Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

English 190: Hitchcock - Spring 2018: Start Your Search

Consult this page to:

Understand what is included in the Library's Start Your Search service and optimize your searches.

What's included

Start your Search includes books, articles and more.

Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.

What's NOT included

Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly. 

Content that is not included in Start your Search:

Caveats
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:

  1. Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
  2. Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.

Sample Searches - "Start Your Search"

1. horror film*

2. homosex* hitchcock

use filters on the left to limit to:  scholarly

* = truncation/wildcard  child* = child childs children childish childhood...

2.  using subject headings:

     love in motion pictures     (subject)
     myth in motion pictures  (subject)
     love on television (subject)

3.  "film noir" love

quotes keep two or more words together as a phrase

     

4.   advanced search

    film* or cinema or movies or "motion picture*"  (select a field - optional)

Search Results - what to look for

Start Your Search - Filters for narrowing your search

Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results?  Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.

Finding More Video

Consult the Media Resources Center's Streaming Guide and MRC Vault to find video without having to limit Start Your Search