Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

Global Studies 110K - Africa in Global Context: Finding Country Data

Country Profile Resources - General

The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Report (Berkeley Login Required)

  • In-depth analysis of current economic and political events in more than 200 countries.

Mergent Online (Berkeley Login Required)

  • Provides financial information on U.S. and international companies. The database consists of the following components: U.S. and International Company Data, Archives, Annual Reports, Factsheets Plus, Factsheets Express, Institutional Holdings, Insider Trades, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Equity Portraits, and Corporate Bond Portraits.

World Bank Open Data Catalog

  • Provides a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources.

World Development Indicators (World Bank)

  • The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

Nation Master

  • Compiles data from a number of publicly available sources including the CIA World Factbook. Excellent source for country comparisons

CIA World Factbook 

  • Brief summary information on countries including its history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.

Africa South of the Sahara

  • From Stanford, annotated directory of online resources about Africa

Country Profile Resources - Identity

Political Handbook of the World (Berkeley Login Required)

  • Find comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, plus profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.

Europa World Plus (Berkeley Login Required)

  • Provides political and economic information on hundreds countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. A source of statistics on area and population, health and welfare, agriculture, forestry, fishing, mining, industry, finance, external trade, transport, tourism, communications media, and education.

UN Country Profiles

  • Offers extensive data compiled by the UN including economic indicators, social indicators, and the environment.

Background Notes - US Department of State

  • Provides country reports including history, politics and foreign relations. 

Country Profile Resources - Conflict

UCDP/PRIO Armed Conflict Datasets 

  • The Uppsala Conflict Data Program (USDP)/Peace Research Institute Oslo(PRIO) have "collaborated in the production of a dataset of armed conflicts, both internal and external, in the period 1946 to the president."

ACLED

  • Extensive collection of political violence data for developing countries. Contains specific dates and locations of violence, the type of event, the group(s) involved, number of deaths, and any change in territorial control that may have resulted from the violence.

Country Profile Resources - Development

World Development Indicators (World Bank)

  • The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

UN Country Data

  • Provides in depth data at the country level based on identified priority development indicators. Allows for comparisons between countries and international estimates of development indicators

African Development Bank

  • Designed as a tool for policy formulation, implementation, and evaluation, includes statistics compiled by AfDB as well as country economic outlooks and basic facts. 

Human Development Report  

  • Committed to end the "mismeasure of human progress by economic development alone."  Instead, it takes a "people-centered" approach and states that there is no automatic link between economic growth and human development.

Country Profile Resources - Technology

International Telecommunications Union (ITU) Statistics

  • "As the UN specialized agency for ICTs  [Information and Communications Technology]," ITU specializes in global ICT statistics .

Country Profile Resources - Freedom

Freedom in the World by Freedom House

  • Published since 1973, Freedom in the World is Freedom House's flagship annual report, assessing the condition of political rights and civil liberties around the world. It is composed of numerical ratings and supporting descriptive texts for 195 countries and 14 territories. 

Corruption Perception Index (CPI)

  • Transparency International has published this index since 1996, annually ranking countries "by their perceived levels of corruption, as determined by expert assessments and opinion surveys. As defined by the CPI is "the misuse of public power for private benefit."

Afroborameter

  • "A pan-African series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, and society."

Ibrahim Index of African Governance (IIAG)

  • Provides an annual statistical assessment of the quality of governance in every African country