Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

Media Studies 130: Research Methods in Media Studies Fall 2019: "Start Your Search"

What's included

Start your Search includes books, articles and more.

Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.

What's NOT included

Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly. 

Content that is not included in Start your Search:

Caveats
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:

  1. Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
  2. Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.

Sample Searches - "Start Your Search"

1.  keyword search with truncation

diy journalis*

* = truncation symbol/wildcard; child* = child childs children childish childhood....

2. advanced search; alternative terms, limiting to scholarly journals

advanced search

diy or citizen*
journalis*

limit to scholarly journals

 

3.   phrase searches; limiting by geography

     representation
     "situation comed*"
     race or ethnic* or minorit*

limit to scholarly journals

click on geography > show more > check off all American geographies (states, etc.)

 

other examples:

"social media"
politic*
millennial*

 

sports
reporter* or anchor*
female or women

 

3.  subject headings

"reality tv" or "reality television"
gay* or queer* or transgender*

      narrow down using subject headings

      "reality tv" or "reality television"
        gay* or queer* or transgender* 
(subject)

Start Your Search - Filters for narrowing your search

Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results?  Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.