Details on the NIH requirements are found on their Data Management and Sharing Policy website, which includes:
See also the Data Management and Sharing Plan Checklist for Researchers, from the Working Group on NIH DMSP Guidance.
Use the DMPTool to create your data management plan. The DMPTool provides a click-through wizard for creating a DMP that complies with funder requirements, and includes DMP templates. Free to use for UCB researchers.
UC Berkeley Library has prepared Guidance for Data Management and Sharing Costs on NIH Budget Requests (docx).
Questions? Ask a librarian!
Grantsmanship for New Investigators
This compact resource analyzes and demystifies the processes of applying for, competing for, and getting funding for research. Neither a cookbook nor a template, it encourages readers to apply the critical thinking and attention to detail they use in their investigations to the pursuit of the grant. Chapters delve into choosing among funding options, project planning and writing, filling out the materials in the application packet, and troubleshooting for problems at various steps of the journey. Along the way, the authors also explore common myths of grantsmanship and alert readers to hidden pitfalls that can get an otherwise good submission rejected. Among the core skill areas covered: · Using strategic thinking throughout the application process · Understanding the major grant mechanisms · Navigating the grant timeline, including the peer review and the vetting process · Writing the effective project description · Following up if the project is not funded or funding is deferred · Building a career grant by grant Brimming with expert knowledge, Grantsmanship for New Investigators ably balances motivation with realism. The authors' deep understanding and experience of how funding agencies arrive at judgments will inspire readers to present their research in the most convincing manner.
Guide to Effective Grant Writing
Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant, 2nd edition is a fully updated follow-up to the popular original. It is written to help the 100,000+ post-graduate students and professionals who need to write effective proposals for grants. There is little or no formal teaching about the process of writing grants for NIH, and many grant applications are rejected due to poor writing and weak formulation of ideas. Procuring grant funding is the central key to survival for any academic researcher in the biological sciences; thus, being able to write a proposal that effectively illustrates one's ideas is essential. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, this volume offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. Included are a number of specimen proposals to help shed light on the important issues surrounding the writing of proposals. The Guide is a clear, straight-forward, and reader-friendly tool. Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant Writing is based on Dr. Yang's extensive experience serving on NIH grant review panels; it covers the common mistakes and problems he routinely witnesses while reviewing grants.
How the NIH Can Help You Get Funded: an insider's guide to grant strategy
How the NIH Can Help You Get Funded takes a novel, non-formulaic approach in teaching readers how to "write a grant" -- and much more. The authors draw on their decades of experience working with both investigators and NIH personnel to anticipate their questions and concerns and help establish a comfortable, productive partnership between them. With this book's focus on applying this knowledge to their personal grant strategy, readers will learn: · how the NIH operates at the corporate level, as well as the culture and policies of individual institutes and centers · how the NIH budget evolves over the course of a fiscal year and why the timing is important · how to customize NIH Web site searches and use the data to increase chances of success · how to identify appropriate program officers, study sections, and funding opportunities The authors advise readers on developing each component of the grant application in order of the components' influence on the final impact score. Individual funding mechanisms are reviewed along with grantsmanship tips specific to each. Readers learn the importance of reviewer-friendly formatting and organization of the text. The final chapters cover next steps after the application has been submitted-before, during, and after the review and funding decision. Strategies for resubmitting or repurposing applications are provided for those readers whose applications do not receive awards. The authors likewise anticipate the needs of readers who do receive funding but have questions on managing and maintaining their award. Amid ever-increasing competition for government research grants, How the NIH Can Help You Get Funded is an invaluable manual for how to pursue -- and sustain -- NIH funding.
