It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.
The Library's rich collection of print books covers all aspects of religious studies taught at UC Berkeley. A growing number of titles are available as digital books.
Print books and individually cataloged electronic books can be found in the Library catalogs OskiCat and Melvyl. Catalog records for print books will show the library location and call number. Links in the catalog records for digital books will take you to the full text.
Collections of religious studies e-books and texts are listed in A-Z Databases under Religious Studies as the Subject and Book and Text Collections as the Database Type.
Contains complete texts of 68 printed volumes, from the two January volumes published in 1643 and the Propylaeum of December published in 1940.
Contains complete texts of 68 printed volumes, from the two January volumes published in 1643 and the Propylaeum of December published in 1940. Includes the Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina (BHL) reference numbers widely used by scholars to identify hagiographical texts. Records details of life in early and medieval Europe, relying heavily on hagiographical literature, specifically on the texts published by the Societe des Bollandistes.
Twenty versions of the English-language Bible including the most significant texts from Tyndale to the King James and the Coverdale, Bishops' and Geneva Bibles.
Contains twenty versions of the English-language Bible including the most significant texts from Tyndale to the King James and the Coverdale, Bishops' and Geneva Bibles. Part of the Literature Online collection.
Indexes over 125,000 volumes of early works printed in England or in English. These works constitute a significant portion of items included in the English Short Title Catalogue. It contains most of the works listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Items published in Great Britain and its colonies during the 18th century. (18th Century Collections Online - 18th Century Collection Online - Eighteenth Century Collection Online) [1700-1800]
Contains over 180,000 items published in Great Britain and its colonies, including those in North America, during the 18th Century. This database complements the materials found in Early English Books Online (EEBO), which covers 1475-1700. The resource is thus a rich source of information about the American and French Revolutions and the Age of Reason, scientific and medical advances, literature, law, religion, industry, and all aspects of 18th Century life in Britain and its colonies.
A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. (Hathi Trust)
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Out-of-print classical religious Hebrew and Yiddish texts and periodicals.
Over 50,000 out-of-print classical religious Hebrew and Yiddish texts and periodicals. Freely available both for study and downloading. All searching is in Hebrew characters and a keyboard for input is provided. In Hebrew.
Searchable online version of The King James or Authorized Version of the Bible presents the full text with all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables.
The King James or 'Authorized' edition of the Bible (1611). A freely available version of the King James Bible (American Bible Society version, 1999) is also available on Bartleby.com Part of the Literature Online collection.
A database containing hundreds of e-books published by Oxford University Press in the areas of Biology, Business and Management, Economics and Finance, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Politics , Psychology, Public Health, Religion, and Mathematics.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 750 books and at least 200 new and recently-published books are added each year. [Please note: There are several other modules to this resource; the Library subscribes only to modules listed above.]
Digital version of the series of registers and letters of the popes from the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries, preserved in the Archivio Segreto Vaticano in Rome. (Brepols)
Specifically includes the Registres et lettres des Papes du XIIIe siecle (published in Rome in 32 volumes starting in 1883) and the Registres et lettres des Papes du XIVe siecle (in 48 volumes; Rome, begun in 1899). These two sets are also complemented with unpublished information relative to these primary source materials on papal history. Contains more than 220,000 documents providing insights into the most varied aspects of medieval society.
Electronic version of the 221 volumes of the first edition of Jacque-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. [AD 200 - AD 1216]
Electronic version of the 221 volumes of the first edition of Jacque-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
Consisting of scanned images of the 161 volumes of J.-P. Migne's Patrologiae cursus completus--Series graeca (1857-1866). (Patrologia Graecae)
Consisting of scanned images of the 161 volumes of J.-P. Migne's Patrologiae cursus completus--Series graeca (1857-1866). Included are texts from the age of the Apostolic Fathers, beginning with Clement of Rome (Pope from 88-97), up to 1439, the date of the Council of Florence.
Collection of Jewish texts. Includes rabbinic case-law rulings, and the Bible. (Bar-Ilan Responsa Project - Online Responsa Project - Judaica Responsa - Global Jewish Database)
Also includes the Talumd and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law, codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Aruch; Midrashim, Zohar, Responsa, etc. Access to the Talmudic Encyclopedia also included. Requires Adobe Flash player. In Hebrew.Click on 'login' on the home page taskbar to get to search screen on the right sidebar to gain access.
