It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
Scholarly online encyclopedias and dictionaries on philosophy, aesthetics, consciousness and more.
Access to a number of reference sources published by Oxford University Press on philosophers, world philosophy, aesthetics, consciousness, and more. Search all sources collectively or search within an individual title.
Scholarly online dictionaries and encyclopedias on classical literature and civilization from Oxford University Press.
Access to a number of dictionaries published by Oxford University Press on the topic of classical literature and civilization. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title. Titles include: The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, Who's Who in the Classical World, The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin, The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English).
Use these resources to find reviews of philosophy books.
Major subjects covered include: aesthetics, metaphysics, epistemology, logic, philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, political and social philosophy, and the philosophy of disciplines such as anthropology, education, history and science. (Philosophers Index) [1940 - present]
Includes references to journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews published in some 550 journals.
Book reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
The International Bibliography of Book Reviews in Scholarly Literature in the Humanities and Social Sciences indexes over 830,000 book reviews with subject listings in German and English. [Thanks to the Library's participation in a joint Germa0merican document delivery project called GBV, the Library can obtain copies of IBR articles from German partners in digital form quickly at no additional cost to users via Interlibrary Borrowing Services.]
Part of Web of Knowledge that indexes over 1,000 leading arts and humanities journals, and allows searching of citations as well as subsequent articles that cite an article. (Web of Science) [1975 - present]
Index of thousands of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Periodicals Contents Index) [1802 - 1995]
Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of over 700 journals published between 1802 and 2005.
Archival print copies of UC Berkeley dissertations written before 2010 are shelved at NRLF and are available for use in the Library. Dissertations written since 2010 are available in digital format only. Search for Berkeley dissertations in OskiCat by author, title or department. The full-text of Berkeley dissertations written since 1996 is available in the databases listed below.
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California. (Dissertations & Theses - Proquest Digital Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) - Dissertation Abstracts - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global) [1861 - present]
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Contains detailed etymological analyses that trace word development through time and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English-language sources.
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Entries contain detailed etymological analyses that trace word development through time and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English-language sources.
Based on the 12th edition of Le Grand Robert de la langue francaise (2001), it is the most complete French dictionary. Contains more than 100,000 entries, 325,000 quotations, and millions of synonyms and cross-references to related sources such as Petit Robert des noms propres (2004) and the bibliographie generale du Grand Robert. Advanced exploratory features for usage, derivation, variation, and etymologies of individual words.
Full text biliingual dictionaries including English to Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Online versions of the following titles: Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary, Oxford-Duden German Dictionary, Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary, Oxford Spanish Dictionary, and the Oxford Russian Dictionary.