Successful Grant Writing for Health and Human Service Professionals, Fifth Edition
Following in the tradition of its previous editions, the updated and fully revised fifth edition of this classic guide to grant writing is especially written for health and human service professionals. It provides a comprehensive, systematic, and easy-to-follow, step-wise guide to writing competitive grant proposals for research, education, innovative practices and demonstration projects. Never has the need to advance evidence to improve the health of the public been greater. Generating evidence requires funding and grant writing has become an essential activity for every health and human service professional who must seek funds to advance innovative research, education and practice initiatives.Uniquely focused on developing grant-writing skills as part of a professional's career, this one-of-a-kind guide addresses the full range of essential competencies needed to assure success. The new edition expands coverage on how to compose an effective aims page, how to write a compelling literature review to support significance of a proposal, and describes considerations for specific types of study designs. Additionally, the guide provides a more extensive discussion of mentorship, plus tips for pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows. New to the Fifth Edition: Spotlights important new trends that can make or break grant success Features Professional Spotlights reflecting the experiences and advice from successful grant writers - from novice to expert Highlights special considerations for pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows Examines how to write an effective grant application for specific types of study designs Explains how to craft compelling statements about significance and innovation Provides guidelines on mentorship Covers ways to manage post-award activities and offers strategies and templates for documenting grant progress Key Features: Key summary points in every chapter Case examples throughout Strategies for managing a grant writing team and post-award activities Considerations in building a grant writing career and matching your level of experience to funding mechanisms Testimonies from novices and experts describing their unique grant writing experiences
Writing Dissertation and Grant Proposals: epidemiology, preventive medicine and biostatistics by
This text targets effective grant proposal writing in epidemiology, preventive medicine, and biostatistics. It provides summary checklists and step-by-step guidelines for grant structure and style, critical do's and don'ts that aid in writing solid grant proposals, and broader strategies for developing a research funding portfolio. Written by an established NIH reviewer with an impressive track record of funding, the book demonstrates proven tactics with extensive examples from successfully funded proposals. It serves as a virtual cookbook of the ingredients needed to construct a winning grant proposal.
Creating Fundable Grant Proposals: profiles of innovative partnerships by
Grant money can make all the difference in developing new services, creating worldwide access to your unique collections, or enabling you to showcase awarded projects that advance your career. But competition for grants is as fierce as ever. To get a leg up, you need an insider who will share proven strategies for success. In this book, Bess G. de Farber, who has led the management of 187 awarded grant projects from under $5,000 to more than $1 million at the University of Florida, does just that. Drawing from profiles of 57 grant proposals, sponsored by 31 funders including federal agencies, foundations, and library organizations, her detailed 10-step workflow guides you through submitting and managing collaborative grant proposals. You will learn about successful projects related to digitization, preservation, research, technology, and more, including such initiatives as digital publishing on Black life, audio of the sounds of the Panama Canal, digitization of scientific fieldwork from the 1960s, and supporting learning with smart pens; the crucial components of a fundable project plan, with a particular emphasis on collaboration, both internally and with external organizations; the fundamentals of crafting your own grant proposal, using as models the successful grant proposals included in full, with budgets, as weblinks; how to recruit partners and shape ideas; ways to incorporate assets and supporting materials into your plan; and advice on anticipating the unexpected, how to stay in communication with your partners while the proposal is being reviewed, what to do once you receive notification, and fostering a culture of grantsmanship at your institution.
Grantsmanship for New Investigators by
This compact resource analyzes and demystifies the processes of applying for, competing for, and getting funding for research. Neither a cookbook nor a template, it encourages readers to apply the critical thinking and attention to detail they use in their investigations to the pursuit of the grant. Chapters delve into choosing among funding options, project planning and writing, filling out the materials in the application packet, and troubleshooting for problems at various steps of the journey. Along the way, the authors also explore common myths of grantsmanship and alert readers to hidden pitfalls that can get an otherwise good submission rejected. Among the core skill areas covered: · Using strategic thinking throughout the application process · Understanding the major grant mechanisms · Navigating the grant timeline, including the peer review and the vetting process · Writing the effective project description · Following up if the project is not funded or funding is deferred · Building a career grant by grant Brimming with expert knowledge, Grantsmanship for New Investigators ably balances motivation with realism. The authors' deep understanding and experience of how funding agencies arrive at judgments will inspire readers to present their research in the most convincing manner.
The Grants Register 2023 by
The Grants Register 2023 is the most authoritative and comprehensive guide available of postgraduate and professional funding worldwide. It contains international coverage of grants in almost 60 countries, both English and non-English speaking; information on subject areas, level of study, eligibility and value of awards; and information on over 6,000 awards provided by over 1,300 awarding bodies. Awarding bodies are arranged alphabetically with a full list of awards to allow for comprehensive reading. The Register contains full contact details including telephone, fax, email and websites as well as details of application procedures and closing dates. It is updated annually to ensure accurate information.
