International journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. [1970s - present]
Includes magazines, academic journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government reports that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world. (Womens Studies International) [1972 - present]
Also indexes other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.
One of the largest specialized databases in Islamic Studies and Humanities . It provides full text access to more than 1300 magazines for over a million articles in mainly Persian, with some Arabic and English languages. [1900 to Present]. Note: If you have trouble accessing this site, please try an alternative browser. Chrome has occasionally had access issues with this site.
Mainly Persian, with some Arabic and English languages.
Covers the Islamic religion, and Islamic world in general.
Based on the 10-volume print encyclopedia and covers the Islamic religion and the Islamic world in general, both current and historical, including Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent, Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and other Islamic countries. Includes articles on political and religious institutions, history, topography, and distinguished Muslims both past and present.
Comprehensive resource on Islam and the Muslim world.
Based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Da'irat al-Ma'arif-i Islami, one of the most comprehensive resources on Islam and the Muslim world.
Scholarly online encyclopedias and dictionaries covering all aspects of the Islamic world. Includes the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Koran Interpreted, The Concordance of the Qur'an and more.
Includes over 3000 entries related to all aspects of Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Also includes chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines. Incorporates either in part or in full essential articles from the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, The Koran Interpreted, and The Concordance of the Qur'an,
SeeBibliographies & Indexes under Reference Sources tab for more sources about Religions in the area.
Jewish Studies at Berkeley is notable for its broad chronological and disciplinary scope. Fields ranging from Hebrew Bible, Talmud and Midrash through medieval and modern Jewish history and thought, as well as Hebrew and Yiddish literature all are extensively represented in the library’s collection.
ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in countries across the world. ICPSR maintains a data archive of on topics in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
Direct download access to data sets requires the creation of a personal account. In addition, analysis of ICPSR data sets requires the use of specialized software. For more information on this process, please consult the ICPSR Get Help page or schedule an appointment with the Library Data Lab.
Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development. [1952 - present]
Provides full-text for more than 7000 scholarly journals and other sources, including nearly 1100 peer-reviewed business publications. Offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, and accounting. [1965 - present]
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.
Almandumah is a comprehensive full text database for Arabic scholarly output. It includes almost one million items (1/3 in abstract), including about 1900 unique Arabic journals, 2500 conferences, and 200,000 dissertations from the Arab world. [1920 - Present]
Almandumah database consists of 6 specialized databases which are: AraBase for language and literature, IslamicInfo for Islamic studies and Islamic law, HumanIndex for humanities, EcoLink for economic and management studies, EduSearch for education, and Dissertations and Thesis which includes full text and abstracts for about 200,000 (1/2 in abstracts) from 170 schools across the Arab world. The database covers the Arabic scholarly output since 1920 until present.
Access to this resource has been discontinued effective 06/30/2024 due to library budget cuts.
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of many journals. (International Humanities Index - American Humanities Index) [1927 - present]
Includes all data from Humanities International Index. Subjects covered include archaeology, literature, religion, art, dance, theater, folklore, history, African-American studies, law, women's studies, and more.
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
Digitized collection of The Confidential Print series, issued by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices. This series covers the Middle East, c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. [1812-1957]
Covers such events as the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the nineteenth century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict. This collection originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked "Confidential Print" were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. These historical documents inform the volatile situation in the region today.
Full-text of reports, dispatches, correspondence, political summaries, economic analyses, and maps from the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices relating to Africa, the Americas, and the Middle East. [1834 - 1966]
From coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy's defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence, the documents in this resource cover the whole of the modern period of European colonization of the continent. The resource also includes a gallery of maps. Part of a larger series of documents issued by the British Government. This collection originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Historical Abstracts
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 06/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history.
Excludes US and Canada. Covers from 1450 to the present.
House of Commons sessional papers from the last 300 years. [1688-2014]
Provides full-text access to thousands of 18th, 19th, 20th, and 21st century Parliamentary Papers of Great Britain. Includes all the "sessional papers" of the British Parliament: bills, reports of committees, papers presented by Royal Commissions and government departments, treaties and international agreements, command papers, and statistics.
Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to comparative politics, developing nations, history and theory of political science, political psychology, political economy, public administration, and public policy. [1975 - present]
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
Indexes over 2000 monographs, books, technical reports, occasional papers, book reviews, and dissertations worldwide related to linguistics including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
[1973 - present]
Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Includes works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. [600 - contemporary]
Indexes journal articles and other literature supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Modern Languages Association Bibliography) [1926 - present]
