Though one must subscribe to buy, sell and research fine art via Artnet , it allows access to information on the 1,300 galleries, 36,000 works (limited image access) and 13,000 primarily contemporary artists it represents. It also provides a directory of U.S., International, and virtual museums, exhibition and book reviews, museum and art fair schedules, international auction results, artist biographies, and a free newsletter. For easiest navigation, use the Site Map, which can be located by placing the cursor on the "Home" icon.
Fee-based online resource with coverage of the fine arts 1700-present. With a subscription, you can search among 11,232,100 artworks listed by 6,300 auction houses since 1962.
Subscription art price database with millions of auction records dating back to 1922 from over 1400 auction houses. Artist indices for sold paintings only, including sold price, volume, estimate and other attributes.
Based in San Francisco, Butterfields offers free photo appraisals as well as formal appraisals and consignments. Founded in 1793, Bonhams is one of Britain's largest fine art and antique auction house operating across all sectors of the fine art, antiques and collectibles market, etc. Offers sales advice and valuation services.
Since 1766, Christie's auction house, with locations in London, Paris, New York and Los Angeles, covers the fine arts, antiquities, American Indian and tribal art, Asian and Islamic art, furniture and decorative arts, the collectibles market, books and manuscripts, photographs and prints, etc.; it also offers appraisals and evaluations.
More than 2.3 million records taken from source material such as archival inventories (1550-1840), auction catalogs (1650-1945), and dealer stock books.
Includes information on art law and cultural property; database of published and in-progress catalogues raisonnés; provenance research guide; and news about the art market and with stolen art alerts.
Invaluable (formerly Artfact) is the world’s largest online auction marketplace of fine and decorative arts, antiques, collectibles, and estate sales. Search and buy from over 160,000 auctions annually. Includes more than 57 million complete auction results, plus information on more than 500,000 international artists.
Online edition of Lugt's Repertoire des Catalogues de Ventes Publiques, fN8650.L8, v.1-4, (Art History/Classics Library), listing over 60,000 art sales catalogues dated 1600-1900 from libraries in Europe and the US. The catalogues provide information on the provenance of art objects, the history of collecting, and historical market trends. Numerous catalogues have been added to the original work and corrections made. Searchable by Lugt number, date, place, provenance, and auction house.
Compiled by late Yale University Professor John Michael Montias, contains information from 1,280 inventories of goods (paintings, prints, sculpture, furniture, etc.) owned by people living in 17th century Amsterdam. Provides detailed information on the 51,071 individual works of art listed. Search by artist, types of objects (painting, prints, drawings), subject matter etc. Extensive information on the owners, buyers and prices paid when the goods were actually in a sale.
London based Sotheby's, founded in 1744, with offices throughout the world, covers all areas of the fine and decorative arts. Provides appraisals; auction estimates; restoration; and, repairs.
The UCSB Arts Library has a collection of over 95,000 exhibition, collection, and sales catalogs.