Skip to main content

Native American Collections at The Bancroft Library: Key Collections & Searching Tips

Highlights of the various Native American materials held at The Bancroft Library

Key Collections

Rosie the Riveter World War II American homefront oral history collection
BANC MSS 2008/110 (PDFs of transcripts available online via Oskicat)

This collection contains interviews with residents of the Bay Area, primarily Richmond and the East Bay, about their wartime experiences during World War II. Interviews of interest are the following:
► no.12: Emily DeCory (Santa Fe/Richmond Indian Village)
► no.56: Nellie Sarracino (Santa Fe/Richmond Indian Village)
► no.57: Ruth Ann Hopper Sarracino (Santa Fe/Richmond Indian Village)
► no.59: Irvin Shiosee (Santa Fe/Richmond Indian Village)
► no.61: Frank and Mary Shutiva (Santa Fe/Richmond Indian Village)
► no.70: Faith Traversie (Mare Island Shipyard/American Indian Movement)
Excerpts of the original video interviews of the interviewees above are complied in the Youtube video Richmond Indian Boxcar Village.

American Indian Community History Center records
BANC MSS 2008/108

This collection documents the efforts of the Community History Project, a program of the Intertribal Friendship House, to collect and preserve the history of the San Francisco Bay Area urban American Indian community.  The records offer insight into local activities, community members, events, and organizations, many of which also have national significance.
► Collection Finding Aid (the oral histories are in Cartons 2, 3, and 15)

Surviving in two worlds : oral history transcripts : contemporary Native American voices
BANC MSS 98/144

This donated oral history collection contains the interview cassette tapes and transcripts of twenty-six Native Americans leaders, discussing a variety of issues affecting Native Americans in contemporary American society.  These interviews form the basis for the resulting book, Surviving in Two Worlds: Contemporary Native American Voices.

Alison Owings collection of materials on Native Americans
BANC MSS 2012/164

Used in writing her book Indian Voices: Listening to Native Americans, Owings' collection contains audio copies and transcripts of thirty-nine interviews, related files and correspondence, general files on Native American-related events and topics, newspaper clippings, and photographs. 

The West on videotape
Motion Picture 350 D

The West on Videotape documents 40 interviewees who have been significantly involved in the history and folk culture of the Western United States.  The intention of this collection is to demonstrate the value of videotape in preserving local history.  The collection contians unedited, original master videotapes, most of which are in color.  Interviews of interest are the following:
► Videotape 2: "Paiute Medicine Man" Ray Stone: Water, the Land, and Paiute Religion
► Videotape 17: "Hot Springs" Paiute-Shoshone Elders Council: The Struggle for Access to Cultural Resources
► Collection Finding Aid 

UCLA American Indian Studies Oral Histories

Interviewees in this series were actively involved in American Indian studies from the late sixties to the present time. The series is designed to document the development of American Indian studies, the American Indian Studies Center, and the American Indian Studies Interdepartmental Program at UCLA.
► Kenneth Lincoln
► Paul V. Kroskrity
► Gary B. Nash
► Duane Champagne
► Norris C. Hundley

Searching Tips

The easiest way to find relevant oral histories through the Advanced Keyword Search tab on Oskicat:

► In the first Any Field select Subject and use the search term "oral histories"
► In the second Any Field, leave as is and use the search term indian* 
► In the Locations section, select Bancroft Library
Please note, this method will also capture a handful of material with records mentioning Indiana and the peoples of India.

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.