Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open. Here’s what you need to know.

EndNote: Citation Management: X9: Format Bibliographies

Use this guide to select software, download pdfs, format bibliographies and manage citations and research,

How to: Format Bibliographies

One of the best features of EndNote is formatting your bibliography in almost any style, using a variety of fonts, adapting your favorite style to your own specifications, spacing, numbers or add annotations.

Formatting methods

Method 1: Copy Formatted

  • EndNote > select your Output Style (this is the style of your bibliography).
  • Select references in your library - use control A to select all references.
  • Edit > copy formatted.
  • Open a word document, place the cursor where you want the references to appear.
  • Edt > paste.

Method 2: Export references

  • EndNote > select your Output Style (this is the style of your bibliography)
  • Sort your library; select the references you with to export.
  • Select file name, file type and destination ("Save in:") for your bibliography.
  • Open the text file you have just created in word and edit or print.

Method 3: Drag and drop: (not all word processing programs support this method, MS word does)

  • EndNote > select your Output Style (this is the style of your bibliography)
  • Select citations from your reference library.
  • Hold control key and drag references from the library to your word document.
    -- You can tile your windows: put your cursor on the taskbar; right click the mouse, select show windows side-by-side.

Create a subject bibliography

  • Library > Tools  > Subject Bibliography. Keywords. OK.
  • Subject Terms/ Keywords search box corresponds to the keywords field in your library.
  • Select subject terms to use as subject headings in your bibliography. OK.
  • Your bibliography is formatted on the screen.
  • Click Layout button to modify the layout and style of your bibliography.
  • Click on the tabs, References, Terms, Page Layout and Bibliography Layout.
  • Verify or change the settings.
  • Once your bibliography is set up, display with Print Preview, print, or save. Close.