Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Development: Government Info

International Development Organizations

The following directories and custom search engines may be used to locate development projects and interventions from International Development & Relief Organizations.

IGO Custom Search Engine

 


European Union Humanitarian Aid Office (ECHO). Humanitarian aid office of the European Union. Site includes lists of publications and decisions.

Human Development Report Library. The web site includes the UNDP flagship publication the Human Development Report, as well as national human development reports from countries and regions.

IFAD Publications.  Development publications focusing on agrticulture for the poorest countries worldwide, from the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD).

OECD iLibrary. Online library from the OECD,  an international organisation that specilizes in development assistance information. among other things.

Relief Web. Web portal from the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs - "the world's leading gateway to information on humanitarian emergencies and disasters."

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository. Open Access portal for World Bank Publications.

United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF). United Nations children's agency.  Provides long-term humanitarian and developmental assistance to children and mothers in developing countries

UN Habitat. United Nations agency promoting socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all.

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR). The United Nations Refugee Agency. Includes many online books, papers and statistics.  See also Refworld.

United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD). UN agency conducting research on the social dimensions of world development.

UN Women. United Nations entity working for the empowerment of women and girls (formerly known as UNIFEM).

World Food Programme (WFP). The United Nations Food Agency.  World's largest food aid organization, dedicated to combating hunger in nations with severe food shortages. 

Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) information on the Internet can be located using the following sources below. Please also see the UC Berkeley Library Research Guide on this topic.

NGO Custom Search Engine


Foundations Directory. Funding sources for non-profit grant providers. Includes U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and public charities.

Gale Directory Library. Directories of organizations (including the Encyclopedia of Associations & National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations) with statistics.

Guide Star. Profiles, data and general information on Nonprofit organizations. Includes information on IRS-recognized tax-exempt organization and thousands of faith-based non-profits. Data provided by 990 forms, other IRS sources and by the nonprofits themselves.

Idealist.Org. Includes a directory organizations by name, mission, focus country and more.

Global Go To Think Tank Index Reports.  Annual Reports from an international survey of scholars, donors, policy makers, and journalists to rank think tanks.

TakingITGlobal. International non-profit centered on young people. Good source of NGO information by country and area of focus.

WANGOWorldwide directory of Nongovernmental organizations searchable by country and area of interest.

United States Federal, State & Local Governments

ProQuest Congressional. One-stop shopping for U.S. congressional publications.  Provides indexing and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including full text of published Congressional Hearings, full text Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports and more.

USA.gov.  Official United States Government web portal, with specialized “gateways” for citizens, business and government employees.

USAID Documents. Online resource for USAID international development, with thousands documents available for download. Database is browseable by country and by subject.

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Green Book). Loans and grants from the US government each fiscal year by purpose and country.

Foreign National Governments

African Collections at Stanford. Comprehensive web portalsfor Sub-saharan Africa, from Stanford University.

Foreign/International Governments Custom Search.  Collection of regional custom search engines from Carleton University Library. 

UT LANIC - Government in Latin AmericaProvides links to regional organizations and government information by country.