Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

ISF 110: How to do Social Research: Books

Oski Xpress - Contactless Pickup of Books from Main Stacks and Morrison

Oski Xpress is available to all borrowers who have current Cal 1 Cards or UC Berkeley Library cards.  

Currently only books held by the Main Stacks and Morrison Libraries with the status "available" are eligible.

     How to use the Oski Xpress pickup service.

Questions or issues?

Check the Library website for more details; check out our Access and Privileges FAQs or contact us

Search the Library Catalogs

Use OskiCat to locate materials related to your topic, including books, government publications, and  audio and video recordings, in the libraries of UC Berkeley. OskiCat will show you the location and availability of the items that we own. More OskiCat help.

 

Use Melvyl to locate materials related to your topic located at other campuses in the UC system, or worldwide. You can use the Request button to request an item from another library, if we don't own it. Detailed Melvyl help.

  • Using Melvyl (but not OskiCat) you can find articles as well as books, and easily format a citation for copying into a bibliography. Melvyl will also show you the location and availablity of items that we have on our campus.

In every catalog you use, not the name of the physical library, call number, and whether or not the item is checked out, library use only, etc.

Call numbers are usually located on the spine of the book; learn how to read them so you can easily find what you need on the shelves.

Google Books

Why use Google Books? Library catalogs (like OskiCat) don't search inside books; using a library catalog, you can search only information about the book (title, author, Library of Congress subject headings, etc.).  Google Books will let you search inside books, which can be very useful for hard-to-find information.  You can then use Google Books' Find in a Library link to locate the book in a UC Berkeley library, or search OskiCat to see if UC Berkeley owns the book. Try it now:

Google Book Search

HathiTrust

HathiTrust (Hathi is pronounced hah-tee) is a partnership of libraries that works towards the goal of developing a shared digital access, preservation, and storage solution for the materials held in the member libraries. The contents of HathiTrust are similar to that of Google Books, but the collecting focus is on scholarly materials and the resource includes content and features (such as indexing and manipulation of results) not available in Google Books.

Downloading PDFs

  • To limit to full view (public domain materials) in your search, check the full view only box.
  • From the full view of any item, click on Download whole book (PDF).
  • Click login.
  • Choose the University of California, Berkeley from the drop down list and click login.
  • Enter your CalNet ID and passphrase.
  • Click Download whole book (PDF).
  • PDF will load and you will choose to either open it or save it.
 
Tips for searching HathiTrust:
  • Phrase Searching: Use quotes to search an exact phrase: e.g., "occult fiction"
  • Wildcards: Use * or ? to search for alternate forms of a word. Use * to stand for several characters, and ? for a single character: e.g., optim* will find optimal, optimize or optimum; wom?n will find woman and women.
  • Boolean Searching: Use AND and OR between words to combine them with Boolean logic: e.g., (heart OR cardiac) AND surgery will find items about heart surgery or cardiac surgery.
 
Tips for doing a full-text search:
  • Phrase Searching: Use quotes to search an exact phrase: e.g., "occult fiction."
  • Multiple Term Searching: When your search terms are not quoted phrases, avoid common words (such as: a, and, of, the) to speed up your search.
  • Boolean Searching: Use AND and OR between words to combine them with Boolean logic: e.g., heart OR cardiac will find items containing the word heart or the word cardiac; heart AND cardiac will find items containing both words. Use a minus (-) to remove words from the result e.g., heart  -cardiac will find items containing the word heart that do not include the word cardiac.

Creating Collections

  1. On the Collections page, click on login.
  2. Choose the University of California, Berkeley from the drop down list and click on login.
  3. Enter your CalNet ID and passphrase.
  4. Click on Create a New Collection and name your collection (the description is optional).
  5. Indicate whether it is a Private or Public collection.
  6. Click on Add.

In the future if you want to edit, change the private/public setting, or delete the collection, your collections will always be listed in the My Collections tab whenever you are logged in to HathiTrust.

OskiCat Searching Tips

OskiCat's Request Button

No time to go hunting around the library stacks to find the books you need?  Use OskiCat's request feature.  Once you find the book you want, click (this button will only appear when an item can be requested). Authenticate yourself with CalNet, and follow the prompts.  OskiCat will ask you where you want the book(s) delivered to.  You will get an email when the books are ready to be picked up (usually within 1-3 days).

You can also use this button to:

  • Request materials from NRLF
  • Place holds on items that are checked out
  • Place holds on an item that has the status "in-process" which means it is being cataloged. 

Getting material from NRLF

The Northern Regional Library Facility (NRLF) is an off-campus storage facility for some library collections. NRLF materials are available to request in OskiCat.

  • Borrow print materials from NRLF via the REQUEST button in OskiCat. 
  • Receive electronic or paper copies of book chapters or journal articles via the Request an electronic copy from NRLF link that appears in eligible titles in OskiCat.

Interlibrary Borrowing

As a Berkeley student you are eligible to use books and articles from other libraries around the United States. 

Check OskiCat  to make sure UC Berkeley does not own the material you want.

Provide a full and accurate bibliographic citation, including author, title, place and date of publication, and series.  You can get citations from professors, from Melvyl, from other articles, from Google scholar.  Verify your citations before submitting them for ILL.

Finding translations

Here are a few ways you can attempt to find translations:

1. In OskiCat, do an author search and then limit the results to English by clicking on the MODIFY SEARCH button.  To find lists of books that have been translated into English, use the Advanced Keyword Search. Change one of the search boxes to Subject, and enter the language, bibliography, and translations into English. 

undefined

2. Search in Index Translationum. Updated by UNESCO's Sector for Culture, this database contains over 2 million entries for books translated and published in almost 150 countries from 1979 to present, though for many countries it is not up to date. It is not comprehensive. The library also owns the print edition from 1932-1985. 

3. Search in Worldcat. Choose Advanced Search so you can do an author search and at the bottom of the form you'll be able to limit to English (or another language).

For literary works, you can also try The Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation and Literatures of the World in English Translation.