Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open. Here’s what you need to know.

Economics: COVID-19

COVID and the Economy

This is a selective list of resources on COV-19 and economics and will be updated. See also the section on this guide on Health Economics.

News and Reports

Brookings. Analysis of how policymakers are organizing economic responses to COVID-19.

The Conference Board. News and updates from the Conference Board related to Covid-19. Economics material includes US & global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts.

The Economist. A selection of stories from The Economist on coverage of the pandemic.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU). Special reports on the global economy, including COVID-19.

EMIS. News and data on Emerging markets. Go to the search bar on the upper right and click 'hot topics'.

FTSE/Russell. Coronovirus mapping the impact.

Gartner. See the COVID-19 Resource Center. Research on the software cloud computing and hardware industries. Calnet authentication transmits the user's name to Gartner for account creation.

Harvard Business Review (HBR). Coverage on the Coronavirus. HBR offers 15 articles per month for free after registering on their website.

IBISWorld. Industry analyis of COVID-19 with articles webinars and statistics.

Mintel. Provides market research reports in consumer product categories. Provides a weekly update on these industries and COVID-19.

NBER Covid Working Papers. Thousands of NBER working papers on Covid-19 (all open access).

OECD: COVID-19 web-portal. Information on policy responses in countries around the world, along with OECD advice.

Pew Research -- Coronavirus. Research on the effects of COVID-19 across a number of areas.

Project Syndicate. Section on the COV-19 crisis. Commentaries on economics, politics, development, sustainability and innovation from leaders, policymakers, scholars, business, and activists.

SSRN. Links to Interdisciplinary Coronavirus & infectious disease related research (account required).

Wall Street Journal.  Via Proquest, also available via Factiva.

Statistics & Data

Apple Maps Mobility Data. Daily changes in requests for directions by transportation type for countries, regions, sub-regions, and cities.

COVID-19 Open Research Dataset Challenge (CORD-19). Machine-readable literature collection for data mining. Thousands of scholarly articles about COVID-19.

Coronavirus Tracker. Tracks tech startup layoffs of employees laid off since the coronavirus was declared a pandemic. 

Fred: Economic COVID-19 Data Tracking. Dashboard with a focus on the impact from the COVID-19 pandemic, from the Federal Reserve.

Google COVID-19 Community Mobility Reports. Mobility changes in response to policies aimed at combating COVID-19. Charts movement trends over time by many geographies.

Homebase Coronavirus (COVID-19) Impact Data.  Data illustrating the impact COVID-19 has had on small businesses through the volume of hours worked by employees, the number of businesses open and number of employees working. Updated daily.

Harvard Dataverse: China Data Lab COVID-19. Data resources for COVID-19 including geospatial case counts, policies, and air quality. 

Humanitarian Data Exchange - COVID-19 Data.  Compiled by the Humanitarian Data Exchange.

ICPSR COVID-19 Data Repository. Data examining the social, behavioral, public health, and economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Small Business Administration (SBA) Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) FOIA data. Includes business names, addresses, NAICS codes, zip codes, business type, demographic data, non-profit information, name of lender, jobs supported, and loan amounts. 

SF Chronicle | Bay Area Layoff Tracker. Searchable database that includes company name, number of layoffs, and city. 

Statista dossier on the (COVID-19) pandemic. Provides recent data relating to the ongoing coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic.

Track the Recovery. Combines anonymized data from private firms to provide timely indicators such as employment rates, consumer spending, job postings, industries, and income groups.

US Bureau of Labor Statistics | Effects of COVID-19 Pandemic. Links to BLS datasets available to study COVID 19's effect on employment.

US Census Bureau. Demographic risk factors and economic data on industries impacted by COVID-19. See also the census bureau's experimental data  on Monthly Retail Sales, Small Business Pulse Survey and the Household Pulse Survey.