Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

JAPAN 100S: Japanese for Sinologists (Spring 2013): News

This course guide points to library print and electronic sources for research in Japanese on Chinese subjects

Newspaper Articles

Here is a short list of newspaper article databases and print reproductions of Japanese newspapers: 

Asahi Kikuzo II Visual: Full text access to 朝日新聞 (1879-present) and Historical Photo Archive, containing ca. 10,000 pieces of historical photographs taken in Asia and Europe from the 1930s to 1945 

Factiva: Provides access, mostly to full text, to nearly nine thousand business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, and wire services; includes major Japanese newspapers such as 読売新聞, 毎日新聞, and 産経新聞 (warning: covers only recent years)

Nikkei Telecom 21: Full text access to 日本経済新聞 (1876/12/2-1961/12/31, and 1981/10-present), 日経産業新聞 (1981/10-present), 日経流通新聞 (1985/10-present), and 日経金融新聞 (1987/10-2008/1) is provided; it also offers English sources such as Nikkei English News, Nikkei Weekly and translations of major articles from the above-mentioned Japanese newspapers, as well as Nikkei Company Profile (30,000 company profiles) and Nikkei Who's Who (20,000 corporate executive profiles).

Shinbun shūsei Meiji hennenshi 新聞集成明治編年史 / [編纂代表 中山泰昌]: Selected articles from numeous Japanese newspapers in the Meiji period in chronological order.

Shinbun shūsei Shōwa hennenshi 新聞集成昭和編年史: Selected articles from numeous Japanese newspapers in the Showa period in chronological order.

Shinbun shūsei Taishō hennenshi 新聞集成大正編年史 / 明治大正昭和新聞研究会編: Selected articles from numeous Japanese newspapers in the Taisho period in chronological order.

Yomidasu Rekishikan ヨミダス歴史館: Full text access to Yomiuri shibun 読売新聞 (1874-present) and Daily Yomiuri (1989-present). The database also provides dictionaries (Japanese/English,  English/Japanese, or new words dictionaries) to look up definitions and biographies, just by highlighting any words in the article and clicking dictionary buttons