review(s), note the complete citation. Check to see if it is available in full text; if not, search the title of the journal cited in OskiCat or Melvyl. For further assistance, consult the Environmental Design Library's reference staff.
Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals. [1991 - present]
Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere. Indexes editorials, regular columns, essays, fiction; speeches, interviews, statistics, reprints; bibliographies, biographies, obituaries, memoirs; and reviews. Interfaces available for French, Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese. Alternative Press Index Archive provides coverage of materials from 1969 to 1990.
Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Index of journals on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Covers 750 art journals including 470 peer reviewed journals, dissertations, reviews, and over 200 books related to art and architecture topics. Includes coverage from 1929 to present, including the complete former contents of Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Some full text.
Indexes publications in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer graphics, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. [1929-1984]
Includes citations to art reproductions. Provides citations from Volumes 1-32 of the print counterpart, Art Index. (Art Index Retro - Art Index)
Part of Web of Knowledge that indexes over 1,000 leading arts and humanities journals, and allows searching of citations as well as subsequent articles that cite an article. (Web of Science) [1975 - present]
Indexes scholarly and professional journals covering architecture, architectural design, environmental design, furniture and decoration, interior design, historic preservation, history of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. [1860s - present]
Can limit to articles containing plans, sections, elevations and other graphic attributes. Most citations are from articles published since 1930 (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s).
The Bibliography of the History of Art and Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) are citation databases searchable together, and cover material published between 1975 and 2007, primarily covering European and American art.
Index of scholarly and popular book reviews of English-language fiction and nonfiction for children and adults from 1982 to present.
"Indexes book reviews of English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults, from over 8000 leading magazines from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Includes several thousand full text reviews. For book reviews published from 1905 to 1982 go to Book Review Digest Retrospective which can be searched separately or simultaneously."
Search for articles in scholarly and popular publications in the areas of business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, and technology. [1990 - present]
Over 11,000 popular magazines and scholarly journals in the areas of social sciences, humanities, engineering, technology, popular culture, and general interest. Interfaces available for French, Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese.
A newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images. (New York Times - San Francisco Chronicle - Wall Street Journal - Washington Post - Chicago Defender - Chicago Tribune - Los Angeles Times) [1849 - 2003]
A newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant US newspapers. Our subscription includes access to Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1990); Los Angeles Times (1881-1990); The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996); and The Washington Post (1877-1997).
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]
Index of thousands of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Periodicals Contents Index) [1802 - 1995]
Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of over 700 journals published between 1802 and 2005.
Access to national and regional newspapers from across the U.S.
Includes New York Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985, with Index, 1851-1993 + 1980-current). Los Angeles Times (full text, Historical, 1881-2010 + 1985-current). Wall Street Journal (full text, Historical, 1889-1995 + 1984-current). Chicago Tribune (full text, Historical 1849-2010 + 1895- current). The Washington Post (full text, Historical, 1877-2002, 1987-current). Also indexes the New York Times Magazine (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), the New York Times Book Review (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), and the WSJ: the Wall Street Journal Magazine (full text from 2011-present).
Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development. [1952 - present]
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).
Humanities Index (Print ed.)Lists citations for book reviews found in 400 English language periodicals. Entries are located in a separate book review section at the end of each issue and are arranged alphabetically by author. Coverage: 1974-present
JAPA - Journal of the American Planning Association. Good source for city planning and landscape architecture. Vol. 49:4. Indexes reviews which appeared in the Journal 1958-1983, by title of book reviewed. Reviews were included in the main index under subject (including biographies) or author of book reviewed.
Journal of the American Institute of Planners. Index. Good for city planning and urban design. For reviews published 1925-1974. Reviews included in the main index under subject (including biographies) or author of book reviewed.
New York Times Index. (Print ed.). Good for architecture, city planning, landscape architecture, urban design. Issued twice monthly with cumulations. Lists citations for book reviews in the New York Times. Entries are listed under the heading "Books and Literature."