Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

JAPAN 185: Introduction to Japanese Cinema (Spring 2013): Books

This course guide points to library print and electronic sources for research in Japanese cinema

Library Catalogs

For books and e-books offered by the UC Berkeley Library, consult the Library's Find Books and E-Books page first. For Japanese e-books, search OskiCat for title: EBSCO. Japanese online monograpphs, or Maruzen eBook Library online monographs. Some English e-books on Japan are published open access, such as those published by the University of Michigan Center for Japanese Studies. In the U.S.-based catalogs such as OskiCat, Japanese language materials can be searched either using original Japanese scripts (ひらがな, カタカナ, 漢字) or the modified Hepburn Romanization (transliteration) system. LC (Library of Congress) and ALA (American Library Association) Romanization Table for Japanese offers detailed explanation of the guidelines that most U.S. libraries follow when romanizing Japanese materials.

In Melvyl, WorldCat, etc., click on the REQUEST or UC-eLinks button for Inter-library loan requests. UC Berkeley faculty, registered graduate students, and staffs can also borrow materials from Stanford University Library through Research Library Cooperative Program (RLCP). 

For books held by libraries in Japan, use the following databases to locate materials:

For books published in Japan, use the following databases:

  • BookPlus: Indexes to monographs published in Japan since 1926. Summaries and tables of contents are available for the books published since 1986. Author information is provided for the books published since 2001. Classified lists of latest publications for the past two weeks are also available.   

For dissertations held by libraries in Japan, use the following databases to locate materials:

Possible Starting Points

Eiga no hon no hon 映画の本の本. Call No.: East Asian PN1995 .S488 2002

Eiga, ongaku, geinō no hon zenjōhō 映画・音楽・芸能の本全情報 2000-2004. Call No.: East Asian Ref. PN2921 .E44 2005 

Engeki eiga tosho sōmokuroku 演劇・映画 図書 総目録. Call No.: East Asian PL734.A12 E5

Jiten eiga no tosho 事典映画の図書. Call No.: East Asian Ref. Z5784.M9 T75 1989

Kawakita Kinen Eiga Bunka Zaidan dētabēsu 川喜多記念映画文化財団 データベース検索: Database covers books and journals held by the institue; searchable by keywords from table of contents 

Research guide to Japanese film studies / Abé Mark Nornes and Aaron Gerow. Call No.: Main (Gardner) Stacks PN1993.5.J3 N67 2009

Tōkyō Kokuritsu Kindai Bijutsukan tosho kensaku 東京国立近代美術館 図書検索: Database covers the holdings of the National Film Center.