Grant Writing for Dummies by
Write award-winning grant proposals that build organizational capacity! For nonprofit and for-profit firms alike, grants can be a singular generator of growth and impact. But many leaders are intimidated and confused by the sometimes-complex grant application process. The truth, however, is that anyone can learn to write and send a powerful grant letter with the right help. In Grant Writing For Dummies, Dr. Beverly Browning draws on over four decades of experience writing grant applications and training grant writers to deliver a comprehensive and easy-to-follow roadmap to drafting and submitting grant applications that get funded. You'll learn to craft the strongest application possible, find the best sources of funding from online databases, and present a realistic project budget plan. You'll also find: Example types of funding requests that demonstrate how to apply the concepts discussed in the book New and updated material walking you through the entire grant-writing process, from beginning to end Writing techniques that capture the imaginations of grant reviewers who decide which applicants walk away empty-handed and which ones receive cash Whether you're looking to fund your nonprofit, grow your business, or develop your research venture, you'll find the guidance you need in Grant Writing For Dummies.
Grant Writing for Medical and Healthcare Professionals by
Conducting research requires resources to meet the research need. The resources in the research institutes/ centers are often inadequate, limiting the research outcome. Research grants help overcome those limitations and help the researchers carry out quality research without any restriction. Grant proposal writing is an essential skill to be mastered by every researcher. However, the majority of the medical schools, except the few research institutes, do not have a structured learning module for obtaining grants. On most occasions, the skill of writing grant proposals goes by self-learning. For students, it is burdening due to the tremendous time consumed to learn the craft of writing the grant proposal and the exhausting clinical and academic work. This book is carefully prepared to keep in mind the difficulties faced by the young researchers and the students concerning choosing a funding agency, grant makers' expectations, budgeting, surveillance and site visits, rights of the researcher and the funding agency, and ethical and legal aspects of obtaining the grant. The book also covers the alternate plan for partial funding or interruption of the financing, reporting the source of funding and acknowledgment, good clinical practice guidelines, and dealing with the rejected grant proposal. The research projects are often dropped or modified extensively due to the limited resources in the existing facility. The researchers are forced to compromise the research objective due to expensive requirements. There is a shortage of awareness regarding the availability of funding and grant for the conduct of research. Even if the researchers are aware of obtaining the financing, there is a lack of training in grant proposal writing, which is essential in getting the research funding. This book on grant proposal writing for medical and healthcare professionals covers such difficulties and deficiencies. It will provide complete companionship from knowing the funding agency to obtaining the grant.
Grant Writing from the Ground Up by
A career in science relies on developing the skill to convince strangers to give you enormous sums of money. So why do so many scientists write terrible research proposals? Grant Writing from the Ground Up presents a step-by-step process to construct compelling grant proposals that rise to the top of a reviewer's stack.
The Grant Writing Guide: A Road Map for Scholars by
A practical guide to effective grant writing for researchers at all stages of their academic careers Grant funding can be a major determinant of promotion and tenure at colleges and universities, yet many scholars receive no training in the crucial skill of grant writing. The Grant Writing Guide is an essential handbook for writing research grants, providing actionable strategies for professionals in every phase of their careers, from PhD students to seasoned researchers. This easy-to-use guide features writing samples, examples of how researchers use skills, helpful tips, and exercises. Drawing on interviews with scores of grant writers, program officers, researchers, administrators, and writers, it lays out best practices, common questions, and pitfalls to avoid. Betty Lai focuses on skills that are universal to all grant writers, not just specific skills for one type of grant or funder. She explains how to craft phenomenal pitches and align them with your values, structure timelines and drafts, communicate clearly in prose and images, solicit feedback to strengthen your proposals, and much more. Ideal for course use, The Grant Writing Guide is an indispensable road map to writing fundable grants. This incisive book walks you through every step along the way, from generating ideas to finding the right funder, determining which grants help you create the career you want, and writing in a way that excites reviewers and funders.
