It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.
These databases index journal articles, chapters of books, (and sometimes) books, and book reviews relevant to religious studies. You can research a topic by searching for authors or subject terms relevant to your research. A few of these databases include the full text of the articles, but most of them use UC-eLinks to take you to the full-text of the article you are interested in. For articles not available online, UC-eLinks will search the Melvyl catalog for a print copy of the journal. Article databases are listed in A-Z Databases, where they can be searched for by keyword or subject.
An index to the research literature of religion, including Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. (ATLAS) [1949 - present]
Indexes scholarly journals, books, edited volumes worldwide, and book reviews related to religion and theology, representing a wide selection of Christian traditions (including Catholic, Orthodox, Protestant, Evangelical, and Pentecostal), Islam, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Shinto, Taoism, Confucianism, and other religious traditions.
Part of Web of Knowledge that indexes over 1,000 leading arts and humanities journals, and allows searching of citations as well as subsequent articles that cite an article. (Web of Science) [1975 - present]
Both bibliographic databases ceased in 2015 but are freely available through INIST-CNRS. FRANCIS indexes over 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other European sources covering the humanities and social sciences (1972-2015). PASCAL offers bibliographic indexing of core scientific literature, and provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage for science, technology, and medicine with special emphasis on European content (1984-2015).
The PASCAL-FRANCIS Archive will become progressively enriched with other document types and with records of partners having previously cooperated with PASCAL and FRANCIS.
Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Index of journals on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. [1906 - present]
Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
The Library collects both print and online religious studies journals with preference given to the online format when both are available. You can find religious studies journals in a variety of ways.
Search for a known journal title in OskiCat or Melvyl and follow the link to journal website. If the journal (or desired issue) is not available online, you will need the library location and call number to retrieve the print edition.
Choose journal titles from a list of electronic journals arranged by subject. From E-Journal Titles A-Z, choose Category: Arts & Humanities; SubCategory: Religion.
Use the Citation Linker to retrieve the full text if you have a citation to a specific article in a journal.
Note: Using ATLA Religion Database or another article database is a more efficient way to discover articles on a particular topic than browsing through individual journal issues.