Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

Optometry Journal Club: Stay Current

Introduction

There are many ways to keep current with new articles being published. Listed below are a few.

To access full text articles from your email or journal website, it is recommended that you use the campus VPN.

My NCBI: Customizing PubMed & More

My NCBI allows you to save searches and citations, customize PubMed, and more.
Click Log in (top right); you will be presented with several options; unless you already use an eRA or NIH logon, we strongly suggest you select more login options, then start typing berkeley and choose UC Berkeley. You can then log in using CalNet. Once logged in, click your user name (top right) then select Dashboard (My NCBI). Here will be your:

  • Saved Searches (which you can have re-run as an "alert" on a schedule);
  • Collections (citations you have saved, which you can share if desired);
  • Custom filters you have created;

and more. Detailed instructions may be found in My NCBI Help. If you already are a NCBI user, please note: Important Changes to NCBI Accounts Coming in 2021.

My NCBI Sign Up

If you have trouble signing up for a My NCBI account using the Sign Up them Create new NCBI Accountlink, try this Register for an NCBI Account link.

Set Up Search Alerts

Most article databases will let you set up email alerts when articles matching your search criteria are added to the database. In general, you will need to set up an account first before alerts can be created.

Web of Knowledge: includes Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews, Global Health
» How to create a citation alert - Scroll to bottom of webpage.

Scopus
» How do I create and manage my Alerts?

Engineering Village (INSPEC and Compendex)
» How do I use email alerts?

EBSCOhost Search Alerts: includes CINAHL Complete and other databases.
» Guide to setup search alerts

ProQuest Auto Alerts: includes Agricola, Agricultural and Environmental Science, and other interdisciplinary databases.
» Guide to setup or edit alerts

Citation and Search Alerts in Google Scholar

Alerts by Journal Title

Having tables of contents e-mailed directly to you as new issues are published can be a good way to keep up with a particular journal. Many journals also broadcast new content on Twitter or via RSS feeds.

Consolidated Journal Alerts

JournalTOCs is a free service that provides access in one place to the most recent tables of contents for over 12,000 scholarly journals. Alerts can be emailed or sent to an RSS feed

Individual Journal Alerts

Some journal recommendations:

Peer Recommendations

Read Journals from Your Tablet