Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.

Online Privacy

Coleman Lab - Wiki-Ed Foundation Student Working Group on Privacy Literacy

Catalogs

To find books, DVDs, maps, sound recordings, manuscripts, and much more - everything except articles - use a library catalog.

OskiCat = most UC Berkeley libraries

MELVYL = all UC campus libraries, including all UC Berkeley libraries

What's the difference?  more details here

For each item make sure you know the name of the physical library, call number, and whether or not it's checked out, library use only, etc.

Call numbers are on the spine of the book; learn how to read them so you can find what you need on the shelves.

Accessing UCB Library Books during the Shutdown

 

Finding UC Berkeley Library books online - Calnet ID required.

Search OskiCat

       (optional). pull down the "entire collection" menu to "available online" to find e-books.

If the book is listed in OskiCat but only in print form, click on the Hathi Trust button to redo the search in Hathi Trust.  Some titles are availalble via the Hathi Trust Emergency Access Service (see below for more details).

More about ebooks (especially useful for very new ebooks).

Oski Xpress - contactless pickup of books from the Main Stacks or Morrison Library (if status says "available")

Calnet ID or UC Berkeley Library Card required.

Instructions for using Oski Xpress service.

Hathi Trust Emergency Access Service

  1. Go to the HathiTrust website: https://www.hathitrust.org
  2. Click Log In.
  3. From the "Choose your partner institution" drop-down menu, search "Berkeley."
  4. Choose "University of California, Berkeley" and click Continue.
  5. You will see a CalNet ID login page. Enter your credentials.
  6. You will see a Data Privacy agreement. Choose your preference and click Accept.
  7. You will be returned to the HathiTrust homepage. Below the search box, next to "Full view only," remove the checkmark.
  8. Enter your keywords and click Search HathiTrust.
  9. Under the book you desire to view, click "Temporary Access."
  10. Click "Check Out."
  11. You will now have access to the scanned book for one hour, after which it will renew automatically, provided you are active and other patrons are not waiting.

Reading for a Class?

If you're "sharing" a book with other students in your class, close out the tab after you finish reading so other students can access the book.

Government Information

Non Profit Organizations

Find Dissertations

Find Dissertations by searching Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) Full Text, which indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published since 1980 include brief abstracts written by the authors and some feature 24-page excerpts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full text coverage for older graduate works.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources. Dissertations completed at UC Berkeley can be found in OskiCat, using the feature allowing you to limit to dissertations/theses:

Dissertations/Theses in Oskicat

Older dissertations not available full text may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.