It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
You can't find articles searching in the Databases tool! You should search for database names or broad topics like history, biology, or kinds of media such as newspapers here.
Evaluating what you find - Journals
How do you differentiate between great, good, and not-so-good academic journals?
The first question you should ask yourself is whether or not the journal is peer-reviewed (also known as a refereed journal, which means that the articles that are published within the journal have been reviewed by peers (scholars with subject expertise in the subject matter of the article). Passing a peer review means that the information contained within the article is authoritative.
The best resource for easily determining whether or not a journal is peer reviewed is:
An index to United Nations documents and publications as far back as 1945, with links to some full text documents
Indexes United Nations (UN) documents and publications including Official Records, UN journals, reports, treaties, conferences, draft resolutions, declarations, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and UN Treaty Series. Contains the full text of several thousand UN documents.
A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. (Africa-Wide NiPAD) [19th century - present]
Includes: Nordic Africa Institute Online Catalogue (NOAK); IBISCUS (1970 to 2001); School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue: Africa; Afro-Tropical Bird Information Retrieval Database; The Campbell Collections of the University of Natal, Killie Campbell Africana Library Bibliography; International Library of African Music (ILAM); African Development Database; African Journals OnLine (AJOL); South African Databases; Witwatersrand University Management Research Reports; and more.
Full-text articles published in Africa from over 200 journals in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities.
A retrospective digitization project of full-text journal articles published in Africa. Includes journals covering the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities, providing access to a multi-disciplinary, multi-country digital archive of Africa's research and cultural heritage contained in its journal literature. Journal articles hosted on the Archive extend back to the first issue (if available) and end with the last pre-current issue (determined by the publisher). The site includes over 700 issues of journal archives of academic, scholarly, institutional, museums, and professional research organizations in Africa. Selected articles are freely available; not all content is open access.
African Journals Online is the world's largest online library of peer-reviewed, African published scholarly journals, 243 of which are open access. Please note: UC Berkeley does not have a subscription to the content behind a paywall. To view a list limited directly to AJOL's Open Access journals, click here.
Macroeconomic, industrial, and financial data for countries world wide. Click Guest Access for immediate access. Registration is free for UC Berkeley students staff and faculty and offers enhanced features.
Provides detailed macroeconomic data with more than one million time series for 121 countries, including National Accounts, Balance of Payments, Production, Sales,& Inventory, Banking, Construction, Interest and Foreign Exchange Rates, Government Finance, Investment, Demographics and Labor Markets, Economic & Household Surveys, Tourism, Inflation, Transport and Telecommunication, and Domestic & International Trade. Sources include International Organizations and National Statistics Offices.
The focus of this encyclopedia is African history and culture. Entries are from the print source Africana, two-thirds of which have been revised, updated and expanded to include recent scholarship.
Articles cover political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, events, individuals, and countries throughout Africa. Illustrations and demographic information included.
A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. (Hathi Trust)
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
"Contains bibliographies for African studies, including entries from the International African bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015."
The International African Bibliography (IAB) is an essential resource for all those working in the field of African studies, providing a current awareness service of the latest books, articles and papers published internationally on Africa. Created in cooperation with the Centre for African Studies, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world. (Womens Studies International) [1972 - present]
Also indexes other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.