Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open. Here’s what you need to know.

ISF 110: How to do Social Research: Find Articles

What is Start Your Search?

UC Library Search includes books, articles and more.

Finding Article Databases

Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic.  The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.

1.  Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic.  Examples:  literature, film, anthropology, history...

2.  From the Library home page, select "Databases" and then click on "Browse All Databases." On the next screen, use the drop down menu for All Subjects to find your discipline.

UC Library Search box on library homepage

Select the appropriate academic disciplines and then look for "Recommended" databases.

You have the article information. How do you get the article?

Often you need to find a specific article for which you already have the citation.  How do you do it?

  • Google Scholar If you have the proxy server set up, you may be able to link to a pdf or html file of the article
  • Citation Linker This function of UC-eLinks allows you to search for a specific article without knowing which database it may be listed in.  You may have to study your citation to determine if it's an article, a chapter in a book, or something else, in order to use Citation Linker.

Get it at UC and UC e-Links

Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use UC-eLinks  or Get it at UC Get it at UC icon to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is:

  • When you see either icon, click on it to view your article access options (ex: full text, call number, Interlibrary Loan request, etc.)