Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

ISF Globalization and Development: Academic Research

This guide is designed to help students in the Interdisciplinary Studies program.

Articles

Poverty Intervention Databases

Databases are tools to search for articles on topics of your choice.  Most of these articles will be secondary sources: a work that interprets or analyzes an event or phenomenon.  It is generally at least one step removed from the event and is often based on primary sources.  Below are selected databases indexing the literature (books, articles, reports, government documents, etc) of poverty intervention.

Where's the PDF?

Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use UC-eLinks to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is this: when you see the UC-eLinks icon, click on it to view your article access options, which can range from full text to a call number to an Interlibrary Loan request:

screenshot of article in UC-elinks

 

Journals in the field

Poverty & Development Journals

The following is a selection of highly cited journals in the fields of poverty and development.  If looking for articles to support your research try a combined keyword and journal title(s) search in one of the databases listed above. The following entries link directly to the ejournal if all content is online, and to Oskicat if some issues are print only or on multiple platforms.

World Development. Examines solutions to poverty, unemployment, malnutrition, disease, lack of shelter, environmental degradation, debt, gender, ethnic discrimination, civil conflict, and lack of participation in economic and political life.

The Lancet.  One of the world's best known general medical journals, publishing original research,  editorials, book reviews, correspondence,  and news on all aspects of human health, Includes social, economic and political commentary on public health issues, poverty, development, and epidemics.

Journal of Development Studies.  Oldest journal in the field of development studies, publishing interdisciplinary articles on development relating to economics, politics, public policy, and practice. 

Oxford Development Studies.  Provides a forum for critical analysis of conventional theories and policy issues in all aspects of development, including economics, history, politics, anthropology, and sociology. 

Development Policy Review. Covers poverty-reduction strategies, inequality and social exclusion, property rights, sustainable livelihoods, globalisation in trade and finance, and the reform of global governance. Edited by the Overseas Development Institute.

Studies in Comparative International Development.  Addresses political, social, economic, and environmental change, including political institutions, economic growth and income distribution, and the transformation of social structure and culture.

Development and Change.  Interdisciplinary journal known for publishing unconventional analyses in the field of development studies and social change, covering a range of topics from all persuasions concerned with development. 

Journal of International Development.  Research on development issues in economics, politics, international relations, sociology, anthropology, and development studies, focusing on transitional and underdeveloped areas. 

Development.   "Provides dialogue between activists and intellectuals committed to the search for alternative paths of social transformation towards a more sustainable and just world."  From the Society for International Development. 

Third World Quarterly. Examines emerging issues affecting the developing world beyond strict “development studies,” providing analysis of grassroot efforts of development practitioners and planners across Africa, Asia, Latin American and the Middle East.

Some other journals in the field.

Sustainable Development.
European Journal of Development Research.  
Public Administration and Development.
Development in Practice.
Journal of Peasant Studies.
Progress in Development Studies.
African Development Review.
Gender and Development.
Enterprise Development and Microfinance.
Canadian Journal of Development Studies.
IDS Bulletin.