Library Guides: College Writing R4B: Modern Love, Ancient Brains: Articles

Scholarly article databases and journals

All Topics

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).

Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. (Psychological Abstracts, Psychinfo) [1806 - current]
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.

Anthropology

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles, reports, and obituaries covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. (AnthroLit - Tozzer file - Anthropological Index - Anthropological Literature) [Late 19th century - present]
Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. This database combines the resources of Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.

Sociology

News

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Gain insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers.
Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads that illuminate history.

Lists of Databases by Subject Area

Links to Lists of Databases by Subject

Journal Articles

Where's the PDF?

Once you've used an article database to find articles on your topic, you may need to use the UC-eLinks button in order to locate and read the full text of the article.

UC-eLinks will link you to the online full text of an article if UCB has paid for online access; otherwise, UC-eLinks will help you locate a print copy on the shelf in the library. If UCB doesn't own the article in print or online format, UC-eLinks can also help you order a copy from another library.

Connect from off-campus

UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff may access online materials from off-campus using the:

Library Proxy Server
Set up your browser to access licensed article databases, eBooks and eJournals.
VPN (Virtual Private Network)
Download the campus VPN client to access licensed article databases, eBooks and eJournals.

Secondary menu

College Writing R4B: Modern Love, Ancient Brains: Articles

Scholarly article databases and journals

Journal Articles

Where's the PDF?

Connect from off-campus