Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

JAPAN 234: Seminar in Classical Japanese Drama: “Noh Texts and Contexts” (Spring 2013): Reference

This course guide points to library print and electronic sources for research in Classical Japanese Drama with special focus on Noh

Useful Websites for Noh Research

Here is a list of selected useful websites for research on Noh:

Bunka Dejitaru Raiburarī 文化デジタルライブラリー: Provided by the Japan Arts Council to support research and learning of the Japanese traditional performing arts; the Council also offers Introduction to Noh & Kyogen

Japanese Performing Arts Resource Center (JPARC): An online resource center for research on and the study of the performing arts of Japan

Noh Translations: Noh Plays in Alphabetical Order of the Japanese Titles: A bibliography provided by Michael Watson, covering 253 plays in the repertoire of the five schools. 

the-noh 能.com: A gateway to the Noh.

Following are selected academic institutions from Japan relevant for the study of Noh:

Texts and Translations

Following resources are useful to locate citations for texts and translations:

Following are selected sources that offer online texts:

Reference Books

Here is a list of selected reference materials:

Heian bungaku kenkyū handobukku 平安文学硏究ハンドブック / 田中登, 山本登朗編. Call No.: East Asian PL726.2 .H415 2004 

Historical dictionary of Japanese traditional theatre / Samuel L. Leiter. Call No.: East Asian Reference PN2921 .L45 2006 

Ii-ke denrai nōmen hyakushi 井伊家伝来能面百姿 / 増田正造編. Call No.: East Asian Special Collections fGT1748.J3 I37 1983

Ii-ke denrai nōshōzoku hyakushi 井伊家伝来能装束百姿 / 切畑健, 増田正造編. Call No.: East Asian Special Collections fGT1748.J3 I38 1983

JapanKnowledge: Provides access to basic Japanese reference sources including encyclopedias and dictionaries (e.g., 日本大百科全書, 日本国語大辞典, 國史大辭典, Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.) as well as 東洋文庫 and 新編日本古典文学全集 series.

Kyōgen jiten 狂言辞典 / 古川久編. Call No.: East Asian 5914.4220 v.3

Kyōgenmen : kanshō to uchikata 狂言面 : 鑑賞と打ち方 / 小林責, 神田佳明, 岩崎久人. Call No.: East Asian Special Collections PN2071.M37 K63 2004 

Nihon koten bungaku kenkyūshi daijiten 日本古典文学研究史大事典 / 西沢正史, 徳田武編. Call No.: East Asian Reference PL726.1 .N462 1997 

Nōgaku daijiten 能楽大事典 / 小林責, 西哲生, 羽田昶: Call No.: East Asian Reference   PN2924.5.N6 K5415 2012

Nō kyōgen jiten 能。狂言事典 / 編集委員西野春雄, 羽田昶: Call No.: East Asian PN2924.5.N6 N535 1987

Nōmen 能面 / 中西通著 ; 今駒清則写真. Call No.: East Asian Special Collections fGT1748.J3 N3 

Omote Kanze Sō-ke nōmen 観世宗家能面 / 観世清和監修 ; 林義勝写真 ; [文増田正造]. Call No.: East Asian Special Collections fGT1748.J3 O46 2002

Guides for Special Subjects

Following are guides for special topics and types of materials in classical Japanese literature:

Shibai banzuke 芝居番付 (contributed by the National Diet Library)

Waka/Haiku 和歌・俳句 (contributed by the National Diet Library)