Skip to main content

IAS 150 Development and the Environment: Article Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Alternative Press Index. Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals.

Alt-Press Watch (APW). Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals reporting on politics and government, policy and culture, international issues, education, and the environment.

Eldis.  Materials on development, policy, practice and research.  Thousands of full text documents free to download as well as resource guides and country profiles. 

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Indexes over 3000 journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries.

JSTOR. Includes hundreds of scholarly journals with access to millions of articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) are not yet available.  Includes many DRM free ebooks.

Left Index. A complete guide to the alternative, radical, and leftist literature, with an emphasis on  political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.

PAIS International. Indexes books, journals, government documents, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues.

ProQuest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary meta-search on the ProQuest platform. This incorporates many of the resources listed here.

Project MUSE. Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.

Political Economy Databases

EconLit. The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers).

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research. Citations and full-text access to thousands of working papers, books and book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals in economics.

PAIS International. Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, and conference reports related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues. Includes publications from over 120 countries. 

PolicyFile. Index to public policy in the areas of economics, politics, the environment, and social issues, taken from reports from thinks tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.  Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law, political economy, public administration, and public policy.

Environmental Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database. Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. 

CAB AbstractsIndexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries.

Environment Complete Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, renewable energy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. 

GeoRef. Scholarly journals, books, maps, US and Canadian dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents published worldwide on subjects in the geosciences.

GreenFILE. Scholarly, government, and general-interest titles about human impact on the environment. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Global Databases

Almandumah Arabic DatabaseSix specialized databases for Islamic studies and Islamic law,  humanities, economic and management studies, education, and Dissertations and Thesis.

Africa-Wide Information.  A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on Africa. 

Bibliography of Asian Studies. Citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, of East, South, and Southeast Asia.

China Academic Journals 中国期刊全文数据库. Database of journals published in China. Covers politics, military affairs, law, education, the social sciences, economics, & management.

Handbook of Latin American Studies. Indexes books, journals and proceedings on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars in humanities and social sciences.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries. 

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies. Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalog, Middle East Bibliography, Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database.

PAIS International. Indexes books, journals, government documents, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues.

RedAlycA collection of over 1200 open access scholarly journals covering all aspects of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences published by more than 500 institutions in 22 Ibero-American countries. 

SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online. Collection of open access scholarly online journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in the Global South, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean.

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.