It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
The Library's rich collection of print books covers all aspects of philosophy studied at UC Berkeley. A growing number of titles are available as digital books.
Print books and individually cataloged electronic books can be found in the Library catalogs OskiCat and Melvyl. Catalog records for print books will show the library location and call number. Links in the catalog records for digital books will take you to the full text.
Collections of philosophy e-books and texts are listed in A-Z Databases under Philosophy as the Subject and Book and Text Collections as the Database Type.
Full text of classic scholarly editions of the works of major philosophers and writers including the dialogues of Plato, the works of Augustine, Luther's sermons, the collected works of Marx and Engels, Jane Austen, Wordsworth, and more.
Collection of literary and non-literary German writing.
Provides electronic access to 133 volumes in the Bibliogthek Deutscher Klassiker, the premier collection of literary and non-literary German writing. The texts included range fromworks of the medieval period to those of major authors of the nineteenth century, and subjects include literature, history, politics, philosophy and theology. In German. The database is currently under construction and should be completed in late 2005.
Works of philosophers writing in French from the Renaissance to 1966.
The texts of Le Corpus are based on editions from the monographic series of the same name published by Librairie Artheme Fayard with the Association pour le Corpus des oeuvres de philosophie en langue francaise under the direction of Michel Serres. The searchable database has 15.9 million words in 452 works, listed in the online bibliography.
A database containing hundreds of e-books published by Oxford University Press in the areas of Biology, Business and Management, Economics and Finance, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Politics , Psychology, Public Health, Religion, and Mathematics.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 750 books and at least 200 new and recently-published books are added each year. [Please note: There are several other modules to this resource; the Library subscribes only to modules listed above.]
A digital library covering the brain and cognitive sciences. Includes reference works, journals, books and conference proceedings. [dates vary]
Provides searchable electronic texts in cognitive and brain sciences. Contains work from both from the MIT Press, as well as links to resources from other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals.
Full text books and articles on the nature of social behavior and organization, by theorists such as Jean Baudrillard, Emile Durkheim, Karl Marx, Talcott Parsons, Mary Wollstonecraft and many others.
Features 48,300 pages of content by such major theorists as Jean Baudrillard, Ulrich Beck, Howard Becker, Nancy Chodorow, Emile Durkheim, Norbert Elias, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Erving Goffman, Karl Marx, Robert Merton, and Talcott Parsons, Mary Wollstonecraft and others. An advanced search interface allows sophisticated textual analyses of the included text.
A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. (Hathi Trust)
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.