Covers 750 art journals including 470 peer reviewed journals, dissertations, reviews, and over 200 books related to art and architecture topics. Includes coverage from 1929 to present, including the complete former contents of Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Some full text.
Abstracts of the current literature of modern and contemporary art, photography and design. [1974 - present]
Indexes journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Coverage extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.
A successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). (2008 - present)
This database covers international scholarship in European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Visual arts in all media are covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history. Over 500 core journals are indexed, as well as monographs, essays, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs.
This book is for art market researchers at all levels. A brief overview of the global art market and its major stakeholders precedes an analysis of the various sales venues (auction, commercial gallery, etc.). Library research skills are reviewed, and advanced methods are explored in a chapter devoted to basic market research.
Over 190,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present. Searchable via Oxford Art Online along with Grove Art Online, The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, etc.
Over 190,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present. Searchable via Oxford Art Online along with Grove Art Online, The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, etc.
When you stand in front of a work of art in an auction room or dealer's gallery, you ask these two questions followed by others: How much is it worth? How much will it be worth in five or ten years' time? And what will people think of me if they see it hanging on my wall? Breakfast at Sotheby's is an alphabetical guide to how people reach answers to such questions, and how in the process art is given a financial value. Based on Philip Hook's thirty-five years' experience of the art market, Breakfast at Sotheby's explores the artist and his hinterland (including definitions for -isms, middle-brow artists, Gericault, and suicides), subject and style (from abstract art and banality through surrealism and war), "wall-power," provenance, and market weather. Comic, revealing, piquant, splendid, and occasionally absurd, Breakfast at Sotheby's is a book of pleasure and intelligent observation, as engaged with art as it is with the world that surrounds it.
Art Market Research by 
Breakfast at Sotheby's by