Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

Biology and Geomorphology of Tropical Islands IB158 / ESPM 107: Cite + Write

IB158 / ESPM 107 - Biology and Geomorphology of Tropical Islands

Citing Your Sources

Add the Ecology style to your Zotero by going to Preferences - Cite - "Get additional styles." After you Sync, the Ecology style should be available to use in Google Docs or Word.

Citation Managers

Reference managers (also called citation managers or bibliographic management software) offer a way to save, organize and manage references. Many work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record.

Zotero (recommended)

  • Zotero guide; learn how to use Zotero with this self-paced Zotero tutorial
  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage, or store pdfs in Box and sync with ZotFile)
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word, OpenOffice, and Google Docs
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Annotate pdfs, and extract annotations, with ZotFile
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references
  • Install plugins to provide enhancements, new features, and integrations with other programs.

RefWorks  

  • RefWorks guide; also see the How to Use RefWorks YouTube playlist
  • Free to UC Berkeley users
  • Web-based: use at any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Google Docs
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Mendeley

  • Mendeley guide
  • Free software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • Use from a UCB IP address to join the UCB Group for 100GB storage and other upgrades
  • Format bibliographies in Word or LibreOffice; export to BibTeX or use Overleaf for LaTeX integration
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references using Private Groups

EndNote

  • EndNote guide
  • Discounted to UC Berkeley users
  • Desktop-based software (plus EndNote Web)
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users

Zotero and Biosis Previews - Becky's tips

Since BIOSIS Previews (and all Web of Science databases) recently moved to a new interface, BIOSIS search results aren't recognized by the Zotero web importer (strangely, Web of Science results seem to import just fine). Here are a few workarounds:

  • I was able to select results and Export them choosing the 'Endnote Desktop' format. When my computer asked what program to open them with, I chose Zotero and they imported fine.
  • I also was able to get the Zotero web importer to work when viewing an individual record in BIOSIS (just not with a page of search results).
  • You could also download the articles' pdfs and upload them into Zotero.
  • You could also choose to use the 'classic' interface for BIOSIS (choose Web of Science Classic in the upper right of the BIOSIS page under Products, then select the BIOSIS Previews database when you begin your search).

Please let me know if you need any help with these options.

Writing

The Library also has many books on scientific writing, the research process, and communicating science. Please ask if you would like help finding them!

Data Visualization

Research Data Management Support

conceptual model of research data management at berkeley

 

See researchdata.berkeley.edu for more information.