Successful Grant Writing for Health and Human Service Professionals by
Following in the tradition of its previous editions, the updated and fully revised fifth edition of this classic guide to grant writing is especially written for health and human service professionals. It provides a comprehensive, systematic, and easy-to-follow, step-wise guide to writing competitive grant proposals for research, education, innovative practices and demonstration projects. Never has the need to advance evidence to improve the health of the public been greater. Generating evidence requires funding and grant writing has become an essential activity for every health and human service professional who must seek funds to advance innovative research, education and practice initiatives. Uniquely focused on developing grant-writing skills as part of a professional's career, this one-of-a-kind guide addresses the full range of essential competencies needed to assure success. The new edition expands coverage on how to compose an effective aims page, how to write a compelling literature review to support significance of a proposal, and describes considerations for specific types of study designs. Additionally, the guide provides a more extensive discussion of mentorship, plus tips for pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows. New to the Fifth Edition: Spotlights important new trends that can make or break grant success Features Professional Spotlights reflecting the experiences and advice from successful grant writers - from novice to expert Highlights special considerations for pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows Examines how to write an effective grant application for specific types of study designs Explains how to craft compelling statements about significance and innovation Provides guidelines on mentorship Covers ways to manage post-award activities and offers strategies and templates for documenting grant progress Key Features: Key summary points in every chapter Case examples throughout Strategies for managing a grant writing team and post-award activities Considerations in building a grant writing career and matching your level of experience to funding mechanisms Testimonies from novices and experts describing their unique grant writing experiences
Writing Grant Proposals in Epidemiology, Preventive Medicine, and Biostatistics by
Competition for research funds in epidemiology, preventive medicine and biostatistics is highly competitive and at the same time, the grant application and review process at such agencies at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) has undergone substantial revisions. Writing Grant Proposals in Epidemiology, Preventive Medicine, and Biostatistics, Second Edition targets effective grant proposal writing in this highly competitive and evolving environment. Covering all aspects of the proposal writing process, the updated second edition: *Includes new chapters on Fellowship Grants and Career Development Awards designed for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and early-career faculty *Provides strategies to highlight the "overall impact" of the grant, one of the most important aspects determining NIH funding in a new chapter on Significance and Innovation *Provides step-by-step guidelines for grant structure and style alongside broader strategies for developing a research funding portfolio *Explains how to avoid common errors and pitfalls, supplying critical dos and don'ts that aid in writing solid grant proposals *Illustrates key concepts with extensive examples from successfully funded proposals Written by an established NIH reviewer with inside knowledge and an impressive track record of funding, Writing Grant Proposals in Epidemiology, Preventive Medicine, and Biostatistics, Second Edition is an essential cookbook of the appropriate ingredients needed to construct a winning grant proposal. The text is not only relevant for early-stage investigators including graduate students, medical students/residents, and postdoctoral fellows, but also valuable for more experienced faculty, clinicians, epidemiologists, and other health professionals who cannot seem to break the barrier to obtain NIH-funded research.
Writing Research Proposals in the Health Sciences: A Step-By-Step Guide by
This is your step-by-step guide on how to write successful research proposals in the health sciences, whether it is for a thesis or dissertation review committee, an ethical review committee or a grant funding committee. Using quantitative, qualitative, and mixed research approaches, follow the journey of Liang and Natasha, two fictional researchers who will help you complete your proposal alongside reading the chapters. This practical guide includes top tips from the authors, read-reflect-respond activities and examples of project plans to equip you with all the tools you need to succeed with your research proposal.
Writing Successful Science Proposals by
An authoritative how-to guide that explains every aspect of science proposal writing This fully revised edition of the authoritative guide to science proposal writing is an essential tool for any researcher embarking on a grant or thesis application. In accessible steps, the authors detail every stage of proposal writing, from conceiving and designing a project to analyzing data, synthesizing results, estimating a budget, addressing reviewer comments, and resubmitting. This new edition is updated to address changes and developments over the past decade, including identifying opportunities and navigating the challenging proposal-funding environment. The only how-to book of its kind, it includes exercises to help readers stay on track as they develop their grant proposals and is designed for those in the physical, life, environmental, biomedical, and social sciences, as well as engineering.