It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
For comprehensive lists of article databases, rhetoric students should use the A-Z Databases list and search by the broad Subject category (e.g. Law and Legal Studies) that most closely relates to their research interests. Below is a selective list of databases that are particularly useful for interdisciplinary topics related to rhetoric.
These databases index journal articles, chapters of books, (and sometimes) books, and book reviews. You can research a topic by searching for authors or subject terms relevant to your research. A few of these databases include the full text of the articles, but most of them use UC-eLinks to take you to the full-text of the article you are interested in. For articles not available online, UC-eLinks will search the Melvyl catalog for a print copy of the journal.
An online collection of thousands of books of high quality in the humanities. (American Council of Learned Societies Humanities e-Book Collection)
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.
Correspondence between 18th century thinkers, writers and their friends and families.
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.
Digitized collection of original manuscript and printed documents from around the world to support research in the field of colonial and empire studies. [1492-1962]
Includes 70,000 images of original manuscript and printed documents to support study and research in the field of colonial and empire studies. Five sections include: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c. 1607-1969. In addition to original documents, this database contains scholarly essays and analysis.
Encyclopedia and guide to concepts in semiotics, sign theory, and cultural studies such as theories, theorists, schools of thought, issues in communications, cognition, and cultural theory.
Target audience is students and scholars interested in language, symbols, and the transmission of information. Entries are written by scholars in the fields of anthropology, literary theory, linguistics, and philosophy.
Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of many journals. (International Humanities Index - American Humanities Index) [1927 - present]
Includes all data from Humanities International Index. Subjects covered include archaeology, literature, religion, art, dance, theater, folklore, history, African-American studies, law, women's studies, and more.
The International Bibliography of Periodical Literature in the Humanities and Social Sciences indexes over 5600 journals worldwide, specializing in the humanities and the social sciences. [1993 - present]
Thanks to the Library's participation in a joint Germa0merican document delivery project called GBV, the Library can obtain copies of IBR articles from German partners in digital form quickly at no additional cost to users via Interlibrary Borrowing Services.
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
The only existing series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.
Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture -- in short, our entire classical heritage is represented here in convenient and well-printed pocket volumes in which an up-to-date text and accurate and literate English translation face each other page by page. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.
Authoritative multidisciplinary research guides, including annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia entries, covering the humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to carefully selected articles and other reference sources in the following areas: African Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature.
Both bibliographic databases ceased in 2015 but are freely available through INIST-CNRS. FRANCIS indexes over 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other European sources covering the humanities and social sciences (1972-2015). PASCAL offers bibliographic indexing of core scientific literature, and provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage for science, technology, and medicine with special emphasis on European content (1984-2015).
The PASCAL-FRANCIS Archive will become progressively enriched with other document types and with records of partners having previously cooperated with PASCAL and FRANCIS.
Full text of classic scholarly editions of the works of major philosophers and writers including the dialogues of Plato, the works of Augustine, Luther's sermons, the collected works of Marx and Engels, Jane Austen, Wordsworth, and more.
Index of thousands of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Periodicals Contents Index) [1802 - 1995]
Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of over 700 journals published between 1802 and 2005.
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
Search social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform.
An interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.
Full text books and articles on the nature of social behavior and organization, by theorists such as Jean Baudrillard, Emile Durkheim, Karl Marx, Talcott Parsons, Mary Wollstonecraft and many others.
Features 48,300 pages of content by such major theorists as Jean Baudrillard, Ulrich Beck, Howard Becker, Nancy Chodorow, Emile Durkheim, Norbert Elias, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Erving Goffman, Karl Marx, Robert Merton, and Talcott Parsons, Mary Wollstonecraft and others. An advanced search interface allows sophisticated textual analyses of the included text.
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).
Online annual narrative survey of important publications in critical and cultural theory. Explores significant contemporary debates and issues in fields such as multiculturalism, feminism, Black cultural studies, poetics, psychoanalysis and more. (Years Work)
Part of the Year's Work in English Studies through 1990, YWCCT is an annual selective survey of the key debates and trends in critical and cultural theory. Chapter topics vary from year to year as do the length of the essays, but each chapter reviews key publications in such topics as Colonial Discourse/Postcolonial Theory, Black Cultural Studies, Film Theory, Theatre and Performance, Translation Studies, Testimony, Continental Philosophy.