Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

English 190: Hitchcock - Spring 2018: Finding Articles

Consult this page to:

Access and search databases that are NOT included in Start Your Search.

Article Databases

Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic.  The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.

1.  Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic.  Examples:  literature, film, anthropology, history...

2.  Find the appropriate article database by subject (academic discipline or department).  Look for "Recommended" databases.

Library home > click on Databases, then click on:  Browse Databases. 

Pull down the "All Subjects" menu to browse a list of databases by academic discipline, and/or pull down the "All Database Types" to browse lists by type of database (article databases, statistical databases, image databases, etc.).

Sample Searches - Articles

Scholarly film articles:

(you can also find these in "Start Your Search" but sometimes these databases are less cluttered:)

Library home > Databases:  Browse Databases > pull down "All Subjects" menu to Film, pull down "All Types" to Articles > FIAF Index to Film Periodicals

             change databases

             check off any other databases you want:  Performing Arts database

            love   (subject)
            myth

            romantic comed*

 

 

Primary Source databases

Library home > Databases:  Browse Databases > pull down "All Subjects" menu to Film, pull down "All Types" to Articles > Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

click on "change databases"

also select Historical Newspapers

women's film (anywhere)
movie* or film* (anywhere)

publication dates> specific date range:  any dates 1949    any dates 1949
document type:  review

Search Results

  • click on the title to see full record (including abstracts and descriptors)
  • to limit by publication type (peer-reviewed journals, conferences, books, etc.) click on the appropriate tab or link
  • if necessary,look for other limits (latest update, journal articles only, english only) and more advanced searches
  • select records to save to your personalized list; lists may be e-mailed, downloaded, printed

Navigating Article Search Results in ANY Database

Navigating flow chart

Modified from document created by Laura McClanathan, UCSC.